We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan Dinas Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our second visit to this lovely country house and looking forward to the next time. This is the best B&B that we have ever stayed at. The house is immaculate and it is ideally situated at the edge of quiet woodland. It has superb views from the garden terrace and from the bedrooms. Our hosts, Eileen and John, are so very welcoming and friendly. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and their advice regarding sightseeing is fantastic. All rooms are extremely comfortable and John's breakfasts are first class. We think this hotel deserves six stars! Excellent!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic and cannot be faulted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
We were thrilled to read your names in the reservation book when we returned from holiday - it's always wonderful to welcome back repeat guests...as you know there's always someone in the breakfast room who has been before. Thanks so much for your kind words - it's great that you think we deserve 6 stars! See you soon and thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
93
396
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent! A very beautiful home, with very beautiful gardens and scenery, everywhere was immaculate with a comfortable bed and great views from the bedroom window, infact every window you looked through the view was amazing.
And on top of that you get a very friendly welcome and the breakfast is superb, Eileen and John are great hosts and very helpful with any itineraries you may have.
I didn't want to leave and I am moving in!!
I would recommend Tan Dinas to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaynor n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
It's so nice when a guest confirms our claim to have magnificent views from every window is true - there usually is one window which overlooks the sheds and bins - but not here. I am currently developing yet another piece of our large garden and so even the car park should look even prettier now. It was lovely sharing our home with you and sincere thanks to you both for writing review(s). Hopefully you will return and bring some midget gems!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This excellent B & B offers superb accommodation in a beautiful setting. The welcome is warm and the attention to detail is faultless. The choice of breakfast available is varied and every possible dietary requirement seems to be covered. John's cooked breakfasts are delicious: compliments to the chef! Eileen is the perfect host and makes you feel very welcome. She also offers helpful advice on what to see and do. I would definitely recommend a stay at Tan Dinas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are delighted you had a good time - we certainly enjoyed meeting you both. It is important to John and I that our guests enjoy their breakfast, irrespective of any dietary requirements, so soy, lactose free, gluten free, vegetarian and vegan goods are always to hand. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

when you find a place like this you just cannot wait to go back again ,so thats just what we did pat neil sue and george returned to tan dinas (june )this year and when we left made a booking for 2015 why . it is simply heaven in the hills .eileen and john the owners give everyone a warm homely welcome.its spotlessly clean .so comfortable eileen is so helpful with maps and ideas of were to go and what to do .and john's breakfasts what can i say ? as we say in derbyshire BLUMMIN MARVELOUS ! ! !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neil330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
What a joy it was to have you all back with us again and how wonderful you have booked for a third visit next year. Johns breakfasts are something special I agree and he like I are looking forward to welcoming you back once more. 30% of our guests are "returning friends" as they, like you (and us) just love this beautiful old house. It's a reet gud 'ouse with a grand 'all and 'ot water throughout"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed here for a mini break for my husband's birthday in March and Eileen did her utmost to ensure we got the most from our stay, from providing walking routes to advice about attractions in the local area. The room was immaculate, the bed very comfortable and the breakfasts superb. My husband was subtly presented with a birthday card - Eileen had offered a cake etc but it was a 'big birthday' and my husband had stressed he wanted a low key celebration. In addition, we ladies were presented with a box of chocolates each at breakfast on Mothers Day. A really nice touch (especially as Eileen a mum herself was busy working!) and an example of how Eileen and John aim to go the 'extra mile' to make guests' stays memorable. Tan Dinas is ideally located to walk to Swallow Falls, to restaurants, shops and bars in the village and for exploring the rest of Snowdonia by car. We would certainly return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review. John and I are keen to ensure our guests make the most of their well earned break by offering advise on where to go and what to do in this beautiful part of the world...we are happy we succeeded and you all had a nice time. Do come back and see what else is on offer here in Snowdonia - there's so much to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife, 13 year old son & I have just returned from a 5 night break at this excellent B&B. It does what it "says on the tin" 5* service, 5* accommodation, 5* location and a 5* breakfast cooked by owner John. Truly home from home, a great location to explore Snowdonia National Park and North Wales in general. John & Eileen are to be commended on a truly excellent accommodation. It is an over used term but we can truly say "arrive as guests & leave as friends." We have already booked to go back later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Many thanks for your review. The standard required for 5 stars awarded by Visit Wales is very high and we are delighted that you feel we deserve this prestigious award. Thank you also for having made four bookings with us in the past twelve months and on each occasion bringing different people with you. It is a pleasure having you here to share our home. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a first for me I have never written a review before but on this occasion I feel it is absolutely necessary. We have just stayed in the best B&B ever and this is undoubtedly due to the wonderful hosts Eileen and John. Eileen is a star, she makes you feel so welcome and I can only say one word about all of John's fabulous breakfasts... Stunning. Tan Dinas is in such a great setting with lovely gardens and fantastic views. I could go on and on about this beautiful house, but having read all of the previous reviews would just be repeating everybody else's thoughts so I think probably the best words I can use to sum up are ..... we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaPickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eileen B, Owner at Tan Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
It's the best news we can have to learn you are coming back to stay again. The core of our business is built on repeat custom and personal recommendation which add up to 30% of our business. I dont know about being a star but I do know I make you welcome, because you are. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and then get it posted - it does require effort and we appreciate it so much. Thank you. See you soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
13.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Property: Tan Dinas Country House
Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing