We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe”
Review of Conwy Falls Cafe

Conwy Falls Cafe
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Conwy Falls Cafe is a beautiful purpose-built cafe set in 9 1/2 acres of SSSI native forest, with the spectacular back drop of the waterfall running through the River Conwy in the heart of the Snowdonia National Park. Designed in the 30s by Clough Williams-Ellis, the cafe is a classic example of his design, and with its excellent car parking space, provides a perfect stop off at the gateway to Snowdonia.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Café lovely stop off when walking in Betws area - range of drinks, snacks and meals. Now serves pizzas on Friday and Saturday nights too - which are lovely and value for money. They also have homemade snack bars to take with you walking - they are amazing!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank abby8464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    68
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denbighshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza - absolutely gorgeous :)”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was my second visit here, previous time I didn't have a pizza but had a steak and onion baguette. This time I chose a pizza with goats cheese, roasted peppers, caramelised onions and ham hock toppings. We sat outside as it was nice and we had our dog with us- member of staff spotted our dog and bought a bowl of water out for her. We didn't wait long for our food and it was absolutely delicious! The pizza is quite big and I thought I would never finish it, however, the base was very thin and the best I have tasted.

Local produce sold here and really nice to be greeted by Welsh speaking staff :) will be going here again when in the area. Thanks for a lovely meal. Diolch yn fawr am y croeso ar bwyd bendigedig.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zala_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect bank holiday lunch stop”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Tantalising menu, delicious food. We had French toast, welsh rarebit and Eggs Benedict. Great coffee, loose leaf tea, friendly staff, laid back atmosphere; it met all our needs. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Providero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“If you're nearby check it out”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Not worth a major detour, but a nice, peaceful place. The cafe seems to be closed pretty regularly though, based on reviews (and wasn't open when I was there...)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_vonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beware the toilets being refurbished!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The food was great though they seriously undercharged us as they couldn't find the order - even though we told them what we had, they said they preferred to charge us less - great for us but not for their business!

The evening menu is very limited - only a few starters, pizzas and 4 specials. The garlic bread and pizzas were lovely and fresh - even enjoyed by those of us who are not pizza fans. The drinks are organic so no conventional beers, ciders or soft drinks. The kids didn't enjoy their cokes!

However, the worst bit was the disgusting room which houses the toilets under the cafe. Yes there was a sign apologising for the refurb but the toilets were mixed gender (with no lock on the outer door) and they were so filthy that none of us could go a second time despite the copious amounts we had drunk! They were even worse than some of the foul loos I have been to on Greek islands and that is saying something!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuramathi_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Conwy Falls Cafe also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Conwy Falls Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing