We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Sunday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gwydyr Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gwydyr Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel, great location with easy parking. New owners making some fantastic headway with updating the hotel. Very friendly staff and breakfast was excellent, walked around the village after breakfast what a lovely place to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Gwydyr Hotel, we are delighted you had a lovely stay and thank you for returning....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    58
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
78
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Get past the fact that everything is not perfect, YET, (old reviews) MOST of it is really up to date.Your room will be spotless. A most comfortable bed & a very quiet room. GREAT PARKING. You can walk through the entire village from here. Enjoy the very generous portions of food, you can eat outside also and people watch. The BEST POACHED EGGS EVER & for once I didn't have to produce my own hot chocolate mix! Very friendly owners, Dawn & Rob and, their really kind & helpful staff, Michael, Shannon, Ruth & Hayden. DO ask about the "Whingeing Women"!! Would have been nice to see Molly. Will be back soon with my friend from Florida, also named Molly.

Great very inexpensive book shop by the railway station. Loved Swallow Falls as it was very full after a lot of rain. Gwydir Castle & grounds worth a visit with all the peacocks. Just park by the wall by the little door in the wall !! Portmeirion Village is a real treat also. Nice pottery shop at the far end of Betws-y-Coed.

I SO enjoyed my stay. Can't wait to return.Thank you all.

Room Tip: 2nd. floor, at the back is v. quiet, but then I think the ones at the front are also very quiet. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
The pleasure was all ours. You are a lovely lady and a joy to be around. We all look forward to meeting you and your friend Molly in the Autumn and I promise to introduce you to our Molly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel room no 20 We paid £65 room only and considering we arrived late we were glad to have somewere available. We except this as average, the room size was average and clean. However we had the worst night sleep and horrendous back pain the next morning with the mattress. It had a dip in it and ruined the rest of our weekend. The staff were pleasant and we did complain about the matress the next morning, however we believe the bed is one thing that should be comfortable - we hope this is rectified.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliehanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I can confirm, following your valued feedback, the mattress has now been replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Thank you to the staff for a lovely Carvery and great service! We celebrated my nains 70th birthday and everyone was impressed being this was only the first day of the Carvery good luck we will definitely be back! My daughter was also pleased with the games supplied!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you all had a great time. Your Nain certainly did not look her 70 years! Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We turned up last minute on a warm Sunday lunch time, having not booked, we thought we'd be lucky to get anything much....Well we were so impressed...
We all loved the food...We went for traditional roast - there was a very reasonable 2 course 'Deal'....Loved the decor & so brilliant for a hot summers day - nice & cool......Hate to say this, but we were surprised how few people there were in the large lounge/restaurant area, it was probably to our benefit because we got very good personalised service & didn't have to wait long for our food....Just hope for the Gwydyr Hotel's sake, Betws-y-Coed's 'Best kept Secret' gets out - so all those hot,thirsty travellers can find how really 'Cool ' The Gwydyr Hotel Bar/ Lounge area has become !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your Sunday Lunch experience at the Gwydyr Hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed your meal. We are now serving a Sunday carvery from 12-3pm which is extremely popular and booking is advised to guarantee a seat so we hope we will see you again soon! Thank you once again for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel was ok for the price (although we did stay in similar priced ones that had made more of an effort). The mattress was very uncomfortable and I could feel the springs digging into my ribs. The tab was dripping and my mother stayed in a different room where she couldn't entirely close the bathroom window. On the other hand, we did like the lovely old building and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manonwelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Gwydyr Hotel, I am sorry that you felt we did not make more of an effort. Our hotel rooms are work in progress and this is reflected in the room rate for a licensed hotel in Betws y Coed. We plan to renovate the bedrooms over the winter period and this too is mentioned on our website. Our aim is for all our guests to have a good nights rest in a comfortable bed, to have hearty, tasty, local produce, served in a relaxed, warm and friendly environment. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

You could not ask for a more helpful set of staff / owner
The whole of the downstairs has been upgraded, it's pleasant, modern & clean. Breakfast was a full English & as good as anywhere, a good size & well cooked :-)
The location in the village is central.
The only downfall is the bedroom & bathroom needs updating, the room was spacious & clean

I left my passport at the hotel, with passport in :-( thankfully they were very kind to post t all back to me.

I'M very sure that once they have completed their upgrades of the upstairs & serve main meals, it will be right up 10/10

Good luck to the owner, I would recommend your hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaf2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707DawnH777, Owner at The Gwydyr Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Gwydyr Hotel. I am so pleased you got your beautiful handbag and passport back safely. Thank you again for your valued feedback it all helps towards us improving the overall customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwydyr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwydyr Hotel

Property: The Gwydyr Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gwydyr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gwydyr Hotel is a Family, Pet Friendly Hotel which offers home-made, hearty, wholesome lunches and dinners using local Welsh Produce. All dietary needs catered for. Come and sit by the cosy log fires and read the weekend papers, or why not enjoy the sunshine, sit outside with a local Ale, watch the world go by and soak up the outstanding scenery in the centre of Betws y Coed. Free Parking Available at the rear of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Gwydyr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gwydyr Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing