We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on, love it, outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Vagabond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vagabond
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spot on, love it, outstanding!”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

For £22 anight this is by far the best value for money you can get.

I recently paid £25 a night to pitch a tent, this didn't include a comfy bed, hot shower and a freshly cooked full english breakfast, friendly and helpful manager and staff and some of the best scenary you could hope to see.... the only slight negative was the hovering buzzard that was eyeing up our dog!! Oh, did I mention they have heated kennels and wash facilities for dogs? My dog loved playing with the resident Chihuahua, George, he's fab!

I urge you to stay at the Vag if you want good, honest value for money digs, go now, pack your car, in fact you can take mine!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueTedCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    47
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
17
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I recently stayed at the Vagabond,and i am pleased to say it was fantastic.
Mark and Cally made our stay outstanding both with their friendlyness,Humour and local knowledge of the area.
Rooms were fantastic,clean and bright. The breakfasts at the weekend were to die for!
Lovley cooked breakfast and as much toast,tea or coffee as you want.
Mark the manager and Cally made us very welcome and nothing was ever a problem infact they went out of their way to asist us in what we needed to know and do.
If you fancied cooking for yourself then you had free use of the kitchen,with the dinning area very clean and spaceous.
As far as checking in is concerned we were advised whe booking off the check in times and when reception would be opened. We really appreciated the onsite bar which most bunkhouses don't have,and after a long days hike it was nice to sit and relax with a pint or two.
All in all i would recommend this bunkhouse to anybody couples and familys,and myself and my wife are returning again in june.
Big JohnG from Ulster

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigJohnG5864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I was a guest in the vagabond in the last weekend of April and i can say that this is by far the best hostel i have stayed in. In relation to the last review yes the hostel is closed between 10.30 and 4.30 which we were told on making our reservation. We rang reception on morning of arrival and Mark the manager arranged for us to check in earlier which we were extremely grateful for as we didn't fancy carrying all our gear up Snowdon with us! Mark and Cally we really helpful and pleasant nothing was to much trouble. With 36 people using the showers after walking all day its inevitable that they can get a little dirty but the Cally was cleaning them every chance she could get. The breakfast was fantastic, great for a hangover! Mark was a great host and little George made or stay so much more enjoyable. I'm now booking again to celebrate my birthday there.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f0ster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We arrived in the afternoon. The hostel is closed at certain times during the afternoon, so we had to wait around until staff were available to let us in. Staff were not very friendly and at times rude. I certainly didn't receive a good first impression of the hostel.

There are no separate showers for men and women and the showers were not clean.

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm. The top of the bed lamp was dusty and there were crisps behind the bed. The room could have been cleaner.

I will definitely not be booking this hostel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StrawberryMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The Vagabond is situated in the pretty village of Betws-y -Coed and provides good bunk house accommodation on a bed and breakfast basis. The premises has improved over recent years and is now cleaner, brighter and fresher than before. It has it's own bar, shower room and drying room. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The village is close enough to use as a base for hill walking and climbing in Snowdonia. There are all the shops you need - food shops, grocers, and kit/clothing etc. You can eat as cheaply or as expensively as you like. Like any bunk house, you can be at the mercy of others when it comes to a quiet night but the staff do intervene and most people only need to be asked politely once. What more do you want?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicfaccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Friendly bunkhouse with good kitchen to use for self catering in evenings. At weekends it seems you have to pay an extra £5 for compulsary cooked breakfast. Breakfast wasn't that great for the price - 2 small dry sausages, bacon, fried egg, gloopy beans and tinned tomato. There was unlimited toast but only butter to spread on it - some jam/ marmalade would have been nice. I can understand why breakfasts are compulsary at weekends, due this being the sort of place to have multiple groups staying at one time and if all were to try to cook at the same time in the kitchen there would be chaos, but feel the ingredients could have been of better quality. Veggie breakfast option was a bowl of alpen and toast - also subject to the extra £5 charge.

Three toilets for all 36 beds was a bit lacking - particularly when there was no loo roll in any of them when I got up Saturday morning.

Showers were lovely and warm but a little odd in their setup of four curtained showers in one room with no lock on the door.

Bunks were comfy, wonderful to stay somewhere where the bunks don't creak! Found that the top bunks in my room had no storage shelf nearby for alarm and torch - note to self must re read Harry Potter to find the spell for making small items levitate overnight!

Generally a good place to stay, friendly staff, clean facilities, a few odd quirks and a rare chiwawa called George.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcdefg12394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2010

First of all i would like to extend a massive thankyou to Mark for a fantastic Vagabond/Snowdonia experience. Also a big thankyou to george the Vaghound (chihuahua) for letting the younger of the children (husbands) play with him. We were a group of 10 staying to the weekend, all ranges of ages from 13 to 55 male and female. As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable within the Vagabond. Mark the manager has a full knowledge for the area and surrounding areas, he couldnt have helped us more and even gave us plenty of advice on how to keep warm and the best places to go. We had a full english both mornings which left us with a full belly for hiking. We had full use of the kitchen and we could even use a shelf in the fridge to keep our provisions. In the evening for an extra £7 we had an all you can eat chilli con carne on the first night and on the second night it was an all you an eat Chicken Tikka Masala. Mark will cater for all your needs no matter how much it puts him out. There is also a bar in the Vag for your use and low key music playing in the backround, Mark can be flexible but will usually be flexible to help out the party as he did us. The Vagabond is 1 place i would definately reccommend and definatley go back to again. The staff are extremely friendly and the atmosphere of the house is the best yet in all of the bunkhouses i have visited.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannesnodden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vagabond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vagabond

Property: The Vagabond
Address: Craiglan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAW , Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vagabond 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique bunkhouse is extremely well equipped, sleeping a total of 36 in spacious comfortable rooms of 4, 6, and 8, all with clean fresh linen, duvets and personal reading lamps. Self catering facilities with complimentary tea and coffee in a large well equiped kitchen. Seriously hot showers, freshly cooked food for individuals or groups who do not wish to prepare their own and a great bar for entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Vagabond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing