We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening out”

Bistro Betws-y-Coed
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely evening out”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Booked this restaurant on the advice of our B&B - it was the final evening of our long weekend, so we wanted something a bit special.
Had great table by the window - wish I'd read the post about the cushions! Those chairs are hard...
The waitress, although very new, bless her, made sense of our order of 2 shared starter platters, with the pate separated from everything else for our vegetarian. It was all delicious.
Our Mains varied from the Hake, lamb cutlets - to a steak, well done, with absolutely NO greenery, and chips.
If I have one criticism, it's that there wasn't enough veg brought out - but it was quickly replenished once we'd asked.
Too full for dessert, sadly, as they all looked delicious.
A little plate of complimentary tiny welshcakes, and chocolate mint fudge accompanied the bill, a nice touch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GadgetGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    257
    79
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire, england
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After a days hiking, this is a great place to have a fantastic meal and unwind. We had the duck in plumb sauce washed down with a couple of ciders. Lovely. The meal was very well cooked and beautifully presented. We will be booking a table here again next time we visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our B&B hostess recommended this place and we were glad we listened. We had their special shared starter which was about enough for dinner on its own. Then I had the rib eye and my husband had the Hake. My steak was topped with a tasty sauce and was cooked the way I requested. There was way more than I could eat. My husband fish was delicious. For the type of food, the price was very reasonable. For the price I did not expect it to be as gourmet as it was. The staff was very nice and friendly. Highly recommend it. May even be my new favorite place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
419 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Lovely restaurant, very good food, reasonably priced, efficient friendly staff, eat here!
No need to say anymore, all the reviews are similar just make sure you book as everyone else loves this restaurant as well!
Only criticism - hard seats, remember to take a cushion from the basket by the door

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Make sure you eat here :)”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We only stayed in Betws for one night but managed to book a table here, just. Please make sure you prebook as people were having to be turned away.
The food is just amazing, the mushroom bruschetta starter just amazing. We both had lamb which was well cooked and so tasty.
Yes, it's not the cheapest but it's so worth a visit. It's so rich however i doubt i could cope eating here every night, but i wouldn't stay in Betws without eating here again...FACT

Thank you to the pleasant and knowledgeable waitresses too :)

Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Betws-y-Coed also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Bistro Betws-y-Coed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing