We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed for 1 night at Tan Dinas and loved every minute of it from the warm welcome we received on arrival right to the perfect breakfast in the morning.
Immaculately clean and very warm and cosy considering the age of the building and the fact we visited in February.
Would recommend this place to anyone thinking of visiting the area, I doubt there is anywhere that could beat the views here and the friendliness.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Your review was much appreciated - many thanks. The views here are certainly the best around and even after seven years we still find them mind-blowing. Every window in the house benefits from amazing views so we hope you will come back and see a different view next time. The house is very warm as we have had the roof insulated with a 2" layer of foam on the tiles which seals the heat in the house. A new boiler and central heating has helped too. If we light the log fires, we generally have to open windows to cool off, as you say it's most unusual in an old Victorian property to be so snug and warm. Luckily enough the house is south facing so in the summer we benefit from every ray of sunshine throughout the day too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
427
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
flint
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Welcoming, clean, quite and cosy. Loads of space to park and a nice 5 minute down-hill walk into the village. Room had enough coffee and tea supplies to keep us both going (serious caffeine addicts) over two days and we had a little fridge with fresh milk in. Could not fault the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qwertyFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
It was very kind of you to write a review. Thank you. Our car park which will take 15 cars is a massive bonus in this area as private, off road parking is not easy to find. This also gives our guests the opportunity to come early and leave their car whilst they go walking and do likewise at the end of their stay. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your Valentines weekend and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed for one night only, sadly, but enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked up again for a longer stay in 2014 and cannot wait to go back, the breakfast was really good my daughter really enjoyed her scrambled eggs with smoked salmon in and Eileen is always friendly and helpful. We stayed in Oak room and it was a decent size, nicely decorated and had a small fridge to keep our drinks in which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thanks for your review. We are delighted that you have decided to return so quickly. John and I look forward to welcoming you back shortly....you never know you may become one of our long list of "returning friends" and qualify for a lower rate - you do need to come back 4 more times though. Let's see what happens ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Hosts Eileen and John made our stay just perfect. Lovely room, great situation being able to walk into the village and absolutely delectable breakfasts with a wide choice available. Will definitely be going back for more!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Swaeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I have to agree that John cooks a great breakfast with lots of choice and with everything sourced locally, freshness and quality is guaranteed. We are delighted you had a nice time with us and enjoyed our perfect location. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

There were three of us, in individual rooms, staying for two nights, to do the Zipwire and a walk from Betws-y-Coed. Eileen was very welcoming, friendly and helpful, giving advice on where to eat and where to visit. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed the breakfasts, which set us up well for the day ahead. Overall a great place to stay, in a good location, in a lovely part of Wales, with plenty of things to see and do.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We were delighted to receive your review and thrilled you enjoyed the zip wire. As you know I too have done this - along with every other of the many activities in Snowdonia. You really owe it to yourself and friends to return sometime and try another. As for walks, we have more than you could wish for. Hoping to enjoy your company here at Tan Dinas again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just returned from another lovely weekend at Tan Dinas. We have been staying here for many years and are always made to feel very welcome by John and Eileen. The house is set in the forest with wonderful views of the valley, yet is only a short walk from the shops, bars and restaurants of Betws y Coed. The house is very homely with an excellent breakfast each morning. Our only disappointment is that we don't get the chance to stay in Tan Dinas more often.
John & Elaine, Liverpool.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnElaineLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
You once said you had never been to the same B&&B twice. The fact that you have been here 10 times speaks volumes. We really look forward to your visits as I am sure you are aware. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have now stayed in this beautiful B and B three times. Last time was in September 2013.

If Wales was on our side of the world we would have a permanent weekend booking.

Eileen's warmth, charm and sense of humour has not diminished one little bit and each time we have stayed we have been made to feel like family coming to stay. With Eileen's bubbly character John seems to take a back seat but his breakfasts say it all.

We have stayed in many hotels and B and B's around the world and Tan Dinas can not be bettered. Simply The Best.

Thanks again Eileen and John. As I said before, we will, be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceF47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
I am sure it must be a record for a B&B to have repeat business 3 times from a couple in Australia, especially during a 5 year period. Thanks so much for your wonderful review, the fact that you come from so far to see us makes us feel very proud. Will you make it a 4th time - we hope so !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
584 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Property: Tan Dinas Country House
Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing