We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Ordered a prawn cocktail arrived with no bread and butter the waiter didnt even know if bread an butter came with it ...came back with the tiniest piece of baguette the butter was bigger than it obviously just rustled up from the kitchen(quickly to shut us up ) we than had a main meal I ordered a steak medium to well done ...one side of the steak was about one centimetre and the other side bout an inch thick and blood was pouring out ...came to clear tables wasn't even asked if everything was ok I had to complain about the steak ...the waitress went to the kitchen gave a feeble excuse and wasn't really apologetic and asked if we wanted a free drink or a sweet ....didn't want to stay and find out what the sweet was like so obviously we didn't need another drink ..thought that we would have been offered a discount on the bill ....NO ..VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE wouldn't have minded if it was busy there was only bout 12 people in the whole bar.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank swhughes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

on arrival we was kept waiting outside for 15 minutes we arrived at 2pm as this is what time we was told when booking hotel.the hotel is situated in a nice location,the room we were given wasn't what we ask for we asked for a double but got 2 singles,on the booking form it did say double room, the room was clean with small tv,there's a kettle and tea/coffee in the room. the window is secondary double glazing but we couldn't close it at night,we didn't hear any noise from the bar downstairs, breakfast was brilliant ,Betws-y-Coed is a very nice place ti visit across from the hotel is a fish and chip shop well worth a visit too, please note the there is only one parking space at the hotel we had to park in the local car park over the bridge, i wouldn't book this hotel again as its not suitable for disabled and my wife is.

Room Tip: make sure you get a double if you have booked one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crewe02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Located in betws y coed reasonable accommodation faulted by no parking
Shower in en suite need repair and window did not open
Heating radiator needs attention
Breakfasts were ok evening meals ok in bar but waited an hour on second night so went elsewhere on our last night

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Lovely warm welcome, we were shown to our room, which was clean and fresh. It was a spacious double room with a nice clean en-suite and fantastic shower! The bed was very comfortable. We could hear the wonderful waterfall which was lovely. We stayed and had a meal at the bar and the food was absolutely delicious. The breakfast was the same! The staff couldn't do enough for us, they were fantastic. We will defiantly be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Love this friendly b n b
Friendly owners
Inn refurbished
Clean
Warm
Lovely in Bewts y coed

Food amazing
Veg platter mmmm scrumptious
Great value
Lovely spot by the waterfalls
One of our favourite welsh b n bs

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for 1 night in a family room and had a lovely short break. There isn't parking here but it's easy to park up nearby for free. The rooms were clean and comfortable - a little dated but the new owners are to refurbish and I'm sure they will do an excellent job. We didn't eat at the bar in the evening but had a drink in the afternoon and were made to feel welcome with our 3 year old. The next morning we had a delicious cooked breakfast. The only negative was that the place was quiet so a little lacking in atmosphere (especially at breakfast) but I'm sure it will be bustling in season. We look forward to returning after the refurbishment (and hope it's still affordable for young families).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachetmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here with my wife for a couple of nights. The welcome was warm, the room a good size and with massive windos letting in lots of light. En-suite shower room was good and gave an indication of the standard that the hotel will reach when the refurbishment is complete in March 2014.

The bar was generally well-stocked, though no real ales were on. Both guests and locals seemed to be drinking there, which is a good sign. Breakfast was good, though my wofe would have liked fruit to be offered as well as the usual cereal, toast and cooked breakfast. I had the cooked breakfast, with was freshly cooked and of good qulaity.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
1.7 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pont-y-Pair Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pont-y-Pair Hotel And Restaurant Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing