We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're nearby check it out” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conwy Falls Cafe

Conwy Falls Cafe
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Conwy Falls Cafe is a beautiful purpose-built cafe set in 9 1/2 acres of SSSI native forest, with the spectacular back drop of the waterfall running through the River Conwy in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. Designed in the 30s by Clough Williams-Ellis, the cafe is a classic example of his design, and with its excellent car parking space, provides a perfect stop off at the gateway to Snowdonia.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you're nearby check it out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Not worth a major detour, but a nice, peaceful place. The cafe seems to be closed pretty regularly though, based on reviews (and wasn't open when I was there...)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_vonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    63
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beware the toilets being refurbished!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The food was great though they seriously undercharged us as they couldn't find the order - even though we told them what we had, they said they preferred to charge us less - great for us but not for their business!

The evening menu is very limited - only a few starters, pizzas and 4 specials. The garlic bread and pizzas were lovely and fresh - even enjoyed by those of us who are not pizza fans. The drinks are organic so no conventional beers, ciders or soft drinks. The kids didn't enjoy their cokes!

However, the worst bit was the disgusting room which houses the toilets under the cafe. Yes there was a sign apologising for the refurb but the toilets were mixed gender (with no lock on the outer door) and they were so filthy that none of us could go a second time despite the copious amounts we had drunk! They were even worse than some of the foul loos I have been to on Greek islands and that is saying something!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuramathi_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Decided to give this place a try and wow! Delicious pizza! Nice thin crust with tasty toppings. Casual easy dining. They also have cute gift stuff for purchase. Friendly atmosphere too. Fun!
Check before you go. Pizza is on Fri and Sat

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stumbled upon find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent, fresh food in a beautiful location. The chunky chips are a french fry lovers heaven on earth.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Infinidean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All round winner: Veggie, Gluten-free and dog friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped here whilst passing to go on the Conwy falls walk and popped in for coffee afterwards and ended up returning for several coffee/breakfast/dinner breaks!
The coffee is proper coffee and I read on their menu that the origin varies each month. They were using a lovely blend when we were in.

They menu has a good selection of breakfast and lunch type foods and there is plenty to suit all.
We had a veggie breakfast and it was amazing, they make their own veggie sausages too which gained bonus points!

We went for pizza on Friday night and the cafe had a few specials to choose from too so we ended up getting a pizza and a lentil korma Veggie burger. Both were home made and delicious.

The staff are really friendly and attentive and whoever is in charge of the music has great taste. Chilled atmosphere with acoustic/folk music was playing when we were in.

Helpful?
Thank lorbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conwy Falls Cafe also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Conwy Falls Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing