We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenwood Guest House
Ranked #7 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch Guest House”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for just one night after a hard Snowdon climb and we struck gold! The location is excellent, a short walk into the village and enough off road parking which is useful as parking is quite difficult in town.
Marie and Said are the perfect hosts, friendly and good humoured and they don't miss a trick when it comes to the comfort of their guests. The rooms are a nice size and the beds are of excellent quality.
Clean, homely and welcoming, I would love to stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
144
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We arrived at Glenwood Guest house on Friday7th June, Marie actually came out of the house to
greet my partner and i, and the other two couples whom we had booked our trip with.
We were given a great introduction to the guest house and the surrounding area.
The room was excellent,and very comfortable.
Breakfast was ample and of good variety, in fact as an ex chef i would say fantastic and presented very well.
Marie and Said should be very proud of the way they run Glenwood, our group are in agreement that we would most definately recommend and indeed stay here again.
Thanks again to Marie and Said for making our two nght stay very pleasant.
Mark,Nikki, Adrian,Sharon, Stuart,Ruth.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed at the Glenwood in June. I don't normally stay in b and be as I prefer the anonymity of a hotel but my opinion has changed. Marie, Said and Marie's dad were all lovely. The room was comfy and beautifully presented. I was visiting my daughter who works in Betwys and they made her feel welcome too without ever being intrusive. I had a great stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the Glenwood Guest House at the end of May 2013 for three nights. We had booked a number of rooms to accommodate the whole family and both Marie and Said were the perfect hosts. We changed some of the rooms/arrangements in advance and they were very helpful in sorting everything out. I have stayed in North Wales for a number of years and this is the best B&B I've stayed in! We will definitely be staying there again on our next trip...! Highly Recommend

Room Tip: if you have a family, then the family room looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed there towards the end of April. Great Family suite with separate room for the children. Clean and comfortable.

Breakfasts great, generous portions. Also do pack lunches for walkers. Owners also very friendly and very willing to help or give advice.

The place is on the edge of Betws Y Coed, so 10 - 15 walk to the centre. Betws Y Coed itself is a nice village. Post Office very helpful and the pub serves great food. Get to the pub early or there will be no seats. It's upper market bistro next door is ok but not such good value.

North Wales was great, the train trip from Porthmadog to Caernarfon is definitely one for the enthusiasts. The Welsh mountain zoo was excellent and the kids loved it.

We will be back to see even more, hopefully for longer next time.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Glenwood is on the outskirts of Betws-y-Coed--a short walk from the village centre and as such is in a nice quiet location. We stayed for 2 nights in June. The welcome we got from Said and Marie could not have been warmer--they are great hosts, with nothing being too much trouble. Our room was comfy and had all you could wish for. It was really nice to sit outside, under the Pergola and enjoy a relaxing cup of tea or drink. Breakfasts were again very good, with all a body could want. I asked Marie on arrival, if she could recommend a place to eat. She arranged a table at the Bistro and it was excellent--we ate there 2 nights. Thank you to both of you for a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: we choose room 4 originally but Marie gave us a choice of 4 or 5 , 5 is a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WESTUSAFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Thirteen of us stayed in Betws-Y-Coed, with five of us staying at Glenwood...what a fantastic place to stay.
Three adults shared the family room at Glenwood, which was a double room linked to a room with 3 single beds plus a large bathroom, with roll top bath and separate shower cubicle. Both bedrooms are a really good size, lots of wardrobe space and a sitting area. You are provided with plenty of tea & coffee & biscuits in your room, and plenty of complimentary toiletries in the bathroom.
Marie was really helpful and couldn't do enough, she even allowed the rest of our party to use the back garden for an al fresco dinner & drinks on Saturday evening.
There is a large back garden with tables and chairs for you to use, and some space in the front garden too.
There is also free wi-fi for all guests.
The guest house is a 5 minute walk from the village itself, so a great location. And for anyone wanting to climb Snowdon you can get the local bus from outside Glenwood to take you to the visitor center in Penny Pass, for just £1...bettre that the £10 cap park fee (or the £60 parking fine that I got last year!)
We will definitely go back to stay at Glenwood again, I couldn't recommend it any more.

Room Tip: Room 7, at the front and on the ground floor with two bedrooms and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Guest House

Property: Glenwood Guest House
Address: Glenwood Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Glenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing