We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favourite destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Just returned home from a two week holiday in the UK. We decided to spend the first four days in North Wales and we were not disappointed with our choices. Upon choosing the lovely village of Betws-Y-Coed as our base we came across Tan Dinas country house while reading some Trip advisor reviews about the house which were all positive. We contacted them and a reply soon arrived that a room was available for our dates.
When we arrived John & Eileen greeted us at the door and made us feel at home the moment we stepped inside. The house is nicely decorated and the rooms were spotless. The view from the room is wonderful with sloping green fields. The breakfast was a treat to have. John"s full Welsh or smoked salmon scrambled egg were excellent. Add all this to a lovely breakfast room and a chance to meet with the other guests and the warm character of Eileen and we can confidently say that Tan Dinas is the best place we stayed in so far.
Thanks again Eileen & John for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marclaMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2010

Eileen and John are very nice people and welcome you as if you were old friends.
Their house is lovely ; you 'll find THE place to READ in their living room on their so comfortable sofas, in front of a gorgious view (sheep in their field and a forest background), an ancient clock and a fireplace if needed.
Eileen provides her guests with wonderful towels (5th star towels !) and bedsheets were just so "countryside lovely".
Breakfasts are really great and you can go on for the whole day ! Eileen always takes care of you asking us for more or if everything to our taste.
Moreover she just knows everything in North Wales and Liverpool and is keen on helping you finding the suitable walk or visit.
Bewts-y-coed is a lovely village, deep in the forest with falls.
Snowdonia provides you with unforgettable walks (wild nature, sheep, mountains, lakes, rocks..) and other places such as Conwy castle by the sea.
Next time I'll go to Eileen & John's, sure I'll take my novels and stay longer.re

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMBRE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Wonderful location. Very knowledgeable staff and very thoughtful too. Room was lovely and newly refurbished en-suit. Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie_Mack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We were climbing snowdon, so booked this place after reading reviews on tripadvisor.

We were not disappointed with our choice. When we arrived, Eileen welcomed us and gave us some good advice about where to eat. She even rang up the local bistro and managed to get us in for the saturday night - which i must say is definately worth a visit.

The house is a really nice property and in a very quiet location, yet still within 5 minutes walk of the centre. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities, a tv and a fridge.

Breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of choice.

I would definately stay there again if visiting Betws-y-Coed

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonPJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

Eileen is a wonderful host . Bedding is sooooo wonderfully fresh smelling and bed comfortable. Breakfast can not be faulted. Excellent value in lovely location. Great attention to detail.Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philiasfoggwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Eileen & John were there to welcome us to Tan Dinas enquired how our journey was and offered us refreshments if we needed checked us in and asked if there was anything else they could do. Eileen gave us our keys and showed us to our room (Cedar) Double Bed and onsuite the room was very clean and warm as the journey from Southampton in wet weather did not make it feel like Summer, she also explained the local area in case we felt like a walk after we had rested. In the evening my wife and I did walk down to the village her advice was appreciated as we found all that she had mentioned including the Bistro where we had a meal it was well cooked and delicious and reasonably priced. The days that followed were made as intetresting as the arrival each morning wee were intrduced to guests from around the world, whom like us really enjoyed the food it was first class and a wide selection of Breakfasts and drinks as much as we could drink Eileen also asked if we needed a packed lunch. We managed to visit LLamberis Snowdon, LLandudno, Conawy and the Castle, Bangor, Carnavon, And spent a day with friends at Anglsea and saw the Irish Ferries going and coming. At North Stack we saw a Grey Seal very near the Beach which swam around totally ignoring us despite the weather which was not kind to us we thoroughly enjoyed our week a t Tan Dinas and recommend it to anybody who has a few days or weeks the friendship and support fromn Eileen and her Husband John made our Holiday memorable and we do intend going again as the value for money was we have experienced anywhere in this country.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrywalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Tony & I decided to spend my birthday at Tan Dinas. We were welcomed by John & Eileen at the door as we arrived. We were immediately impressed by the warm and happy atmosphere. Our room had everything anyone could wish for, including a luxurious shower room with walk -in shower.
As it was my birthday we wanted to have a special meal at night. Eileen told us of a restaurant in Betws-y-Coed, which had a charming atmoshere, and served excellant food. She was right, we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.
After a good night's sleep in a most comfortable bed, we were ready for our breakfast.
This was served in a bright , cheerful room with a view of the surrounding hills.
The choice was excellant and we took full advantage of this.
I am a painter, so before we left I wanted to do a water colour sketch of the view in front of the house, to remind us of Tan Dinas, John & Eileen, and a different way of spending my birthday.
,

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chumkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
779 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
581 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Dinas Country House

Address: Coed Cyn Helier, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £65 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star country house is set in probably the best location in Snowdonia with breath-taking views from every window. Situated in 3 acres of landscaped grounds and woodland it is a 5 minute walk from the hustle & bustle of the village, yet is so peaceful and tranquil it seems miles away.Enjoy the home from home hospitality offered by John and Eileen in a warm and friendly atmosphere bringing back guests again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tan Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan Dinas Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing