We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Chef Can Really Cook” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistro Betws-y-Coed

Bistro Betws-y-Coed
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Welsh, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Chef Can Really Cook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

My spouse and I ate here on 2 of the 3 nights we were in town at the end of May. We tried walking in on a Thursday night, but no tables were available.We booked ahead for the subsequent 2 nights. (Note--one books a specific table rather than just making a reservation.)

The atmosphere is rustic/casual--one could wear jeans, or more formal clothing

I ordered the lamb shank specials on both nights. It was exceptional on a Friday night--arguably the best lamb I have ever eaten. The meat was piping hot and absolutely falling off the bone. The same dish was smaller, fattier, and not nearly as hot on Saturday night.

The mushroom bruschetta for a starter was delicious, and we asked for more of the bread (curry bread and a pepper bread--both wonderful) to sop up the sauce. My spouse had the steak, and it was fine, but not exceptional. We had salad both nights--colorful, crunchy and good. We also ordered the brownie with ice cream dessert on both evenings--very good.

The Bistro was a lovely surprise in a tiny, gorgeous town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    683
    244
    75
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just too delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We took a chances and went in without a booking, they squeezed us in and we are soooooo glad they did, delicious doesn't seem to cover it - Welsh rarebit, lamb cutlets and meringue with a lava bread taster to tempt you in and Welsh cakes and homemade chocolate with the bill (better than a mint imperial).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CandD2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere - book ahead!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a birthday family meal here on Mothers Day and the atmosphere was warm and relaxing. The service was attentive and the quality of the food excellent. There is a main room and a side room also used at busy times. Personally I would have been disappointed in the side room which does really seem like an afterthought overflow area so I would suggest specifying your preference of room when booking if you feel the same and are visiting during busy periods.
We had hoped to eat there the evening before but it was fully booked so I would certainly advise booking ahead.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner booked a table and this place is a must. We had a wonderful time in there and the ladies that were serving were so nice and friendly and made us feel so welcome and relaxed. The food was lovely, the lamb shank special was out of this world. The added little extras were such a nice touch and much appreciated. We rated this restaurant as our number one in the village. Thanks for a lovely evening.

Helpful?
Thank Anne-marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

we had meals 3 nights on the run and every night it was great. the staff very helpful the food wonderful and value for money

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank william r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Betws-y-Coed also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Bistro Betws-y-Coed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing