We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mairly guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mary's Court Guest House
Ranked #19 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We had a wonderfull stay and where welcomed with a drink and nothing was too much trouble.lynn rang round local restaurants to find us some were to eat.the breakfast was very good and we would definitely recommend mairlys to our friends and stay again if in the area

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jhlune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marys-Court, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Once again many thanks, Lynn and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had king size bed ? Ensuite nearly touched SMALL KINGSIZE BED. Breakfast was not the best.
Room was clean, hostess was very welcoming.
Room had excellent views and was ideally situated for the village.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jane2195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marys-Court, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Although not totally satisfied with your stay we are glad that you found the room clean with excellent views and ideally situated for the village. We do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, many thanks, Lynn and David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

we stayed at the guest house last august. and had a nice time.
the guest house has now changed ownership and we found the new owners very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
they made us a cup of tea on our arrival and offered to make up flasks of tea for our trip home.
the breakfast lovely
next time we go to betws y coed we will be staying here

david and pat Lawton

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marys-Court, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2016

Thank you David and Pat for taking the time to write such a nice a review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor, especially as it’s our first review since taking over the business in March 2014. As you know we have previously owned and run a similar bed and breakfast in Betws-y-Coed since 2005, but it’s always lovely to hear such positive comments from our guests, especially in our new venture. We do hope to see you again soon, Lynn & David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed in the Mairlys for one night, after struggling to find a B&B in the area which would allow a one night stay at a weekend. The Mairlys did just that!

The guest house is easy to find, just off the main road on the outskirks (5 mins walk) to the shops and restaurants.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival and shown to our room - the superior with balcony. The room was clean and warm. We didn't get to use the balcony much as it was raining the entire time we were there but with the views of the forest opposite I imagine it would be lovely in summer. Our only comments were that the bathroom was on the tight side and the TV was tiny; but these things didn't affect our stay.

Breakfast was very nice - a good choice and the Welsh Breakfast was lovely. We overheard the owner giving other guests some great tips on walks and the weather - they know their stuff. For the price we were very satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pontypool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

After a very long Friday journey from Kent to Wales, we received a warm welcome by Bernard - even though it was 11pm! This guest house has a very homely feeling and you are made to feel that nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was super and plenty to set you up for the day ahead. Perfect location for Snowdon and Bernard was able to give us lots of helpful information to plan the day and weather updates which actually became invaluable. Friendly hosts, comfortable room and super, super clean. What's not to like? Will be back at Easter as didn't manage to reach the top of Snowdon (weather got the better of us 20 minutes before the summit) but like Bernard quite rightly pointed out ... Snowdon will still be there when we return.

Room Tip: We took the basic room, was fab and super clean, but maybe will pay the extra next time for a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentChuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have enjoyed staying here twice, it is in a great location and has a warm and welcoming feel to it. The rooms are quiet and the hosts attentive. The room heated up very quickly (thankfully) and the breakfast room and food quality was generally impressive. If you are quite tall or well proportioned you will fine it near impossible to fit in the shower and may also struggle with the bed size. In our room the shower door was also broken (room 3). The TV is also tiny so the program information is impossible to see from the bed- a little frustrating. The breakfast menu request form needs amending as it is not designed for more than one and the time slots for breakfast are very limited.The breakfasts were of good quality in general however and it was nice we were allowed to amend our requests slightly. The gentlemen owner was very particular but informative of local attractions and where to go to eat out or for general walks. His wife was delightful. Overall a good stay but could do with a few improvements to bring it inline with other places.

Room Tip: Be aware of the bathroom / shower sizes of certain rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mairlys2014, Owner at Mary's Court Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your valued comments and observations. We have recent taken over at Mairlys and have already begun making several improvements to all rooms. With regards to the shower door in Room 3, this has been replaced and the breakfast menu has been amended to allow more choices. We have also made it clearer on our website regarding the size of the rooms and although your en-suite is small it has been refreshed. We do have previous experience within the village in running a Bed & Breakfast and hope to welcome you in the future should you choose to stay with us. Once again many thanks for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Mairlys Guest House is in a prime location for hikers, walkers, and couples who want a lovely home for a getaway. The owners were both very gracious and helpful as we planned our two days in Betws-y-Coed. They served a full Welsh breakfast -- or as much of one as you could eat -- and also had a well-stocked breakfast bar for those wanting lighter fare. Their off-street parking was appreciated and accessibility to the village, to the train station, and to hiking trails make it an ideal vacation place. The home was built in the 1860s and the bedrooms and bathrooms were quite small, but still a good value for the price.

Room Tip: We were in Superior Room (#2) with a balcony. It was the best of their offerings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BornToTravel1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
801 reviews
0 mi away
Afon View Guest House
Afon View Guest House
#18 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Glyntwrog House
Glyntwrog House
#15 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#5 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary's Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary's Court Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £73 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary's Court Guest House is situated in the centre of Betws-y-Coed, a picturesque village in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park and offers free wi-fi, off-road parking and views onto the scenic surroundings. Each room at Mary's Court offers free wi-fi, an en-suite shower room, flat-screen TV, a hairdryer, hospitality tray and complimentary toiletries. At breakfast, guests can choose from a full cooked option or a continental buffet. Fresh, local produce is used wherever possible, and special dietary needs can be catered for with advance notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mary's Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary's Court Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing