We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”
Review of The Vagabond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Vagabond
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Two of us stayed here in November 2013 for a walking weekend in Snowdon. A friendly welcome and warm rooms.A small bar for apres walk beer and easy walk to Pubs and Food in town. The breakfast was a full English and tasty.

The bunk rooms were more than your basic rooms, warm and clean with shower room on the ground floor (not the hottest)...

Our late arrival on Friday was no problem and keys were left in the Key Safe with clear instructions.

The nightly rate for the room was good and we certainly felt we got our money's worth.

All round an excellent find for a weekend in the mountains with friendly staff!

(Note the bar shuts at 10:30 so no late night noise, which is a bonus)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrSmith2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    49
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
21
17
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Having stayed in the main house a few times before with friends Mark (the more than helpful manager) suggested that my girlfriend and I may like to sample the secluded and all together more private Cabin. Lovely is all, it's a wooden summerhouse style cabin with a large double bed and separate from the main house. A slight down side is the walk to the main house for use of the facilities but, as always, a filling, hot breakfast with some of the tastiest bacon I've had awaited on both mornings and the bar in the evenings was its usual cosy, warm and well stocked self.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yeldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've visited the Vagabond a few times now, usually with a group of friends for a MTB or walking weekend but more recently with my other half and another couple. Have to say that it is a great place to stay; rooms are clean and tidy, shower facilities are great (plus the privacy policy for women is really helpful), dry room is really useful, breakfast is amazing, the bar is definitely a great place to relax after a long day. Mark and his Team can't do enough for you, you feel welcome and we'll looked after as soon as you arrive. An amazing atmosphere. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Betws has become very popular and very expensive in the last ten years. It is therefore great to find real good value for money accommodation. Beds are comfy and clean, showers (mixed) are hot and clean. Drying room is a very valuable feature but needs to be "on" overnight to ensure all clothes are dry. Cooked breakfast, a bar and walking distance to centre of village all for a great price. Mark is very helpful. If you remember this is a BUNKHOUSE you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

As a bunkhouse its ok, decent well sized bedrooms, warm showers, a decent drying room and well located in Betws. But didn't expect them to be hosting a party until 1am in the morning whilst other guests tried to sleep. Could also of done without the half hour wait for breakfast the morning after. Like most people staying here we wanted to get up and get out in Snowdonia, especially in October when the nights are drawing in. Will look for another bunkhouse next time visiting this area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colyton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed as a group of 14 at vagabond in April '13 on a MTB weekend. I found the hospitality of Mark and the others to be excellent, a real 'can do' atmoshere.
The rooms were fine, though powerpoints were an issue, only one between a 6 and a 4 bed room.
The food was cool, good hearty grub, tasty and plenty of it. For £30 half board it was great!
The craic in the bar was dead on, Mark was very accomodating and carried a nice range of booze, wines etc all went down well.
I would recommend the vagabond for any group and would consider stopping as a family in the future.
Cheers for a nice stay guys!

Room Tip: The four bed rooms were spacious and nice on the first floor with a shared loo on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niallmc89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We decided to visit North Wales and look for reasonably priced accommodation, but my goodness we couldn't have found a better place. The manager Mark was so helpful and nice I thought there must be a catch - there wasn't. The place was so friendly, comfortable, clean and welcoming I have no problem in recommending this to anyone. It's an ideal base for exploring Snowdonia and area. If you come back from a day out and feel like staying in Mark will cook you a meal for a small charge ( a lot cheaper than eating out ) or if you want he will cook you a breakfast again it's a lot cheaper and better than the cafes. If he isn't on duty Kelly or Jake will look after you just as well. They are a wonderful team and so nice. So don't take heed to some other reviews, I just wonder what Vagabond they stayed in, I don't think it was the same one we stayed in. It was brilliant and Mark, Kelly and Jake made our holiday. WE'LL BE BACK.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
167 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Eagles
The Eagles
#3 of 11 in Betws-y-Coed
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vagabond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vagabond

Property: The Vagabond
Address: Craiglan Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 OAW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Vagabond 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique bunkhouse is extremely well equipped, sleeping a total of 36 in spacious comfortable rooms of 4, 6, and 8, all with clean fresh linen, duvets and personal reading lamps. Self catering facilities with complimentary tea and coffee in a large well equiped kitchen. Seriously hot showers, freshly cooked food for individuals or groups who do not wish to prepare their own and a great bar for entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Vagabond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vagabond Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing