We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenwood Guest House
Ranked #9 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon
1 review
“Fabulous B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The Glenwood Guest House was our most favorite B&B on our month-long trip to Britain. Not only were the accommodations lovely and comfortable, and the breakfasts great, the hosts were the absolute best. They were kind, helpful, so friendly, interested in their guests, and had a great sense of humor. They both make the Glenwood a warm and socially friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadalac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
136
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Glenwood in July and we loved it! Great location, well thought out bedroom and ensuite bathroom, and the garden area & large conservatory (with tv and books for guests) were lovely extra spaces to relax in. Owners were so friendly and very knowledgeable about walks in the area and up Snowdon. Highly recommend this friendly B&B, we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

my wife and i stayed 2 nights in room 4 , it was very small and we thought it was overpriced as we payed in cash and got no discount, the couple who own the guest house were very nice and rooms were clean, we had a shower but no bath, breakfast was ok, a wee pit out of village for us so we had to take the car. we used to stay with the couple who owned the b&b before and missed them, wouldnt stay again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31annagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenwoodbyc, Owner at Glenwood Guest House, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Having recently been awarded the Trip Advisor certificate of Excellence award for the second year running, I was saddened by your comments.
All our room sizes comply with the Welsh Tourist Board guest accommodation room requirements and were approved when we were issued with our 4 star grading.
It was never made aware to us that you were dissatisfied with your room, in fact when asked if you were happy, you and your wife were very complimentary of the improvements that have been made since your last visit.
When you made the reservation all the room prices were quoted prior to the booking and being a repeat guest to Glenwood guest House (this being your 4th stay) you will be aware that there have never been any baths in the selected rooms you have stayed in only en-suite showers.
Our location here at Glenwood is favoured by many of our guests as it is in a quieter location yet only 0.4 miles away from the bars and restaurants (approx. 5-7 min walk)
Whilst we appreciate all feedback, we will however not accept derogatory comments in order to obtain a room reduction and a Trip Advisor review without integrity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
729 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We'd intended driving back to Llangollen for the evening, but had enjoyed exploring Betws-y-coed. Because we were actually back tracking to the Snowdon Mountain Railway first, decided to experience somewhere different (I'm a Llangollen addict).
Our hostess was welcoming, friendly and outgoing - she served us freshly brewed coffee and biscuits in the conservatory, once we'd settled into our room.
Recommendations of places to dine in the village and a good knowledge of types of food and prices was really helpful.
The bedroom overlooked the back garden and a chook pen.....I have chooks at home in New Zealand so it was lovely to go and have a chat to the local girlies!
Off the road parking and a 5-10 stroll into the village with its restaurants and bars.
I'd recommend Glenwood and its lovely hostess to any one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKerry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed with our two young sons (aged 4 and 2) and couldn't have asked for better. It's hard to find B&Bs which have adjoining connected rooms so that you can keep an eye on your children while still having a bit of separate space in the evenings, but this was perfect - on the ground floor, with plenty of space in each room and a huge bathroom (we had Room 7).

Marie and Said were perfect hosts - very friendly and welcoming and very understanding of the needs of young families. Our oldest helped collect eggs from the resident chickens, and there were plenty of children's toys in the garden to help burn off any excess energy in the evenings.

The breakfasts were large, varied and delicious too!

Thank you - would definitely recommend Glenwood and use again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We decided that we would have a last minute trip to North Wales on our motorcycles and found this superb Guest House that welcomes bikers with open arms. There is a secure garage at the rear of the property and also a large paved area. The gardens are lovely with great views from the bedrooms, our was to the rear. The Guest house is only a five minute walk to the local pubs and restaurants. The owners welcomed us upon arrival and we were met with a coffee/tea in the conservatory. Would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely B&B. We booked late and therefore had the last twin room left which was slightly on the small side for a 3 day stay but would have been excellent for single night. Room was immaculately clean and very comfortable. Beds were great and everything needed was available including little treats like chocolates with plenty extra.
We were most impressed by the service Marie and Said offered their guests. They truly thought of everything one needs to make you feel welcome and at home and nothing was too much trouble. Said even repaired my bag!!!!!
I can wholeheartedly recommend Glenwood for anyone looking for great, clean, friendly and comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollandladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Guest House

Property: Glenwood Guest House
Address: Glenwood Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Glenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing