We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the steak shines!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I was told the steak was very good here by the owners of the B&B in Betws, where I was staying for ten days.I wasn't disappointed.I chose to sit in the restaurant rather than the rowdy bar where most people were watching the Olympic Games on tv and consuming typical pub fare.
The very polite manager was French and I was able to chat a little with him in his own language

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank iorwerth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

we went there on a sunday
for a family meal,the waiter did not speak english let alone welsh! very slow service ,walking out would have been justified! the food was bland ,the salad was supposed to be a main course but it was a few leaves tossed on a big plate ,the mixed grill was charcoaled, the kids ham and egg lacked the egg
we were not amused.
we eat out weekly as a family but

we won't be going back and that's for sure.

why don't you employ nice local welsh staff who are known for politeness and civility. and ask your chef ..would you honestly eat this?

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merchyllyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

we visited Betws Y Coed for a day trip, and wanted something nice for lunch, eventually we popped into the Pont Y Pair, at first we were a little concerned as it was so quiet in there but I believe in giving everywhere at least one go! We order a bar snack for 2 adults and 2 children, The bar attender was very polite and accommodating. The meal arrived quickly and we were very very pleased with the quality of the ingredients, and the kids where very happy! especially with the ice creams! I was quite surprised at the bill and even asked 'are you sure you've added the drinks onto it'! Food was delicious and great value and we will definately be returning. Thank you Pont Y Pair Hotel. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Visited Betws-y-coed for the long weekend. Were due to stay at another B&B however they guided us to Pont-y-pair.. The hotel is average in ambiance, having said that it provides well for, more than ones basic requirements of a place.
Surely it is clean, facilitated with very polite staff. Specially enjoyed the recommendations received from Antonie (if I spelt it right ;)) who attends to the bar & reception in general.
The place has a good bar & snooker table & seems to be buzzing with activity all night long.. So a lively place. Will definately recommend it.!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

after we had a days walking in snowdonia we stayed at the royal oak hotel last night. went for a stroll round the town having a few drinks here and there in the evening. went to the ty gwyn for a meal based on the tripadvisor reviews, but they were full booked and we could not eat or drink there. one of the male staff members recommended eating at the pont-y-pair hotel, so we walked back up the road to this establishment. we went into the bar rather than the restauraunt.
only a small menu of hearty pub type grub, but we ordered at the bar and sat down to watch some of the olympics.
my dad ordered a chicken, garlic and bacon dish with chips, i ordered the pie of the day with chips. the pie was steak and ale and i am sure it had more than 16oz of steak in it. it was massive and delicious. the handcut chips and veg were also very good.
my dads meal was also very good. we both struggled to finish our plates as there was so much.
highly recommend this place for an inexpensive hearty meal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fireblade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Went to restaurant, did not stay at hotel. Very good food in a pub atmosphere. Good quality and price. Daily specials are especially good deals. Nice salads. Food not too salty which is great when traveling.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank gjcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

NOTE: this is just about their restaurant - we did not stay overnight
Our meals were overwhelmingly good although we really did not expect that. The place is totally unpretentious inside and outside but don't be fooled by that: their cuisine has a fine French twist and everything we had was absolutely fantastic.
The only downside was that they had run out on some of the menu options or parts of them. They had no Yorkshire puddings for the beef left but said it would not be replaced - it would just come without. We thought it was a bit clumsy as surely they could add mash or new potatoes instead. You cannot just not serve a third of the meal?
Overall - service leaves room for improvement although the staff is lovely.
Food definitely as good as it gets in Betws y Coed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-zonemaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pont-y-Pair Hotel And Restaurant Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing