We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Summer Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summer Hill House
Ranked #10 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just spent 5 days at Summer Hill and adding to ALL previous reviews : You will be greeted with a warm welcome by your host Jan,who will then cater for your every need in this beautifully restored impressive house. Ideally located to explore North Wales. I honestly believe NOTHING further could be done to improve the service you will recieve. Many many thanks to Jan & Steve. We cannot praise this guesthouse highly enough and will be returning. if you are visiting North Wales THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY.
Derek & Carolyn , Redcar

Room Tip: Nothing to worry about : they are all fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannacaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

Just a one night stay but would of loved it to be longer..A beautiful looking house with rooms to match.The bedroom and en-suite were both large and immmaculate, gorgeous white fluffy towels and lots of lovely little extra's...Breakfast was served in a stunning conservatory with lots to choose from on the buffet section and cooked breakfast to order which set us up for the day..Great location for the village of Betws-y-Coed..a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank welshbikerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is a cracking place to stay. The location is fantastic and only a stones throw from the waterfalls and only 1 minutes walk to the centre of Betws-y-Coed. But what truly makes this place great is the friendly and helpful staff, cleanliness (which is second to none) and well decorated and comfortable rooms - which are all complimented by a great breakfast (full Welsh!).
I only stayed for one night but am already planning to go back later in the summer with my Fiance. Thank you Summer View for your great hospitality and wonderful staff - it was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy26blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Stayed here for two nights with partner and 7 month old baby. The owner was very welcoming when we arrived and asked if we needed anything for baby like steriliser, which was really nice of her! We had room 7 on top floor. The room was lovely and airy with large bathroom including bath. Bed really comfy and a nice view over the river at front of property.
The room was spotless and nice furnishings. Breakfast was delicious and good choice of cereals etc
Right in the middle of Betws and next to the couldron where mybaby enjoyed a little paddle!
We will be booking in here next time we stay!

Room Tip: Room 7 is onloy room with bath I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samborgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

From the spotlessly clean room to the superb breakfast and from the comfortable bed to the excellent shower this place cannot be faulted. The owners really have their finger on the pulse of what most travellers want in a guest house and have ensured that all needs are met. Like my friend in the previous post I will also be taking my wife here to stay while we discover the area a little more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raingod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We travelled as four single friends, undertaking a leisurely walk of the Three Peaks. I was allocated the worst of the four rooms but was nevertheless, delighted. Everything was spotlessly clean, fresh with a truly excellent, powerful shower. Many little things impressed me. For example, we were keen for an early start to tackle Snowdon and the owner was only too willing to serve an excellent breakfast, an hour earlier than the norm. There is private parking and it is an easy, few minute, stroll into town. I have just booked to return for a longer stay later this month, this time with my partner. Be sure to give this place a try

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelhurstBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

My friends and I are pretty experienced walkers meeting twice a year for well over 15 years now particularly in Wales and the Lake District. We always stay B&B and have seen quite a few different establishments in out time.

I took a little bit of a chance on Summer Hill as there was little by way of recommendation to see and no star rating. But as you'll see from my ratings we were blown away with the place and Jan's hospitality.

There were no star ratings when I booked as Jan had only recently refurbished the place (see Google Street View) and wanted to make sure it was working how she wanted before allowing inspectors in. She needn't worry. The house is beautiful, service spot on and its a great place to stay.

The rooms and facilities felt very modern (we do like our comforts now don't we - the power shower was just what was needed after a wet and windy day in the hills) without losing the traditional features of the house. Breakfast in the conservatory gives a great view of the River Llugwy. We felt sorry we were only staying a couple of nights.

I cannot recomment Summer Hill highly enough and I'm sure there will be many more positive reviews.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fellrunner32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#4 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#5 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenwood Guest House
Glenwood Guest House
#6 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
345 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tan-y-Foel Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Hill House

Address: Coedcynhelier Road | Snowdonia National Park, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BL, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £59 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Summer Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Hill is set in a peaceful elevated position near the centre of Betws-y-Coed above the river Llugwy. Our Victorian guest house has been extensively refurbished and provides 8 quality en-suite guest rooms all with modern facilities. Located in the popular village of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia National Park, this bed & breakfast accommodation is an ideal base from which to explore the many attractions and natural beauty of North Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Summer Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summer Hill House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing