We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”

Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at Gorphwyfsa B&B for 3 nights in May 2014 and the breakfasts were amazing - Colin and Alan clearly take great pride in providing good quality food and plenty of it. We used the B&B as a base for walking and got pretty wet but our clothes and boots were dried for us overnight - this was a service that we were not expecting but appreciated a lot! We also appreciated the wealth of local information and stories which were supplied at breakfast time in addition to large pots of tea, full cooked breakfast, cereals, toast, homemade jams and Bara Brith (they even parted with the receipe). A brilliant stay. A beautiful house and well kept garden complete with model railway...we will be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSmith41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
33
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Gorphwyfsa B&B spent 2days, what a lovely spot Colin and Alan made us very welcome.Room very comfortable,and the breakfast very good and yes you do need elasticated waistbands,we shall go again this is definite.thankyou Sue and Colin Duncan

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed at the Gorphwyfsa B&B for 8 nights in April 2014. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and B&Bs over the years and this one is one of the best. Colin and Alan are great - they go out of there way to ensure your needs are met. The rooms are nice and clean. Everything is cleaned every day and every day supplies of bottled water, shower gels, etc are always replaced. The most outstanding thing about this B&B is the breakfast. Fruit Compote, followed by cereals, followed by a large cooked breakfast, followed by toast, scones, etc. On staying Easter Sunday a nice little special extra touch was a creme egg for each guest. The B&B is very handy for Betws-y-Coed which is a short walk away. The hills of Snowdonia are also very accessible with the Snowdon Sherpa bus stop literally outside the door of the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just spent a very relaxing weekend as a lone traveller, staying at this remarkable B&B. Was given an upgrade on arrival to a lovely double en suite room. The whole place was immaculate, with lots of fine attention to detail. The hosts were completely unobtrusive but there when it mattered, like a little chat at breakfast, (more of that to follow), or if you needed any information on the local amenities. The breakfast, this must be the finest choice of morning fare to be found in such an establishment, it includes five courses if you are up to it! Brilliant visit, will soon be going back!!

Room Tip: Stayed in a double room (No3) as a lone traveller and it was very comfortable but may be a little ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wayneatkinson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights and we will definately return soon. Colin and Alan could not be more accommodating. We had a long 5 hour journey up to Betws y Coed and Alan invited us in for a smashing pot of tea and biscuits which we thought was going the "extra mile". Our room had little extra touches that made the stay special such as lovely bone china mugs instead of the usual chunky cups you usually get at B & B's and we had sachets of hot chocolate as well as the usual tea and coffee. The room was lovely and clean etc. Now to the breakfast..... Well this breakfast just went on and on with so many different foods and almost all homemade!!. By the second morning I had got the measure and did not eat the cereal to make room for the warm homemade scone and home made jam that followed the ENORMOUS COOKED BREAKFAST.. Yummy!! and enough tea or coffee to sink a battleship. Colin was a tonic and we all put the world to rights over the long breakfast. We would definately recommend....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally681385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights end of July, (4 adults & 1 older teenager), with Colin and Alan and cannot recommend this house highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble. As the house is small we almost filled it but we were made to feel relaxed and at home. We found it an excellent base to visit Snowdon and Snowdonia Park. And it was only a few minutes walk into Betws-y-Coed village.

One word of caution: Beware of the FANTASTIC breakfast! Colin will amaze you with a great selection of fresh locally produced food. And you can get a packed lunch also!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I booked this b&b at the last minute for a very reasonable £66 per night. The hosts, Colin and Alan, provide first class hospitality and a breakfast that just goes on and on. Quite rightly they say that they the don't want people to leave hungry, and believe me you would need some appetite to do that. Colin was a baker, so the food is very good too. I eschewed the cooked breakfast but fresh fruit, croissant, toast, home made jam, yoghurt, cereal bar, banana and cornflakes were enough to keep me going on some very challenging walks. Oh, and a huge cafetiere of coffee, not the usual stingy hotel cups. The breakfast room is done out with beautiful white table cloths, and whilst such finery is lost on me it will appeal to the er... older generation.

The ensuite room I stayed in was nice and clean; and the gardens are lovely - complete with miniature trains which can give rides apparently.

The location on the A5 Holyhead Road is just 10 minutes walk from the town centre, and although there is some noise from the road it is not chronic and should not put you off (as someone who lives in the middle of nowhere I am more sensitive than most to even very moderate noise). Parking is not a problem.

All in all a very pleasant stay, excellent value and therefore thoroughly recommended. Don't give your money to the hotels in the town centre, stay here instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Powys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.6 mi away
Bryn Bella Guest House
Bryn Bella Guest House
#21 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
#26 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#4 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Park Hill Guest House
The Park Hill Guest House
#29 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gorphwysfa Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small and cosy B&B in the Village of Betws-y-Coed North Wales ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorphwysfa Bed & Breakfast Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing