We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing gem in North Wales!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast

Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an amazing gem in North Wales!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights end of July, (4 adults & 1 older teenager), with Colin and Alan and cannot recommend this house highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble. As the house is small we almost filled it but we were made to feel relaxed and at home. We found it an excellent base to visit Snowdon and Snowdonia Park. And it was only a few minutes walk into Betws-y-Coed village.

One word of caution: Beware of the FANTASTIC breakfast! Colin will amaze you with a great selection of fresh locally produced food. And you can get a packed lunch also!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
32
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I booked this b&b at the last minute for a very reasonable £66 per night. The hosts, Colin and Alan, provide first class hospitality and a breakfast that just goes on and on. Quite rightly they say that they the don't want people to leave hungry, and believe me you would need some appetite to do that. Colin was a baker, so the food is very good too. I eschewed the cooked breakfast but fresh fruit, croissant, toast, home made jam, yoghurt, cereal bar, banana and cornflakes were enough to keep me going on some very challenging walks. Oh, and a huge cafetiere of coffee, not the usual stingy hotel cups. The breakfast room is done out with beautiful white table cloths, and whilst such finery is lost on me it will appeal to the er... older generation.

The ensuite room I stayed in was nice and clean; and the gardens are lovely - complete with miniature trains which can give rides apparently.

The location on the A5 Holyhead Road is just 10 minutes walk from the town centre, and although there is some noise from the road it is not chronic and should not put you off (as someone who lives in the middle of nowhere I am more sensitive than most to even very moderate noise). Parking is not a problem.

All in all a very pleasant stay, excellent value and therefore thoroughly recommended. Don't give your money to the hotels in the town centre, stay here instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Powys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This was our second stay at this B&B and the hospitality was good as the first. The B&B owners are very knowledgable of the local area, one being a local baker offering complimentary marmalade daily. Each morning we were greeted and welcomed to start the day in our own time, with the offering of a three course breakfast. The room was perfect for a B&B stay with secure parking, and if need be a bus stop directly outside.

Overall I definitely recommend a stay here!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed here one night on a cycle ride to Bangor. Some might consider the room a bit basic but it was warm in the coldest march on record and the hosting was fantastic. They couldn't have been more accommodating or welcoming. No wifi since some guest tried to hack their bank accounts but a breakfast to die for and I'd love to go back and see the trains in the garden in action.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Once again we were made to feel most welcome. When we go through the front door it allways feels like you are meeting up with old freinds. The only problem here is the wonderful breakfast does tend to sloww me down for the first couple of hours walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petem56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

The hospitality in which was received was very good. Breakfast was Devine. The restaurants could've had some wisdom from colin and alan. Bus stop right out side of the b n b which takes you to pen y pass to climb snowdon. We can't wait to go back as there was a warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blonde1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while hill climbing in Snowdonia. Warm welcome, lots of thoughtful touches that just help make a stay memorable, and fantastic breakfast - especially the fresh fruit salad...
I hope to have time to see the model trains running round the garden if I get to stay again !

Room Tip: I had a single room with private bathroom nearby - dressing gowns provided! Hearing the river gurgli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#21 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
#23 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Afon View Guest House
Afon View Guest House
#14 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenwood Guest House
Glenwood Guest House
#9 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gorphwysfa Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and cosy B&B in the Village of Betws-y-Coed North Wales ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing