We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“high price for substandard hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“high price for substandard hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Excellet location, in the heart of betws!. First night we had a pleasant clean and tidy double room unfortunately, the bed was to soft, I had to sleep on the floor and my wife woke up with extremely stiff neck and back. Spoke to reception who kindly allowed us to check out a twin and family room, like goldie locks we headed to the twin, one bed was to soft the other would have been fine, upon entering the family room we were a little taken back by the out dated scruffy decor, however the bed was better, so we settled for the 2nd night of our stay. The side table was masticked to the wall with the kettle, and to boil the kettle you had to put it on the floor on the opposite side of the room! Where the only plug socket was available, also made getting ready to go out also as the mirror was also the opposite side of the room to the socket. We had dinner in the a joining indian resturant (not part of the hotel) where we had some lovely dishes.. on going to bed that night we found to our dismay that the quilt fitted the bed exactly and when you pulled it up round your neck you feet were fully exposed. We had to take a single quilt off the bunk beds to cover our feet!! Hasten to say we did not stay the third night that we had paid for and preffered to get home to our own bed 420 kilometer away.
The breakfast unfortunetly was also poor and not worth the price.. this was a groupon I would not be sharing. On departure (early) the reception did not charge us the weekend supplement due to the problems we had experienced although not the full cost of the 3rd night.
Overall with such a great location in the heart of betws the hotel rooms need some serious tlc if just a luck of paint and new mattresses...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosshops00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    141
    87
    57
    33
See reviews for
59
233
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here for 3 nights while we did some walking in the area. What we wanted was clean accommodation and lots of comfort foods in the evening when we returned almost broken from The Glyders, and that's what we got.
It's true that some of the fittings are somewhat in need of refurbishing, the shower in room 5 is still held on the wall with duct tape, and the kettle wasn't quite intact! The tie back thing for the curtain was kind of loose too. But, the room was clean (although slightly too warm) and the water came out of the shower lovely and hot and at lovely pressure.
One of the reasons we chose the Glan Aber was that they allow check in really late, and as we travelled up from Devon and thought we wouldn't get there until gone 11pm this was handy. The staff were very welcoming and efficient, and when we said we would have to leave before breakfast on the Saturday we were immediately offered a packed lunch for the day. When we changed our plans later, they happily swopped back even though they had already made the lunch.
Don't go there if you want cordon bleu food and wine or a spa, but for good hearty food and plenty of it we were happy. They're not high class, but they are trying very hard.
Breakfast wasn't bad, although more out of condition equipment, (the toaster didn't work on Sunday morning) made it slightly less slick and probably more frustrating for the staff. We think value for money would have been better if the breakfast had been included, but maybe they do this because so many people go out before 8am??

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAW1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel. We booked through Booking.com and managed to get a good deal for £109 for two nights between 02/11/13 - 04/11/13. Our room was Room 4 which is a 1st floor front bedroom with a four poster comfy king size bed, ensuite bathroom with shower attachment, TV, kettle, tea/coffee, biscuits and hairdryer was also provided. The room had a great view, cosy, warm and bright. The only niggle I can only say is every time we had to flush the loo, the plumbing made loud vibrations which may of bothered other rooms. However we did not hear of any complaints.
We had the Indian buffet meal which had a great selection of curry's and it's all you can eat for £10. We had the Chicken Korma and we would say it was satisfactory.
Parking at the location is good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Check in is 2pm and check out is 1030am. We would stay again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Positives: good bar, good hotel if staying with your pet dog, good location. Negatives: Had Indian buffet and breakfast, would not recommend either. Head of shower was held onto wall with grey tape, room was not clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taffanaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very pleasant 1 night stay in room 28.Lovely warm room,lashings of hot water,and nice white towels,and complimentary toiletries.Afternoon tea was included,and consisted of a selection of cakes and pot of tea.Breakfast was an extra £7.95,and a good choice available.Only encountered 2 members of staff who were very pleasant
The negative to this stay was the mattresses!!!!! please replace the ones in room 28.

Room Tip: Room 28 overlooked the car park,and was really peaceful,as it was at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lettertrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We found ourselves in Betsw y Coed early one evening in October, not having had lunch, so looking for something to eat. We came across the curry buffet at the Glen Aber and decided to try it. Really glad we did. Good value for £10 - choice of two starters, several meat curries, a veg curry, dhal, rice, naan, poppadums and various accompaniments. Very enjoyable meal and recommended. Glad we opted for that rather than standard hotel options scampi and chips, etc.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tripaddvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Basic, dirty and noisy. Stayed in the bunkhouse as part of a larger group and absolutely would not recommend it. The rooms are tiny, dirty, dusty and damp, the beds have slats missing and mattresses that are lumpy. The radiators are either too hot or too cold, there are no curtains, the smallest shelves in the world and the walls are plastic like a ferry cabin. The toilet and shower room are simply disgusting with the toilet right by the sink and the urinal right by the shower. The shower curtain reeked of ammonia and the shower itself was minging, with tiles missing and open drains. The only good thing was that the bar was ok, but with rude staff and the restaurant area was ate smart with adequate breakfast. Each twin room was £50 a night, which was £30 too much... Worst accommodation ever.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rjcdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Betws-y-Coed hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel

Property: Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run three-star hotel, cafe, bar and bunkhouse in Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia. Selected dog-friendly rooms available. All rooms en-suit with tea and coffee making facilities. Food served till late seven days a week. Drying room and mountain bike lock-up available. Walkers, bikers, climbers welcome, suitable for activity holidays. Welsh speaking staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing