We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Exceeded by far our expectations. What a wonderful place, wonderful hosts and all that in the middle of wonderland.
Eileen and John, thank you for everything, starting from the generous breakfast till the great welcome.
Liran, Daphi and the parents

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liran b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
How wonderful it was to meet you and Daphi and your parents from Israel. I so enjoyed our discussions and sharing my memories of Israel with you all. We are so happy to learn that everything exceeded your expectations, but then Tan Dinas can do that so easily without much help from us. Do please come back and share our beautiful home with us again so we can learn more about Daphi's ants. Thank you for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    619
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
408
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This is one of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in, and we have been back several times and always feel the same. The location is simply beautiful - just up a small road above the river but not too far away from the action, and there are some fantastic country views. The rooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and the beds are really comfortable. Eileen and John are the perfect hosts and give everyone a really warm welcome on arrival. The breakfasts are wonderful and are cooked to perfection. We can’t recommend this guest house enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Your continued custom is really appreciated as is your review. It feels like greeting old and dear friends each time you return. Many thanks. Eileen and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Absolutely stunning location - the views are amazing! The house is beautiful and the room we had was lovely, spacious and clean. John and Eileen are very friendly and make so much effort with all their guests. The breakfast was the best I've ever had at a B&B too. Tan Dinas is excellent value for money as well. We'll be going back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
It is very hard to find a location quite like ours -. so near the village yet so far from the noise and crowds. We feel extremely lucky to live here and to be able to share the magnificent views with our guests.Thank you very much indeed for your welcome review - we sincerely hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We spent two days at Tan Dinas this weekend. Our room was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. It was a double aspect room with amazing views across the valley and into the woods. There were lovely touches in the room such as sweets and a jug of fresh milk in the fridge within the room as well as very nice quality biscuits! The bed was extremely comfortable and there was an excellent selection of bedding to take account of all preferences. John and Eileen, our hosts, managed to be very friendly, attentive and helpful without intruding on a much needed break. The quality of the breakfast was superb with a very good choice of options including award winning sausages and delicious bacon. The fresh fruit salad and home made muesli were very nice too! John and Eileen clearly work very hard to maintain such high quality accommodation and Tan Dinas is a wonderful place to spend time whether mountain biking and walking (as we were) or just visiting the area. We were offered a place to store our bikes and a hose pipe is even available to wash them after a day on the trails. We will definitely be returning to Tan Dinas whenever we want to visit North Wales and we will be recommending it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble and time to write a review about your stay with us recently. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and also your adventure on the Marin trail on your bikes. We were pleased to help and hope you manage to return again. Many thanks for recommending us to your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Everything at Tan Dinas is just perfect - the accommodation is homely and spotlessly clean, John and Eileen are very welcoming hosts and the breakfasts amazing, especially the scrambled eggs and salmon! We will certainly be going back.
Chris & David

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Thank you so much Chris and David for a wonderful review. It makes everything we do so much easier when we it is appreciated and we thank you for doing so in this review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. John works hard at procuring good quality, local, fresh produce which he swears makes his meals taste so much better. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tan Dinas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We are now I think on our 6th or may be 7th stay at Tan Dinas we just keep coming back as it really is such a lovely place to stay. Eileen and John are so warm and welcoming and the house is in such a lovely position as soon as we drive up the hill peace and tranquility takes over it is so nice to sit and watch the woodpecker or the Jay feeding and take in the breathtaking view.

We have now stayed in most of the bedrooms each one as spotless as the other Eileen offers a generous hospitality tray and for us the fridge is an added bonus. John's breakfasts they are just wonderful best ever smoked salmon and scrambled egg we have tasted.

It is so nice to be able to make use of the lounge and the reading area on the landing which has a good selection of books DVDs and magazines. I would also like to mention the booklet that Eileen and John have place in each room which is full of information about the house and local information about the village its definitly worth reading but if its not in the book Eileen will no she is a mind of information.

Eileen and John both work very hard to ensure all their guests have a very enjoyalbe and comfortable stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chestertravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
The well used saying of "Arrive as Guests and leave as Friends" is certainly true of our relationship. It is always a pleasure having you share our home and we were very happy to add you to our growing list of loyalty guests recently when you qualified by having spent 25 days with us. We look forward to celebrating New Year with you for the second time at our Gala Evening along with other loyalty guests. Thank you for your continued custom, support and for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were looking for a quiet place to stay near Betws y Coed and happend on Tan Dinas. What a find! A real serendipidy! We have been back twice since and each time have found John and Eileen have created a warm, friendly environment with comfortable rooms and stunning views. John looks after the breakfast cooking (What Breakfasts!) whilst Eileen is front-of-house. She does it so well.
With Tan Dinas it's the little things you notice. Linen napkins at the breakfast table is but one I recall.
I can really recommend Tan Dinas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front get the best mobile signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Many thanks to you both for choosing to stay with us and then recommending us to your family. John and I like to try and think of all the little things that will make our guests stay more pleasurable....even the ones who stay in the car! It was kind of you to take the time to write a review and we appreciate it and your custom. We look very much forward to welcoming you back to Tan Dnas Country House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
1.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#3 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Property: Tan Dinas Country House
Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing