We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!!!”
Review of The Vagabond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Vagabond
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Having stayed at the vagabond last weekend I have to say the place was fantastic, the manager was very pleasant and couldn't go enough for us all. The rooms were comfortable and clean and other guests friendly and considerate. The bar was a little noisy but that's what bars are isn't it? Wasn't in my view that bad it needs a bad write up , a few girls came back late and had a few drinks in the bar and yes there was noise but you have to remember if you want a quiet place to stay then a cottage in the middle of nowhere would be a better choice than a bunk house. In my view it provides an excellent all round budget stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Many thanks for your review Daz. Kind Regards Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Initially looking at the reviews it seemed that they are either great or poor. Having visited The Vagabond I can now confirm that everything complained about in the poor reviews is correct. The place is dirty, with poor facilities, cheap sheets that bobble and cheap matresses. There are only a few sockets for charging things. It is very noisy, and this is not the other guests but the manager who seems to make more noise after midnight than the guests. From start to finish the manager was miserable and brusque, but maybe he's like that until after midnight!

Room Tip: go somewhere else or at back of the house away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandyw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vagabondbetwsycoed, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hi Mandy, Sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay at the Vagabond. We take all complaints very seriously. Please feel free to ring me and let me know what further improvements you would like. The Manager did say it was noisy that evening so on behalf of the Vagabond we are sorry you did not have a good nights sleep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Fabulous location. The staff couldn't do enough to help. Great atmosphere. Helpful suggestions for things to do in the local area.I felt very welcome from the moment I arrived. I will certainly be returning, hopefully before long. I would recommend this place without reservation to people travelling by themselves or in groups.

Room Tip: I strongly recommend the room at the front. Sunny, beautiful views, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 949travellingJo949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here over 2 nights as a base for climbing Snowdon. Our group consisted around 15 kids and the same amount of adults. All ages for catered for brilliantly. Full English breakfast was excellent. Kitchen facilities were great. The rooms were clean and tidy as were the shower facilities. Mark the Manager looked after us all brilliantly. Great place to stay for a large group. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the vagabond with a couple of my friends. We were on a mountain biking holiday and we found the vagabond bunkhouse a brilliant place to stay, with very friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere. The rooms were very clean and tidy. Wash facilities, also very clean and always a hot shower to come back to after the days biking. Great secure lockup for the bikes and nice off road parking too. We found the staff great and good craic too. Would recommend the vagabond very highly and will deffinitely be back for another biking trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivankendellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was my first experience of bunk house accommodation. The bottom line is that for two nights, one dinner and two breakfasts the bill was £60, great value. Against that, we were 6 to the room, there are no ensuite facilities etc, etc.
However, what do you do get is a very sociable bunch of people, good storage for your mountain bike, the use of a pressure washer and a very capable manager, Mark who you feel has seen it all and went out of his way to be helpful. A good breakfast too.
It might be an idea to have an information folder in each room setting out how it all works, for example, that the breakfast choice is either cereal and toast or the cooked breakfast;; I cheerfully helped myself to both, I hope that the spend in the bar made up for that.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

As the organiser of a group of 14 and having never stayed at the Vagabond before you can imagine my apprehension on arrival. However I very quickly realised that I had nothing to worry about, Mark the Manager could not do enough to help us settle in and on quick inspection you could easily see that the place was nice and clean. The next test was the food and after a day's mountain biking we had all worked up a good appetite. No fear, the food was excellent as was the locally brewed ale, served from their small but well stocked bar. All in all we had a great time and enjoyed our stay at the Vagabond, the staff could not have been more friendly. One small criticism would be the lack of an electricity socket in the 6 berth room, I do believe though that Mark has this in hand. Already looking forward to next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.2 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
211 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Eagles
The Eagles
#3 of 12 in Betws-y-Coed
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vagabond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vagabond

Address: Craiglan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £39 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique bunkhouse is extremely well equipped, sleeping a total of 36 in spacious comfortable rooms of 4, 6, and 8, all with clean fresh linen, duvets and personal reading lamps. Self catering facilities with complimentary tea and coffee in a large well equiped kitchen. Seriously hot showers, freshly cooked food for individuals or groups who do not wish to prepare their own and a great bar for entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Vagabond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing