We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central pub with good menu and great location”

The Stables Bistro Bar
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Central pub with good menu and great location”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We were staying in the Lodge and ate in the Bistro for lunch and dinner on our first day. Lunch was a very tasty Welsh rarebit sandwich and for dinner we had Thai green chicken curry and the pan fried sea bass. All the meals were very good and served quickly. The bistro did get very busy but there were lots of staff constantly serving behind the bar and table clearing. There is a large outdoor seating area some if which is covered and having patio heaters which were very welcome given the relentless rain! The clientele was mixed with lots of groups, families and dogs. There was also live music both nights. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bettyboo1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    579
    229
    71
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1st class food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My partner and I made 2 trips to this fine eatery whilst on holiday last week, we had read previous reviews and thought we'd give it a try this year. On entering the staff were friendly and the place had a nice atmosphere. On our first visit we went for the haddock and chips, all freshly cooked and good sized portion with home made tartar sauce. Our second visit didn't disappoint either......after checking out what other people had had around us previously, we decided on a burger, which was in a word 'delightful'. Beautiful fresh Welsh beef, well seasoned and cooked to perfection on a chargrill with a lovely thick slice of bacon, chips and side salad. Again good portion size and great value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

While sight seeing in a sunny and warm Betws-y-Coed we noticed that the outside seating area of The Stables Bar looked very attractive and so we decided to try it for lunch. My wife ordered a tuna panini while I opted for a cheese and onion panini. Mine was ok-ish but my wife's was poor - dry inside and stone cold. We wouldn't eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_R_Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswood, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere - good choice”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is very much a bar-meals kind of place one reviewer has called it Wetherspoons in disguise. If it is then it's a very up-market version but at Wetherspoon prices. The atmosphere is good and the food well prepared and efficiently served. The staff were very friendly and prepared to make helpful suggestions about the best items available.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good pub food, service excellent.
Downside, it gets very busy early on. Best advice would be to try eating there a little later in the evening. Apart from that, no problems.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables Bistro Bar also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Stables Bistro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing