We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was terrible, we did not stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragon Hotel and Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We booked this online, week prior to staying directly with the premises.
Upon arrival we were told we were staying in what can only be described as a shack to the side of the main restaurant /b&b.
This side buidling was having work done on it and on the outside metal stairs and landing had piles of workman rubbish to such an extent that its was hard to open the room door.

The room was the worst of an old 1970 holiday chalet, miserbale and damp.
The shower had a dribble, not what you want after walking snowdon.
This was the last straw and we immediately demanded that we would be leaving and no charge to be made. They did not argue with this to be fair.

Definately do not reccomend staying in the attached chalet style building that also over looks directly onto the main road. Looks better on google earth than it does when we went.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank kph100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

I've stayed in this hotel probably 20 times or more due to visiting Betws y Coed quite regularly. It's always a nice and clean hotel, also all the staff are great.
The restaurant is nice and the food is good!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Thanks to all the staff at the Dragon nothin was to much trouble. Rooms were clean and excellent value. The restaurant food was plenty and authentic.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzlightyearUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I don't know how the reviews on this site can be so positive about this hotel. We stayed here for one night at the end of the bank holiday weekend as we couldn't get availability anywhere else and now know why this B&B had space! I would compare this to the worst places I've stayed in when backpacking around India or South East-Asia rather than a hotel in the UK. Unbelievable.

The receptionist was grumpy and abrupt when somebody finally came to attend to us. We stayed in two upstairs rooms in the adjacent building they describe as the 'chalet'. This is a cheaply and poorly constructed more recent (1970s?) addition to the place. The carpets were dirty, the furniture was cheap and old with fraying laminate edges, the mattress and bed were worn out and creaked (the headboard was broken and propped up with blocks of wood), the bed sheets were stained, the bathroom was dirty, the shower was useless (the rain outside gave a stronger flow) and the TV stand had a flat screen precariously balanced ready to fall off on the slightest knock.

The one room had a window open to the rear which allowed some ventilation from the musty smell. The other room had a problem with the heating and was roasting hot with only windows that opened onto the main road side. Throughout the night there was noise from an industrial refrigerator or similar at the back of the building that was noisy in both rooms.

After a dreadful night of sleep, we headed down for breakfast where you are hit by the smell of deep frying chinese food. There was a choice of cornflakes or bran flakes, which were ok, but the cooked breakfast was awful. Everything had been fried in (sunflower?) oil and was dripping in oil, making the fried eggs and the bacon (which were actually good rashers) almost inedible. The sausages were the cheapest fatty sausages consisting of little but the oil they were fried in. And there was only the cheapest of white bread for toast. The worst cooked breakfast we'd ever had.

All this for £64 a room. We felt robbed. If I'd had my tent with me we would have all left and camped.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scedwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

A nice, clean, basic hotel / B&B attached to a Chinese Restaurant.

Pluses: clean, lots of hot water, good breakfast, nice owners, well located.

Minuses: no wifi, nasty tinned tomatoes with breakfast. Limited hours for breakfast (0830 - 0930). Restaurant reasonable.

Tip: buses to the mountains from almost outside the hotel, much easier and cheaper than parking at the popular car parks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onewheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Booked this B& B for 2 nights after looking at the trip advisor. We couldn't have picked a nicer spot. the views outside our window were fantastic as was the room. The bed was very comfy and everything clean. The only slight negative was the shower did not have much oomph!! but apart from that we could not fault anything. Our host was very accommodating and always had a smile!! Breakfast was AWESOME!! Will recommend to anyone travelling through North Wales

Sally - South Wales

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally681385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Having learnt our friend had booked us into a Chinese restaurant/B&B (last time he booked accommodation we all had to share a room for a week in bunk beds) naturally we we're concerned. But what a genuine and pleasant surprise it was. The moment we arrived we we're greeted with a smile and warm welcome that all family run B&B's should have. All through our stay the hosts we're friendly, informative and relaxed. The rooms are nice too, it's not the ritz - nor should it be, it was full of charm and character and plenty of parking and literally a minutes walk into town - we all left saying we'd definately stay again.

Thank you for a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
1.9 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Hotel and Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Hotel and Chinese Restaurant

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £61 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dragon Hotel and Chinese Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel And Chinese Restaurant Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing