We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Carvery”
Review of The Gwydyr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gwydyr Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Thank you to the staff for a lovely Carvery and great service! We celebrated my nains 70th birthday and everyone was impressed being this was only the first day of the Carvery good luck we will definitely be back! My daughter was also pleased with the games supplied!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you all had a great time. Your Nain certainly did not look her 70 years! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We turned up last minute on a warm Sunday lunch time, having not booked, we thought we'd be lucky to get anything much....Well we were so impressed...
We all loved the food...We went for traditional roast - there was a very reasonable 2 course 'Deal'....Loved the decor & so brilliant for a hot summers day - nice & cool......Hate to say this, but we were surprised how few people there were in the large lounge/restaurant area, it was probably to our benefit because we got very good personalised service & didn't have to wait long for our food....Just hope for the Gwydyr Hotel's sake, Betws-y-Coed's 'Best kept Secret' gets out - so all those hot,thirsty travellers can find how really 'Cool ' The Gwydyr Hotel Bar/ Lounge area has become !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your Sunday Lunch experience at the Gwydyr Hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed your meal. We are now serving a Sunday carvery from 12-3pm which is extremely popular and booking is advised to guarantee a seat so we hope we will see you again soon! Thank you once again for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was ok for the price (although we did stay in similar priced ones that had made more of an effort). The mattress was very uncomfortable and I could feel the springs digging into my ribs. The tab was dripping and my mother stayed in a different room where she couldn't entirely close the bathroom window. On the other hand, we did like the lovely old building and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manonwelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gwydyr Hotel, I am sorry that you felt we did not make more of an effort. Our hotel rooms are work in progress and this is reflected in the room rate for a licensed hotel in Betws y Coed. We plan to renovate the bedrooms over the winter period and this too is mentioned on our website. Our aim is for all our guests to have a good nights rest in a comfortable bed, to have hearty, tasty, local produce, served in a relaxed, warm and friendly environment. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

You could not ask for a more helpful set of staff / owner
The whole of the downstairs has been upgraded, it's pleasant, modern & clean. Breakfast was a full English & as good as anywhere, a good size & well cooked :-)
The location in the village is central.
The only downfall is the bedroom & bathroom needs updating, the room was spacious & clean

I left my passport at the hotel, with passport in :-( thankfully they were very kind to post t all back to me.

I'M very sure that once they have completed their upgrades of the upstairs & serve main meals, it will be right up 10/10

Good luck to the owner, I would recommend your hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deaf2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Gwydyr Hotel. I am so pleased you got your beautiful handbag and passport back safely. Thank you again for your valued feedback it all helps towards us improving the overall customer experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights - we were doing some walking in the National park and it was a great base. The hotel is clearly under refurbishment. The downstairs has been done, it still needs some softening as it all floorboards and newness, few soft furnishing would make it feel more cosy. The room we got was poor - although clean bedding - the bathroom had a bath which was in a terrible state, small with the sink in the bedroom not the bathroom. There are a few little thing s that could make the difference, biscuits/tea facilities in the room were sparse and a bit rough. Breakfast was good but not using packets of butter and jam sachets/plastic pots would be more reflective of the effort that has been made on the decor. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. I wish them luck in the continued refurb and would like to visit again one day to see how it ended up.

Room Tip: ask for one that has been refurbished - wish I had
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to review the Gwydyr Hotel. We are indeed work in progress as our website and reviews suggest. The bedrooms and bathrooms are part of our ongoing renovation works. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the butter and jam portions at breakfast or the complimentary tea tray in your room, your comments have been duly noted. Thank you once again for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Gwydyr for our mini moon last week. We had just got married in chester and wanted somewhere to stay that wasn't too far away.
Upon our arrival, we were presented with a beautifully refurbished room and bathroom. Our stay was made even more perfect when we were treated to a 'just married' card, flowers and chilled prosecco! What a treat! That certainly helped our stay to start well. All of the staff were made aware that our stay was a special celebration - they were all so very lovely! The restaurant looked great and our breakfast the next morning was super (made even better by having gluten free bread for my husband)

All in all, the Gwydyr hotel is a beautiful place and we can't wait to see the hotel once the remaining refurbishments awe complete. A true gem!

Room Tip: A little gem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manielle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Gwydyr Hotel. We were honored that you chose our venue for your mini-moon and had such a great time. Wishing you both years of wedded bliss together, and hopefully you'll be back when our renovations are complete for an anniversary celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We only popped in for lunch, but we enjoyed a very good meal here.
The pate we had for starter was excellent, and the quantity was perfect. I would guess it was made by the chef rather than bought in.
The roast dinner of Welsh lamb was also excellent. The lamb was beautifully soft and tender.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The meal took a little while to arrive, but the menu clearly states that all the meals are cooked freshly by the chef to order, so we didn't have a problem with that, and it was certainly worth the wait.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your dining experience at the Gwydyr Hotel. We are so delighted you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch. You were quite correct in your assumption that the Pate was indeed homemade on the premises. We do not specialise in fast food so our food takes a little longer to get to the table, however it is freshly prepared to order and we hope that is reflected in the flavour and presentation. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
798 reviews
2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwydyr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwydyr Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £72 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gwydyr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gwydyr Hotel is a Family, Pet Friendly Hotel which offers home-made, hearty, wholesome lunches and dinners using local Welsh Produce. All dietary needs catered for. Come and sit by the cosy log fires and read the weekend papers, or why not enjoy the sunshine, sit outside with a local Ale, watch the world go by and soak up the outstanding scenery in the centre of Betws y Coed. Free Parking Available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gwydyr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gwydyr Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing