We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and welcoming”
Review of Grove House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grove House B&B
Ranked #24 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arriving on the off chance of a vacancy we were really pleased with the accommodation and the owners. They made us feel at home and nothing was too much trouble. We had some very interesting chats with How and the food was lovely. Also gave us plenty of information about the area. The village itself was just beautiful and certainly worth the visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank anthony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed as I had entered the Snowdonia half marathon. Huw & Emma made us feel at home and were very welcoming. Our room was very comfortable with enough room to fit in a travel cot for our daughter,tea & coffee facilities as well as an en suite made the room an ideal base for our two night visit to betws-y-coed. Grove house is ideally located to see the village and surrounding areas and Huw & Emma are on hand to offer advice on the local area and recommended a lovely bistro in the village and the waterfall is a must see. On my return from the run Huw placed milk and biscuits in our room which was much needed and appreciated. Grove house is clean and tidy with a warm welcome and an ideal base with the added benefit of a traditional breakfast cooked by emma. My wife particularly enjoyed the scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharpie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed as a couple but also with our Mums for 5 nights in June 2014. The house is very comfortable and in a perfect location with a good choice of restaurants only a few minutes walk away. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the breakfast superb - it will see most people through to dinner in the evening no trouble! As if all this wasn't enough Emma, Huw and their lovely family are the most charming , interesting and hospitable people you are ever likely to meet. Their knowledge of everything there is to know in the area (and beyond) is fantastic so do take advantage (as they do, of course, wish you to). This is a wonderful place to stay in a wonderful part of the world. When we left my Mum was in tears and I was not far behind. Does that not say it all really?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidI-S2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hew and Emma are lovely people, they could not do enough for us. The food was excellent and the rooms were very comfortable to return to after a days walking. The beds were extremely comfy. The location was very central to tourist attractions. There was always parking space at the B&B. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

lovely little B&B - very friendly staff who didn't mind the fact we were rocking up late, having a drink then climbing Tryfan the next morning - very accommodating and very pleasant.

Normally I don't sleep well away from my bed - but I had a superb night's sleep in Grove House.

And a superb breakfast !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewBanyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The accommodation and extra support received from Emma and Huw was greatly appreciated. Our room was cosy and comfortable, breakfast delicious and all requests were met with fast and warm response. All tourist information was seemingly at our hosts finger tips and we were able to visit places that we had not heard of and really enjoyed them .
We would have no hesitation in staying at Grove House again, in fact we look forward to it.
Cathie and Ken

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathieH117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having arrived last minute and being lucky enough to find a vacancy I can honestly say I couldn't have done a better job if I'd have made the choice through research.

The room and bed were comfy, the shower room, whilst not the biggest was more than ample and the welcome given by Huw and Emma was as good as any I've received in any hotel, guest house or hostel I've ever stayed at.

Please give these guys a try and if you get the chance sit and chat with them both. They are warm, intelligent and welcoming cats who are happy to chat and give informed information about the area.

You might even, if ye lucky, get to pay hide n' seek with the kids..................if he takes that Chelsea top off that is.

Many thanks to you both, we shall most definitely be returning and enjoying the delights of Grove House. Which includes the super breakfast.

God Bless

Rocket Ron

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Garth Dderwen Guest House
Garth Dderwen Guest House
#22 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mary's Court Guest House
Mary's Court Guest House
#20 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#4 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coed-y-Fron Guest House
Coed-y-Fron Guest House
#29 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Acorns
The Acorns
#41 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Afon View Guest House
Afon View Guest House
#18 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove House B&B

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grove House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grove House Is centrally located within the beautiful village of Betws-y-Coed in the breathtaking Snowdonia National Park. It offers quality Bed and Breakfast and a genuinely warm welcome to those who come to experience this unique part of Wales. This friendly B&B is only six miles from Capel Curig and serves as an ideal base for the wide range of outdoor activities and attractions offered by this captivating part of the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grove House B&B Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing