We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay, Glenwood is a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenwood Guest House
Ranked #9 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect stay, Glenwood is a gem”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This family run B & B is a gem. We've just returned from a 6-night stay at the Glenwood and wished it could have been for longer. Marie and Said (and Marie's dad who cooks a great breakfast) are lovely people who made us so welcome, we can't thank them enough. They gave us lots of tips about places to visit and local walks so we did plenty of sightseeing and when I wanted a rest from driving, we just relaxed in their lovely garden and even then Marie and Said would pop out and offer us tea, coffee and soft drinks ... it was all perfect! Just to add that the Bodnant Gardens are terrific and Borth-y-Gest (near Porthmadog) was a great find. It has a quiet and pretty bay with a few ice-cream parlours and cafes but best of all is the walk along the coastal path where you'll find lovely sandy beaches with amazing views across to Harlech Castle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen0072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
136
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Glenwood last year for 5 days and were delighted to return for another 3 days at the end of June. This is still one of the best guest houses that we have stayed in and Marie and Said are the perfect hosts. On arrival we were greeted by Said who made us a pot of tea and brought it and some delicious warm welsh cakes out into the garden for us to enjoy in the sunshine. The breakfasts as before were high quality and the residents fridge was useful as it also had milk in for guests to help themselves to during the day (those little pots of milk were supplied in the room, but you can have the fresh milk instead). The rooms are all nicely furnished and the big white fluffy towels are a rare find. We had room 6 this time which is a nice room with 2 single beds, but we had them joined together to make one huge bed! The only downside was the tiny washbasin in the en suite with a glass shelf above - it was really too small to wash your face or clean your teeth in.
It is only an 8-10 minute walk into Betws y coed, so cars can be left in Glenwoods drive.
We look forward to our return to this gem of a guest house.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My partner and I spent three wonderful days in Snowdonia at the end of June. We had the very good fortune of staying at Glenwood House , at Betws Y Coed based on invaluable trip advisor reviews. From the time we arrived Said and Marie were perfect hosts, we were greeted with ice cold orange juice, shown our immaculate room overlooking their beautiful garden and given invaluable information about the surrounding area. The room proved to be superbly comfortable with fluffy white towels, great decor, locally produced teas and coffee, scrumptious biscuits and chocolate mints each day! The breakfast was outstanding, having chosen the traditional on two mornings with really excellent quality produce cooked to perfection and smoked salmon with scrambled egg on the last day which was just amazing! (The locally produced yoghurts are a must)
During my stay I celebrated my birthday and after Marie and Said found out they gave me a gorgeous card and a box of chocolates, simply so thoughtful and so very special! We are so impressed with Glenwood House and with the genuine warmth and kindness of Said and Marie we have not stopped talking about it since our return home. A number of our friends will definitely be staying there now and we can not wait to go back, we genuinely feel like you enter as guests and leave as friends. What an amazing couple running an outstanding guest house, in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. Said and Marie we thank and salute you for making our stay extra special and we are looking forward to staying with you again soon and to our ever reliable trip advisor reviewers we thank you too for helping us find this gem on the gate to Snowdonia.

Room Tip: Room two overlooking the wonderful garden and had fabulous decor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for only one night but was very tempted to book another, too bad it was a Sunday! The house its self is in beautiful location and very easy to find, the breakfast was great and the service was excellent. We had an awful afternoon after getting lost on Snowdon Mountain because of the fog and I had to get my mum to ring them to ask if we could check in later than half 10! Because we were 14 miles in thee wrong direction, but they had no problem at all with this and Marie was even there to greet us when we pulled up at god knows what time, also they still let us pick what we'd like for breakfast and promised to fill us up! As we'd missed any chance of a pub meal, Marie told us we could help ourselves to cereal and milk after we'd got settled! Said, in the morning greeted us as he'd heard about our ordeal and he was incredibly lovely. Like I said, lovely guesthouse, cannot recommend it enough, the food and owners couldn't have been better, definitely will be returning here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We are 6 lady bikers who meet up once a year for a long weekend. Glenwood House was our first venue - and four years later, we've returned as NOTHING has matched up to it.
We've been completely ruined for any other B&B - comfy beds, Fluffy White Towels, great breakfasts - but what makes Glenwood so special is that attention to detail.
When we arrived, from our several corners of the UK - Said came out with a tray of tea whilst we were parking and sorting out our gear - such a lovely welcome.
We could have spent the weekend just lazing in their sunny garden, to be honest...
Marie turned herself inside out trying to book us taxis and a restaurant that we'd eaten in during our last stay. The timings weren't right for us - but we so appreciated her going the extra mile. x
Then to top it all - Said zoomed into Betws in his car whilst we were having dinner, to tell us that one of our bikes had its light on - and then brought her back after she'd sorted it.
All in all - top service.
Can't fault it.
We've decided to stop looking for other venues and just use this one!!! (and the roads are brilliant too :) )

Room Tip: The big family room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadgetGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have just come back home from a 3 night stay at the Glenwood Guest House in Betwys y Coed. What great place it was too. We were welcomed by Said with tea and welsh cakes in the sunny garden. This set the tone for the rest of our stay, where nothing was too much trouble and friendly smiles met every encounter.
We were a party of 6 female bikers. We were given secure parking and the use of a large locked garage for those who wanted it. The parking was flat and we had no issues or complaints.
Our rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The breakfast first rate.
North Wales is spectacular in its natural beauty and we loved it.
What more could you ask for!
Thank you Marie and Said, we'll be back and we will certainly recommend you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first visit to Glenwood Guest House and hopefully it will NOT be our last. Said and Marie are so friendly and helpful. They have thought of all the little touches which makes a stay here very special. There was a good choice of breakfast and everything was delicious. House and garden lovely with ample parking and in a very convenient spot for exploring the area.

Room Tip: Nice views on all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kksavory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
685 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
1,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenwood Guest House

Property: Glenwood Guest House
Address: Glenwood Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenwood Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing