We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B plus”
Review of The Acorns

The Acorns
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Acorns
Ranked #42 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“B&B plus”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

B&B as it should be. This first floor extension provides open plan living with a dining and living area to the front, split by a wall, and king-size bed at the rear with a huge ensuite including a shower for 2. Breakfast is in the fridge, everything you need for a continental breakfast and more. Satellite TV and wi-fi, cosy sofa and chair, your hosts never intrude but are a font of knowledge. Fantastic location on the very edge of Betws, only a short walk into the centre. Even on the main road noise was never a problem. Perfect!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Guy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in August. Very big and spacious. Bill and Marion have thought of everything in the suite. Betws-Y-Coed is a lovely place with lots of history and places to visit. Will definitely be coming back in October.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed for a weekend over Easter and have to write to say how impressed we were with the standard of the accommodation. Wonderfully large and comfortable room, twice the size of where we normally stay, and all for a very reasonable price.

We will come back again in the autumn

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbbbbbbbbbbbnbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Just stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful cottage on the edge of Betws-y-coed.Warmly greeted as always by Bill and Marion on arrival.Everything you could need is in this appartment with a lovely view at the front of the accomodation.Lovely restaurants and bars within easy walking distance and all the special places of Snowdonia are within short driving distances.Must sees and does include the village of Capel Garmon especially when the village pub re-opens and Sunday lunch at the Maenan Abbey but pre-booking is required.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepwalker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallasey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed overnight at The Acorns ,after knocking to ask if they had any vacancys ,was greeted by the very friendly owner Marion.We stayed overnight in their luxury self catering appartment which was a luxury .there is nothing in this appartment that Bill and Marion have not thought about .The appartment was very spacious and the decor was beautiful decorated to the highest standard .A lovely little private space in the garden with table and chairs where we had a lovely quiet drink in the afternoon .I was celebrating my 50th birthday and the lovely appartment made it even more special nice places to eat in the area .Would very much reccomend The Acorns for short or long breaks to anyone .Just wished we could have stayed longer but will next time .Thanks Bill and Marion xx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

we visited snowdonia in aug2011.Tthe acorns were truly wonderful. Marion and Bill were extremely good hosts with respect to giving us directions in reaching this beautiful town of south wales and their place. They made our stay extremely wonderful, stress free with respect to giving us directions to visit the nearby shops for groceries, specialities of the little town..my 5yrs old daughter enjoyed the studio apartment as it was loaded with games. This helped us keeping her busy as we landed in a bad weather(forgot to check the weather forcast). we highly recommend this place for stay as its close to the betws-y-coed station and the market place too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I stayed for the Easter week-end at the Acorns B&B. The room is located of the first floor of the owners’ house. Owners are very nice and not invasive at all, which worked very well for us.
The house is located along the A5. However it is not too noisy as traffic is very limited after 10PM in this part of the world.
The room is very large, with a king-size bed (with a soft mattress), a sofa area as well as a dining area. Indeed, this B&B does not provide cooked breakfast in the morning, but there is a fridge in the room where you find everything necessary to have a very decent breakfast (milk, orange juice, yogurts, smoked salmon or ham, vast choice of cereals, slices of white/brown bread). There is also a kettle for tea/coffee. The fridge is refuelled every day.
The bathroom is equally very large, but contains only a shower (there is no bathtub). I had trouble having boiling hot water in the morning (I like taking boiling hot showers), but that might not be an issue for most and in the end I settled with a hot shower only!
There is a free Wifi internet connection in the room which is great to plan the next day ahead.
Betws-y-Coed is in the middle of Snowdonia NP, so it is an ideal location for visiting the area, with no place of interest distant more than ½ drive away.
All in all, a very good value for money B&B. Do not expect anything luxurious, but only a cosy “at home” feel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.0 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
The Park Hill Guest House
The Park Hill Guest House
#29 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Acorns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Acorns

Property: The Acorns
Address: Acorns Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Acorns 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Acorns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Acorns Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing