We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan Dinas Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed at Tan Dinas for the second time,it,s a beautiful house with stunning views, absolutely spotless.
Eileen and John made sure we had everything we needed, perfect hosts.The breakfast was superb, set us up for the day. Betws-y-Coed is so picturesque we will definitely go back again, wish we could have stayed longer

Room Tip: The front of the house has stunning views, but all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinney02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review about your recent stay. We are delighted that you had a good time and we hope you will not leave it too long before you come and stay again - we so enjoyed our good conversations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
398
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton Abbey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

We were at Tan Dinas for our 47th wedding anniversary. I can see ourselves returning again and again to this lovely house .Our hosts Eileen and John were just perfect making our stay so relaxing.We stayed for three nights ,but next visit will be longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joysboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Manager at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thanks for coming, plenty of laughs and good fun. Looking forward to sharing our home with you again. Many, many thanks for writing a review on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Go over small bridge across the river up a lane into a forest and there you find Tan Dinas overlooking the valley. A beautiful house with a large car park, lovely gardens, and those views!!!! Once inside you will find a lovely home the perfect hosts Eileen and John.
Try it, then like me you will not go anywhere else in Betws-y-Coed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kopite42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Manager at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Great directions to a great location. Thanks for your review, thanks for coming again, thanks for your company and thanks for your interest in our renovations...pleased you like what we have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

we have just returned from 5 nights staying at this little gem. Lovely peaceful location, near to the A5 but with no traffic noise at all!
Amazing views over the valley.
Eileen and John are perfect hosts, with so much local knowledge to share.
Breakfast were excellent , with local produce used, that set us up for the day.
Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Beds so comfy our only problem was getting out of them!
We are already planning a return trip for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have amazing views over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaytime1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Hi there, many thanks for taking time out to write a review. It was lovely sharing our home with you and we are eagerly awaiting your return next year. Your title Perfect Hideaway really says it all. 5 minutes from the noisy A5 yet enjoying peace and quiet in the forest with only our babbling brook and birdsong to interrupt your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

You can tell it's a 5 star when you see Sanderson co-ordinating bedding and curtains with thick fluffy towels and egyptian cotton sheets, 8 types of tea and coffee, top quality biscuits and FRESH milk in the mini fridge.
Good quality is prominent throughout the house and matches the location, service and breakfast, it's number one on our list and is why we came back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArdentTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for the lovely review. It was so nice to see you both again and are pleased to note you appreciated the quality of our bedding and furnishings. We have individually styled all our rooms so they are different from each other and different from other B&B's We try to ensure all our guests needs are catered for and therefore offer a choice of bedding to suit all temperatures and a large variety of food and drink to satisfy all requirements. We look forward to seeing you again for the Christmas/New Year period.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We spent 2 nights at Tan Dinas and absolutely loved it. The rooms were cosy and with lots of natural light and beautiful views of the countryside. There was coffee, hot chocolate, a variety of teas, biscuits, toffees etc! We also had a TV with Sky and the option to watch DVDs or read books. The bathroom was spotless with mini toiletries, clean towels on a hot towel rack which made it all so cosy! Eileen was lovely and always made us feel more than welcome, even with all our bike gear and muddy boots! She learnt our names from the start and helped us find activities that were right for us. She went out of her way to made us feel at home. John's breakfast was delicious! Gave us energy for a full day's hiking!

Overall, the only bad part was having to leave. We want to go back already!

We're very grateful to Eileen and John for such a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Hi Colite, Thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Tan Dinas is the ideal place to stay for the Marin Trail with it being just minutes away in the forest. Hope to see you both again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights at Tan Dinas - wish it could have been longer.
The location is perfect - just a short walk from the centre of Betws-y-Coed. The views are absolutely stunning.
The rooms are well furnished and very comfortable. John and Eileen are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are delicious! Excellent value for money.
We can thoroughly recommend Tan Dinas and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tandinas, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Many thanks for posting a review about your recent stay with us. We both looking forward to welcoming you to our home again when you can try another of Johns delicious breakfasts and if the sun is shining, enjoy it on our terrace overlooking the valley and forest beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Property: Tan Dinas Country House
Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing