We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy bank holiday last minute & last chance booking.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary's Court Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mary's Court Guest House
Ranked #19 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Busy bank holiday last minute & last chance booking.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Having a surprising call from our son to say he was going to emigrate to New Zealand and wanted a weekend away with us on a busy bank holiday in May was enough to turn my hair grey.. Using the internet and mobile phone to try to find accommodation in Betwys-y-Coed was a nightmare until I glimpsed 'Please ring us if you need one night, we can often help with your requirements' and rang Mairlys guest house. Low and behold they had a small double room with en suite. The Guest house was within easy walking distance from the shops and attractions, had parking and served a super breakfast. Fabulous! Thank you so much for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good and the website states a compact room or standard. Lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 321TJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mobo26, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks so much for your review. Its always worth a call to us and we will do our best to help out.
Glad we could help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    23
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
93
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Thank you both for a wonderful weekend. A very warm welcome great rooms. Sitting room is very comfortable, and the breakfast was perfect. Location is great you can walk to all pubs and restaurants. We shall come again. Ceri Jan

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deepsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mobo26, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our home cooked breakfasts as we buy only local Welsh produce from an award winning butcher and he never lets us down! Hope to see you here again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is at least our third stay at Mairlys, and we weren't disappointed. We arrived during one of the coldest weeks of the year with snow forecast but we had a warm welcome as always from Marian and Bernard and quickly settled into the cosy lounge for the evening. The room was as always, spotlessly clea, comfortable and warm, equipped with everything we could possibly need.
After a hearty breakfast, including several different homemade jams, we went off for a fantastic walk around a nearby lake, recommended by Bernard, followed by a lovely lunch in a local pub.
Another comfortable night was followed by yet another tasty breakfast.
Mairlys is ideally located just as you enter the village and is just a short walk from all the local shops, cafes and pubs. We wouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmaSK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Me and my two friends stayed for 2 nights. We all were very pleased with hospitality. Marian and Bernard are both such warm and open hearted persons and it`s hard to not fall their charms:)
They were so helpful and we spend great time in their BB.

I hope I´ll see you again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mobo26, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thank you for your kind review and so pleased you enjoyed your time here at Mairlys in Betws-y-Coed. We loved having you from Estonia and hearing all about your country. We hope you got back safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed here during the long weekend in August. Couldnt have chosen a better place. The hosts Bernard and Marian are warm and very welcoming. Got around much easily around Wales much easily due to them. The breakfast was great and rooms clean. If this was not enough, Bernard did a half-day tour around wales, where we had some breathtaking views of wales, and some stories. All in all, a good stay, recommend this place to anyone visiting wales.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saket_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed at Mairlys a couple of weeks ago with two friends from Estonia and can thoroughly recommend this excellent B&B. Very nice, clean, up to date rooms, comfortable lounge, and a superb breakfast (my Estonian friends particularly enjoyed the welsh cakes). Marian and Bernard couldn't have been more accommodating, and had a great deal of local knowledge and information available to aid and assist us in finding the most appropriate walks and places to visit. I can't recommend them highly enough and my friends and I felt entirely at home in this very comfortable, and affordable, guest house.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mobo26, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
We much appreciate your great review. We really try to make everyone's stay at Mairlys a comforable one and we are pleased to know that our local knowledge of Snowdonia was put to good use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llwyngwril
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at Mairlys last week and would thoroughly recommend Marian and Bernard's guest house to anyone looking for comfort, hospitality and good location. The room was lovely with a great view, the breakfast was yummy and both Marian and Bernard have a wealth of local knowledge to help advise you on the best places to go.Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeLlwyngwril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mobo26, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Many thanks for your review - it was great having you with us and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glyntwrog House
Glyntwrog House
#15 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Court Guest House

Property: Mary's Court Guest House
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mary's Court Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary's Court Guest House is a beautiful 4 star Bed and Breakfast, ideally situated in the heart of Betws-y-Coed, the 'Gateway' to the Snowdonia National Park. Just a short walk from Mary's Court and you will be in the centre of the village, with easy access to all its amenities, public transport and forest trails. We are a friendly, family-run guest house offering 7 double bedrooms. 2 of which can be booked at a reduced single occupancy rate, 3 of the rooms have king-size beds, one on the ground floor, one with a balcony overlooking Snowdonia's Gwydyr Forest, and one with a bath and over-bath shower. All rooms have en-suite shower rooms, and come equipped with freeview TV, complimentary toiletries, complimentary tea and coffee, a hairdryer and a radio/alarm clock. All rooms are tastefully decorated with comfy beds, crisp white bed linen and fluffy towels. For guests comfort we are centrally heated, double glazed and are completely no smoking. We also offer our guests a guest lounge area with books, games and freeview TV, a convenient village location, off street parking, free wi-fi, golf/bike storage with wash down facilities and packed lunches with complimentary flask filling. We have been awarded 'Walkers' and 'Cyclists Welcome' accreditation by Visit Wales and can offer secure storage for your bikes and walking equipment, or if you prefer golf or fishing we can accommodate those too. Our off street private parking allows you to unload whatever kit and equipment you may have right at the front door. • Visit Wales 4 Star. • 5 Star Food Hygiene Certificate. • Walkers Welcome Award. • Cyclists Welcome Award. • Snowdonia Society Member. • Private Off Street Parking. • Balcony Room Overlooking the Gwydyr Forest. • Room with Bath. • Ground Floor Room. • King Size Beds in 3 Rooms. • Residents Lounge. • Non Smoking. • Pack-Ups Available. • Complimentary Flask Filling. • Free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mary's Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary's Court Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing