We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Betws-y-Coed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mary's Court Guest House
Ranked #20 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in the Mairlys for one night, after struggling to find a B&B in the area which would allow a one night stay at a weekend. The Mairlys did just that!

The guest house is easy to find, just off the main road on the outskirks (5 mins walk) to the shops and restaurants.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to our room - the superior with balcony. The room was clean and warm. We didn't get to use the balcony much as it was raining the entire time we were there but with the views of the forest opposite I imagine it would be lovely in summer. Our only comments were that the bathroom was on the tight side and the TV was tiny; but these things didn't affect our stay.

Breakfast was very nice - a good choice and the Welsh Breakfast was lovely. We overheard the owner giving other guests some great tips on walks and the weather - they know their stuff. For the price we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pontypool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Mary's Court Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

After a very long Friday journey from Kent to Wales, we received a warm welcome by Bernard - even though it was 11pm! This guest house has a very homely feeling and you are made to feel that nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was super and plenty to set you up for the day ahead. Perfect location for Snowdon and Bernard was able to give us lots of helpful information to plan the day and weather updates which actually became invaluable. Friendly hosts, comfortable room and super, super clean. What's not to like? Will be back at Easter as didn't manage to reach the top of Snowdon (weather got the better of us 20 minutes before the summit) but like Bernard quite rightly pointed out ... Snowdon will still be there when we return.

Room Tip: We took the basic room, was fab and super clean, but maybe will pay the extra next time for a bit mo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentChuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have enjoyed staying here twice, it is in a great location and has a warm and welcoming feel to it. The rooms are quiet and the hosts attentive. The room heated up very quickly (thankfully) and the breakfast room and food quality was generally impressive. If you are quite tall or well proportioned you will fine it near impossible to fit in the shower and may also struggle with the bed size. In our room the shower door was also broken (room 3). The TV is also tiny so the program information is impossible to see from the bed- a little frustrating. The breakfast menu request form needs amending as it is not designed for more than one and the time slots for breakfast are very limited.The breakfasts were of good quality in general however and it was nice we were allowed to amend our requests slightly. The gentlemen owner was very particular but informative of local attractions and where to go to eat out or for general walks. His wife was delightful. Overall a good stay but could do with a few improvements to bring it inline with other places.

Room Tip: Be aware of the bathroom / shower sizes of certain rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairlys2014, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your valued comments and observations. We have recent taken over at Mairlys and have already begun making several improvements to all rooms. With regards to the shower door in Room 3, this has been replaced and the breakfast menu has been amended to allow more choices. We have also made it clearer on our website regarding the size of the rooms and although your en-suite is small it has been refreshed. We do have previous experience within the village in running a Bed & Breakfast and hope to welcome you in the future should you choose to stay with us. Once again many thanks for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Mairlys Guest House is in a prime location for hikers, walkers, and couples who want a lovely home for a getaway. The owners were both very gracious and helpful as we planned our two days in Betws-y-Coed. They served a full Welsh breakfast -- or as much of one as you could eat -- and also had a well-stocked breakfast bar for those wanting lighter fare. Their off-street parking was appreciated and accessibility to the village, to the train station, and to hiking trails make it an ideal vacation place. The home was built in the 1860s and the bedrooms and bathrooms were quite small, but still a good value for the price.

Room Tip: We were in Superior Room (#2) with a balcony. It was the best of their offerings.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornToTravel1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife, my four year old and myself have just returned from a 3 night stay at Mairlys. Lovely guest house situated a couple of minutes walk from the middle of Betws-y-Coed. Bernard and Marian were great hosts, very friendly and welcoming. Bernard in particular was very helpful in sharing his knowledge of the local area and things to do. Breakfast was great, really set you up for the day, we only had the full cooked breakfast but there was fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals on offer in addition to this. We stayed in Room No 2, the superior with king size bed, ensuite and balcony, very comfortable and although, like people have mentioned the rooms are compact we felt it was fine, especially when considering we had an active, playful 4 yr old with us. It was lovely sitting on the balcony in the evening. Yes it overlooked a fairly busy road but not so noisy that it really bothered us at all. Very clean and the rooms serviced daily and kept stock with tea, coffee and biscuits.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Recently stayed for 3 lovely nights at Mairlys Guest House where we and our friends occupied 2 of the double rooms. As other have comments Bernard and Marian could not have made the stay more homely, brilliant hosts.
The rooms were a little on the tight side but every possible care was taken to supply just about adequate drawer and wardrobe space. The rooms were maintained on a daily basis and could not be beaten for the freshness and cleanliness we returned to each evening.
Breakfast was a joy, set you up for the day. The Guest House was well positioned with a short walk into the town and that was really convenient as you could leave the car there. But this was at a cost as the room was very warm, and having to have the windows opened, the road was noisy. But would return as I can't believe we'll have this heat wave for at least another 10 years and I would be able to close the windows!! Don't be put off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie1825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and had the compact room which was perfect for us. It was small but well thought out, with cupboard/wardrobe and ensuite. Double bed was comfy and room clean. Can't fault the room at all. Breakfast was fine and Bernard and Marian were very welcoming and friendly. Well situated in the village. Would definitely stay again in the compact room!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mobo26, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thanks for your great comments. We are pleased you liked the room. It is compact but is fine for shorter breaks. Hope to see you again at Mairlys before to long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
18 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Court Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL27 0AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £71 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mary's Court Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary's Court Guest House is situated in the centre of Betws-y-Coed, a picturesque village in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park and offers free wi-fi, off-road parking and views onto the scenic surroundings. Each room at Mary's Court offers free wi-fi, an en-suite shower room, flat-screen TV, a hairdryer, hospitality tray and complimentary toiletries. At breakfast, guests can choose from a full cooked option or a continental buffet. Fresh, local produce is used wherever possible, and special dietary needs can be catered for with advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mary's Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary's Court Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing