We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

The Silver Fountain
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stopped here last week in the early evening and all 5 of us had the sunday roast. The food was fantastic - really tasty and good sized portions. The food took a few minutes to arrive but since there is a nice log fire to sit in front of that wasn't too much of a hardship, and the vegtables all tasted freshly cooked so were worth a short wait. The pub has a pleasant atmosphere and has been sympathetically decorated so as to retain some of the feeling of history that modern chain pubs would love to be able to synthesise.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    43
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Steak and Ale pie is fantastic, truly simple food done VERY well. There is a little wait for the food if someone is ordering the pie as it is cooked properly in the oven and not just microwaved, this means the pastry is brilliant. The staff are friendly and attentive without being pushy, easily one of the best pubs in the area (far too many have become pretentious).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Physical256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“another mixed review”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were staying in the nearby village of Penmachno, and didn't want to drive too far for dinner one night.
It's quite basic inside with tables laid out in line - almost in school dinner hall formation.
I was looking forward to a pint of local beer, but the only option was bottled Welsh beer - which I think is OK at home, but draught is always more preferable in a pub. They had also ran out of some of the draught beers, so I grudgingly had a shandy!
Quite a few things were off the menu - the waitress said they had run out, but it wasn't really busy.
We opted for the Welsh Black Beef pie, (Their signature dish, I suspect) and my youngest had to have adult fish and chips as no junior scampi was available (I can't believe any restaurant can run out of this stuff as it comes frozen in bags - it must be easy to keep a good stock)
Food took ages to come, but we weren't in a hurry so that was OK for us.
The beef was fantastic, beautifully tender and full of flavour.They fry real potato chips which was a pleasant change from the generic frozen variety steak chip everybody seems now to serve.
We were all full, and the food was worth the wait. Waitresses were friendly but just slightly under attentive. Not really sure if that's such a bad thing though, especially if you're not in a rush, as I can't be doing with serving staff constantly asking if everyhing's OK.
The overall rating doesn't do the food justice, but it is dragged down by poor stocking, and I suspect not everybody will be quite so patient when it comes to delays in service

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barrythebolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Having visited one of the local more pretentious restaurant/pub and found it to be very disappointing, we called in here for a meal one night and what a difference – it was excellent!!
The gentleman at the bar was very welcoming, friendly and very professional. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
We had a starter, main and sweet and they were all excellent. The Goats Cheese tart was beautiful, the Ribeye steak was the tastiest I have ever had and the pudding, sticky toffee pudding was pure indulgence.
I cannot recommend this pub highly enough and it would be the first place I would book when re-visiting Betws-y-Coed. Excellent host, Excellent Food and parking too, which is a bonus for Betws-y-Coed!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real ale”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Looks good from outside and is hubby wanted real ale and only had bottle ale !
Food was ok not fab though sevice slow as one man does it all !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suetaste111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Silver Fountain also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Silver Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing