We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bikers Delight”

Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair
Ranked #21 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bikers Delight”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Even though it was probably 8yrs ago since I last visited this chippie, I still remember what a great place it was to visit, & the fish was better than average.(much better than the other chippie by the old railway station.)
We took our fish'n'chips around the side & sat by the little stone bridge over the river, & it's one of those memories that will stick with me forever.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BritmickUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    15
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blythe Bridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“And I am not that fond of fish and chips...but wow!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What you see is what you get. Friendly staff, freshly cooked, tasty food and service with a smile.
I am not that keen on chips..or chip shops... but the husband however, loves them, especially on holidays!
We sat in the small cafe area and he had freshly cooked fish and chips. They looked delicious, a good sized fish, lovely golden not soggy batter and flaky fish; husband pronounced them, excellent!
I had a serving of chips and cheese. Cheese came.. loads of it beautifully grated and in a small dish..( I asked for it not to be on top of the chips.. no problem). The chips were simply delicious. Fluffy inside, crispy outside and all a good size...no horrid little hard end bits! Yummy!
Portions are very generous, so go in with a good appetite. Eat in or take away. Loads of regulars popping in and obviously popular.
All the choices you would expect and then some. All day breakfast, various baps, sandwiches, children's menu and even salads. Spotlessly clean, simple and unspoilt. Do not pass it by it is really worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G2R4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nicest fish and chips in ages”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Freshly cooked fish and chips with a smile. Honestly the nicest I have tasted in a long time. Light crunchy batter and fresh fish - plus perfect chips. 2 portions of fish and chips, one mushy peas and 2 diet cokes was £11. Worth every penny

Ideal to eat on the rocks by the river or take back to your B&B as we did!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“take away very good”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we had take away from here on 4 occasions. twice fish & chips and twice just fish. the fish is excellent. a nice thin batter but crispy. (better like that than thick stodgy batter). it is freshly cooked and piping hot. the fish had a lovely flavour and texture. would recommend highly especially if you don't want the bother of cooking or sitting in a restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfort food in a fun setting”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife had Welsh Stew. I had Fetuccine with ham and parmesan (a.k.a. Fetuccine Alfredo) and we both enjoyed our meals. The dining room was large and open, the service excellent. It was not a romantic place, but it was very good!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BornToTravel1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Hen Siop Pont-Y-Pair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing