We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was our fourth stay at Dolweunydd and, as always, the welcome was warm and friendly. Paul and Jeanette couldn't do enough for us. The cottage was lovely - spotless, well stocked with tea, coffee, toiletries, etc and so peaceful! As expected the breakfasts were delicious. Both the full English and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon were absolutely fantastic...a perfect start to a day of walking! We have been staying in Betws-y-Coed for almost 20 years now and have stayed at a variety of venues, however Dolweunydd is by far the best in terms of both facilities and the warm welcome. I was quite tempted to write a bad review so there would always be a room free for us but I can think of absolutely nothing negative to say....a top B&B, we wouldn't go anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
183
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is our second time with Paul and Janette in a year and can only say what a lovely couple they are, they made our stay with them just as welcoming as the first one. We spent three nights in the cottage which was absolutely brilliant. Beautifully furnished, comfortable and totally relaxing after an exhausting tour around the area. Breakfasts were tasty and we must say that Paul is a wonderful cook (keep up the good work Paul!). This place is totally recommended by us not only for the beautiful surroundings and local restaurants but for the hospitality we received. Thank you both for making our stay a lovely one, we will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just stayed for 4 nights - nice and relaxing break. Had the front facing double room with new corner bath - just what we needed after some good long walks. Fine selection of toiletries supplied.
Paul, the owner ,is attentive but not intrusive. Breakfast is excellent.
All in all good value and would recommend. The Dragon Chinese restaurant a short walk away also impressed.
The Snowdonia Tree Top Adventure parc is also highly recommended as is the Powerfan leap!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in the cottage and all I can say is it was fantastic, we couldn't have wished for anything nicer!
We recommended the b&b to the rest of our family and friends and a further two couples booked the same b&b for the same weekend and they felt the same as us, fantastic.
We were all made to feel so welcome by both Janette and Paul and they both couldn't do enough for us, my husband and friends said the cooked breakfast was lovely, tasty and set them up for the day, I had the scrambled eggs with salmon on both days and it was the best I've had.
I did a lot of research before I booked this B&b and we certainly were not disappointed, if you fancy a bit of privacy or just a romantic night to two away then the cottage is definetly worth it, our friends had a double room with the corner bath and they also loved their room as well!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We spent two nights in the lovely cottage of this B&B. The cottage was quiet and very well equipped. Beautifully furnished, very comfortable and so relaxing. Paul was the perfect host who also provided a lovely breakfast. We would highly recommed this amazing find if you are looking for true hospitality, a cosy cottage and a lovely place to come back to after a busy day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

6 of us (3 generations) stayed at the Dolweunydd B&B to celebrate a family birthday in Betws y Coed. All the rooms were beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and great facilities. Paul & Janette Butler were perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely and set us up for the day. We would recommend Dolweunydd to anyone who wants quality, comfort and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My wife and I just finished our stay at the Dolweunydd B&B. We had the cottage which provided the perfect setting for a romantic holiday in Snowdonia. The B&B is just a short walk from town and was a great spot for anything you could be looking to do in the area.

The cottage is great, set just off the back of the main house. During our 2 days here, we had breakfast once in the main house and had it brought out to the cottage the other day. The food is great and I recommend the scrambled eggs as they were cooked to perfection. Superb.

I can't say enough about the owners, Paul and Jannette. We arrived a bit later than expected and they were still waiting up for us. They took the time to get us settled in and to get our breakfast orders for the following morning. During breakfast Janette provided us with a lot of great information and booklets on what to do around the area. Very helpful. Paul served us breakfast in the cottage on our last day. Again, the food was great. They're both such nice people and you can really tell that they've put a lot of love into their business.

I you're planning a trip to Wales, I highly recommend Betws-y-Coed, and if you are coming to Betws-y-Coed I recommend staying at the Dolweunydd B&B. Paul and Janette will make you feel right at home and you will definitely appreciate how they will go the extra mile for you. This place lives up to the hype of all of these great reviews.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.9 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#2 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast

Property: Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
Address: Holyhead Rd | Pentre Du, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolweunydd 4 Star Bed & Breakfast is a small family run business in beautiful Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia. All rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities, TV, radio, hairdryer, wi-fi, comfortable guests' lounge, private off road parking. We also boast a cosy romantic cottage with en-suite bedroom in the garden at the rear of house with breakfast in the main house (room service optional - dining table for 2 in room), delicious full cooked breakfast provided, options of flowers and wine in your room on arrival and packed lunches can be ordered prior to arrival when booking. Your hosts, Paul and Janette, will aim to make your stay your most memorable. We look forward to you enjoying your stay and wanting to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing