We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hosts, wonderful location, superb rooms and scrumptious breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester
1 review
“Fantastic hosts, wonderful location, superb rooms and scrumptious breakfast”
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Eileen and John are really great people with lots of knowledge of where to go and what to do and nothing is too much trouble. We had a great outlook over the wonderful countryside around and fascinated by the different birds you could spot at the birdfeeder whilst enjoying our own delicious breakfast (lots of choice). It was our second stay there in 2 years and will definitely go back again as it is so central for the all the amenities and attractions in surrounding areas (too much to fit in 4 days, even on a second visit). By the way, the sun shone all the time, which was fabulous for April!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spottedbulls001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
411
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We booked by chance and struck lucky. This charming guest house has lovely rooms, beautifully decorated with en-suites and fluffy towels. There are all the usual things one would expect in a hotel and more like a tea tray with scrummy biscuits! The breakfast is cooked to order with fruit and cereal too. There is a comfy lounge and an area with local info. An easy walk into Betws y Coed provides lovely places to eat. We tried the Welsh Bistro but you might need to book as it's very good and therefore popular. From the guest house you can walk to the falls about an hour's walk there and back. A good location to explore this area from.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Thoroughly recommend Tan Dinas - it's a brilliant guest house on the edge of the lovely town of Betws-y-Coed. Just 20 minutes drive to Snowdon. We used it as our base to climb Crib Goch and it was the perfect place to stay - a short walk to the pubs and restaurants in town. Service was first class, the room was spotless and very comfortable, and the breakfast was fantastic. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StateRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

A fantastic base for your Snowdonia Adventure! The warmest of service from the excellent owner Eileen.
The rooms are spacious and clean with a superb view. The excellent breakfast sets you up for the longest of walks. Their car-park is more than big enough and its just a short walk in to town where there are plenty of places to eat and buy "out-doors" gear.
Its a great location for the summit routes via Pen Y Pass including "The Horse-shoe" and Crib Gogh.
I really can't praise this place enough as well as its warm and kind owner Eileen, who really is the most welcoming and helpful host.
And if Eileen says its to dangerous to climb snowdon when your there, I recommend you take her advice, some local knowledge is priceless;)

A+++

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookedcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlare, Belgium
Level Contributor
248 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Thanks Eileen and John for another perfect stay at Tan Dinas.everything was wonderfull, bedrooms nice and warm as we had snow and frost again, and not forgetting that awesome breakfast John cooks fresh to order every morning.Total perfection.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2010

My husband and I stayed in Tan Dinas B&B for three nights during the easter holidays.
we really needed to escape from work and city and we were so happy and relaxed from this trip. Snowdonia is just so beautiful, every corners and steps where you can explore new paths full of freshness, Tan Dinas is located at perfect distance you can start the journey.

foods, room, kind Eileen, view, air.. nothing will disappoint you. I strongly recommend you to try and go ahead with them.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italian in Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Located in a small street away from the traffic and major roads, in a very green location, it's a fantastic place if you're looking for quiet and nature. the landscape you can view from the windows and the house is simply breathtaking! Plenty of parking space is available. the owner is very very nice and she makes you feel really at home, like a family friend. During our stay we were introduced to all other guests, this created a very friendly and relaxing atmosphere, allowing us to have chat with the others during breakfast ect...
there are lot of choices for breakfast and some buffet, everything freshly cooked. The rooms are quite big and with fantastic view, there is even a lounge for guests with books ect...The B&B is from walking distance to the town centre and walking paths, but the road to get to the house is a bit uphill so make sure you're fit for it if you're planning to walk there from the town centre.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkin022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
1.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.9 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#3 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Property: Tan Dinas Country House
Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tan Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing