We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food”

Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our restaurant overlooks the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in the Snowdonia National Park, and is open to non-residents for: •Bistro Lunch •Afternoon Teas •Evening Restaurant .Every year since 2006 we have received the coveted AA Rosette award for culinary excellence in addition to the Taste of Wales recognition. Wales offers such an abundance of quality produce we constantly strive to source all of our ingredients locally and insist on daily deliveries to ensure the freshness of each dish we prepare.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Excellent service, very attentive and genuine. Loved the riverside location. We dined at night and it was truly beautiful overlooking the river. Food was great - really tasty - good presentation - fantastic selection. I would say well worth a visit.
A bit on the pricey side compared to the other bistros in Betws-y-Coed, but if you are willing to splash out and really be treated well - then this is the place for it!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zumayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We dined in the restaurant 23/03/13 when the snow was just awful. As we set off I was half expecting for the restaurant to be closed due to the awful weather. I was delightfully surprised to find us being given a very warm welcome to a roaring open fire and drinks served to a table next to it whilst we browsed the menu. Once our choices had been made we were taken through to the restaurant which had breath taking views over the river. Unbelievably I think we we're the only sitting of the evening and I was highly surprised the restaurant just opened for us and was fully operational. The food was exceptional and the service even better with a warming personal touch from the host who was very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. The meal was very reasonably priced too considering we had 3 courses and a couple of drinks each. I would highly recommend this restaurant. Its a little gem hidden away in a beautiful part of the world!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry_Ambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea for two”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was a visit as a result of a Red Letter Day, tea for two gift and as there was no location near our Bristol hone we decided to use the voucher while we were in North Wales for work.. The hotel and restaurant is in an outstandingly beautiful location at Bettws y Coed, Conwy. We were given a warm and friendly welcome on a bitterly cold Sunday afternoon and were seated in the comfortable lounge area where the tea was served. The sandwiches and warm scones were delicious, followed by Danish Patries and by this time we were full. The Manger was happy to let us take the rest of the tea away with us - Bara Brith, Welsh Cakes and Muffins!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FeistyyFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This restaurant has just been refurbished. Can't believe when we ate there on a Friday night we were the only diners. Think the restaurant is missing a trick by not going on Travelzoo selling vouchers to attract more customers as the food is absolutely amazing. I had the slow roast belly of pork with haggis mash which was to die for. Lovely setting right on the river.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nicki m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quality and serenity”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently dined at the riverside hotel and would highly recommend a visit. The menu and food was excellent and the service perfect. The best service in the world cannot compete with the setting, beatiful riverside views in the heart of Snowdonia- just great!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhaywoodandsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverside Restaurant also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing