We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Luxe B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for a mini break for my husband's birthday in March and Eileen did her utmost to ensure we got the most from our stay, from providing walking routes to advice about attractions in the local area. The room was immaculate, the bed very comfortable and the breakfasts superb. My husband was subtly presented with a birthday card - Eileen had offered a cake etc but it was a 'big birthday' and my husband had stressed he wanted a low key celebration. In addition, we ladies were presented with a box of chocolates each at breakfast on Mothers Day. A really nice touch (especially as Eileen a mum herself was busy working!) and an example of how Eileen and John aim to go the 'extra mile' to make guests' stays memorable. Tan Dinas is ideally located to walk to Swallow Falls, to restaurants, shops and bars in the village and for exploring the rest of Snowdonia by car. We would certainly return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review. John and I are keen to ensure our guests make the most of their well earned break by offering advise on where to go and what to do in this beautiful part of the world...we are happy we succeeded and you all had a nice time. Do come back and see what else is on offer here in Snowdonia - there's so much to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife, 13 year old son & I have just returned from a 5 night break at this excellent B&B. It does what it "says on the tin" 5* service, 5* accommodation, 5* location and a 5* breakfast cooked by owner John. Truly home from home, a great location to explore Snowdonia National Park and North Wales in general. John & Eileen are to be commended on a truly excellent accommodation. It is an over used term but we can truly say "arrive as guests & leave as friends." We have already booked to go back later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Many thanks for your review. The standard required for 5 stars awarded by Visit Wales is very high and we are delighted that you feel we deserve this prestigious award. Thank you also for having made four bookings with us in the past twelve months and on each occasion bringing different people with you. It is a pleasure having you here to share our home. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a first for me I have never written a review before but on this occasion I feel it is absolutely necessary. We have just stayed in the best B&B ever and this is undoubtedly due to the wonderful hosts Eileen and John. Eileen is a star, she makes you feel so welcome and I can only say one word about all of John's fabulous breakfasts... Stunning. Tan Dinas is in such a great setting with lovely gardens and fantastic views. I could go on and on about this beautiful house, but having read all of the previous reviews would just be repeating everybody else's thoughts so I think probably the best words I can use to sum up are ..... we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EricaPickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

It's the best news we can have to learn you are coming back to stay again. The core of our business is built on repeat custom and personal recommendation which add up to 30% of our business. I dont know about being a star but I do know I make you welcome, because you are. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and then get it posted - it does require effort and we appreciate it so much. Thank you. See you soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fabulous accomodation, in a beautiful location, with outstanding views.

I wanted to stay somewhere special for my 40th birthday, so Betws-y-Coed had already been decided and was up to me to find the accomodation. Reading all the reviews regarding this wonderful house and with its wonderful proprietors Eileen and John I made the right choice.
From the moment we arrived, which we had to stay in the car until the monsoon had passed, Eileen was there to greet us waving at the window, we were shown the breakfast room, lounge and where else we could stay in the house and then shown our room (Elm), it was perfect, the decor was tastefully done, all colour co-ordinating, and the views from the windows are breathtaking.
The breakfast was delicious, I dont normally have anything cooked, but because it was my birthday I decided to have the scrambled egg and salmon, oh my!! it was devine, I was also suprised to recieve a birthday card from Eileen and John!!!! my partner had the rarebit and thorougly enjoyed.
The weather wasn't the best and we had intended walking Snowdon, Eileen advised us not to and gave us alternatives, which we did and had a fabulous day.
There are plenty of places to eat and drink in the village, spoilt for choice really.
Eileen and John have a fabulous home and are wonderful hosts, as you will see from all the comments.
A real credit to you both.
We will be back later in the year. Thank you for a wonderful stay x x

Room Tip: We stayed in Elm, beautiful views. With the location of the house I expect all the rooms to be of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

It was lovely to meet you both and to share your birthday celebrations. We do hope now you have discovered this beautiful area you will come again and climb one of our wonderful mountains or enjoy one of the many exciting adventures locally. The area has so much to offer - it really does need a few visits to get to know it properly, but I hope your short stay gave you enough to put it on your "hit list" again. Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are most grateful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have just returned from another fantastic weekend in Tan Dinas in Betws-Y-Coed, this was our second visit there, Eileen and John are by far the best most welcoming host's we've ever met, we have enjoyed both our stays so much that we've rebooked for another stay later in the year ! Looking forward to going back already

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomcooke75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

How nice it was to see you all again and the icing on the cake for us is that you enjoyed your second stay and have booked a third later in the year. We are looking forward to it already. Hope the house renovations go well. Thank you for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were part of a group of birdwatching friends and couldn't believe our eyes as we arrived at Tan Dinas. The house is beautiful, the gardens very neat with comfy seating to allow you to take in breathtaking views of the idyllic valley spread out below, and Eileen and John are so friendly and efficient that our stay was simply brilliant. The house is warm and very clean, the decor is tasteful, the little reading room area is a great resource and the lounge was great for our group to relax in after our suppers at the Pont y Pair Inn just down the road. The rooms seemed to be totally soundproof and the decor, shower room and bed in our Elm Family Room were super. We had a small fridge, with fresh milk in it every day, too. As for the breakfasts... we all tried most of the dishes on offer and everything was cooked to perfection - from porridge to a full Woodcutter's breakfast, from excellent fresh fruit salad to steaming fresh coffee and Earl Grey tea. We were all birdwatching over breakfast, from the light and uncluttered dining room, and saw grey squirrel, tits, woodpeckers, nuthatches and even a spotted flycatcher! We went to lots of top nature reserves and beautiful areas within easy striking distance, and enjoyed seeing dipper and goosander on the clear, rushing river down in Betws-y-Coed, just minutes from Tan Dinas. The icing on the cake (literally) was that we came home early on our only very wet afternoon to find a huge, scrumptious chocolate cake and 10 plates and serviettes waiting for us in the lounge. "Happy Birdwatching" inscribed on the top was the loveliest touch and cheered us all up instantly. We'd enjoyed John's cooking and met him briefly but he also came out on our last morning, with Eileen, to have a team photo in the sunshine and wish us Bon Voyage.

Room Tip: The 2 front bedrooms have amazing views over the valley and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarleySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

It's such a joy to watch guests enjoy themselves, have some fun and some relaxation too. You certainly achieved all your aims in seeing many of the birds on your "List" Thank you so much for your company and sharing your exploits with me together with helping identify some of the rarer birds which have decided to nest in our grounds. It was a privilege to have you all stay. Thank you for your welcome review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Reasons why we thought this the "Bestest Ever" B&B
The warm welcome. (On arrival, following a comment about being ready for a cup of tea after our long journey, a pot of Earl Grey was brought to us in the garden where we could enjoy the beautiful view). Friendly and interesting chats with a bit of 'craic' thrown in for good measure. AMAZINGLY delicious breakfast. Superbly clean accommodation with lots of unexpected extras in the bedroom, i.e.bathroom slippers, tissues, bottled water, sweets. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captpeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

As you say a bit of "craic" does us all good and there's generally some of that here. Happy you enjoyed the white water rafting and hoping you will return from Ireland for another adventure in the future. Many thanks for the lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
786 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
695 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £65 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing