We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aweful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aweful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Visited on a groupon trip. Immediately informed that cheese and ham for breakfast, or could upgrade to english for only £10... room was ok, bathroom harbouring all nature of pubic hair. Bar staff consisted of inept youths. Served me a pint that was flatter than water. When I asked for a swap simply swilled it to another glass, spilling most onto the bar and offering no apologies. Food was adequate but pricey. Had a little boy who could not sleep due to curtains being made of muslin. In all a pretty average place with awful service....

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    141
    88
    57
    34
See reviews for
60
236
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a two night stay here in April and really enjoyed it. Comfortable and clean room, pleasant staff. Food was very nice although some of our original choices had run out but we were told it had been a busy week and we didn't mind. Good location, very close to train station and everything we wanted to do. Booked through Groupon so very good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 431Rhianna431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

As part of a Groupon deal, we spent 2 nights at this hotel in March. We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful in all areas and were particularly pleased to be given a room on the 1st floor with a 4 poster bed. The room was clean and spacious and had a great view.
Having received a £10 voucher if we spent £30 in the restaurant, we took advantage of this on the first night but found the food - despite the offer - to be only average - sorry.
The breakfast area is very clean and well decorated, with ample options available to start the day. Our only criticism would be having to wait for toast to be done as the toaster is only small and takes a while.
Several previous reviewees have mentioned parking. We found it to be fine, although busy, and parked on the main road on the 2nd night which was fine. Not sure how busy parking would be in the summer months.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely consider again. The hotel could not be better located to explore the town and beyond.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We (party of four) can only comment on the restaurant and NOT on the Hotel. We stayed in Betws-y-Coed over the Easter weekend, trying out various eating places. We attended this restaurant at approximately 7.20pm on Easter Sunday (20 Apr 14) evening. On entering the main room (room on the left from the main reception) the décor and furniture was very nice and it was about 50% capacity (about 14 people). We sat at a table for four, the first thing we noticed there was no menus on the table. When at the counter (asking for some menus), the guy in front of me was placing his order and asked for a Ploughman’s lunch (from the specials menu) and the waiter didn't know what he was talking about (writing on the wall?).

The order was placed at aprox 7.40pm (the time on the receipt was 19.43). After about an hour of waiting we looked around and there were people who had arrived before us also still waiting for their food. I asked the couple on the next table to us how long they had to wait and the said “too long”. At 9.00pm, 1 hour 20 minutes after placing the order I asked the waiter how much longer we had to wait, his response was,” it is very busy and there are still two orders before yours so it will be about another 20 minutes”. I am a patient person but this was past my tolerance. At this stage if we would not have paid already we would have walked out. The Lady who took our money at the reception appeared took over and said it would be 5 minutes. Ten minutes later the food appeared, the lady apologised and mumbled something about free beer. The food was not worth waiting for; below average for the price and the Lamb burger… don’t bother.

My issues, besides the obvious are,

A polite warning the food was going to be delayed would have been nice.

To offer free drinks and not follow through with it, even coffees at the end of the meal would have sufficed. I could have said something to the lady when we were leaving, but I believe it is up to her to give the service and not for me to ask for it.

Just going a bit further for your customers after poor service would have prevented this bad review. The previous evening we went to the pub further along which was filled to the rafters and only waited 20 minutes for a lovely, value for money meal. I can see why you are rated 7th out of 7 in the area.

Room Tip: We can only comment on the resaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TejayWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Betws-y-Coed hotels

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner and our puppy went here. Was dead was only one other person there.

We had a fantastic time, literally thought it was a lovely place. Had a look at the last review and they complained about the parking. U could get a van in there so unless you was on your driving lessons you would be fine.


If views are your thing well come here it's central to everything couldn't fault the place.

Thanks on behalf of myself and Joseph and our puppy.


Also we are in our 20s and found more then enough to do at that time of year.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bithter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent two nights in this hotel with a Groupon coupon and thought even with this discount it is overpriced. The hotel has a parking, which is ok, but you have to be really careful because you have to squeeze into the back yard through a crooked narrow passage. The room that we were given (No.9) on the first floor overlooked main road, so it had big window, one part of it was broken, another just very cloudy and dirty. It could be also quite loud because of the car noise, and the windows are thin, one glass only. There was spiderweb on the lamp. The shower was impossible to fix, so you have to hold it while washing. Moreover, the drain in the shower was badly clogged. Disgusting! We reported about this at the reception, they promised to clean it, but nothing was done. No cleaning, no rubbish removal, no renewal of tee/coffee facilities (4 bags of tea strictly, no more) - nothing in two days. There were only one piece of soap and two small shampoos for two nights for two persons. They are obviously on soap saving program!
The breakfast was a shame. You get only two tiny pieces of butter on your plate and can not get more. There were some yogurt (only skimmed, since this is cheaper), some serials, croissant, packed jam and bread, and some fruit juice in the tiny glasses (cognac size glasses, so you do not drink too much), tea and coffee. If you want to have cooked breakfast - you have to pay 5 GBP per person extra (if I am not mistaken).
I had a constant feeling that the owners were willing to save money on every trifle and to provide you as little service as possible, or even less.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IAKA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Wish I had read tripadviser before visiting. The restaurant looks nice inside but that's where it ends The food is very average, probably below average, if I'm honest - when it finally arrives. I should have known this when there was no waitress service - you order at the bar, even though there was a woman floating about looking around and not doing very much apart from clearing the odd table.

When our very average burgers finally arrived we commented saying the kitchen must be busy to be told that it was not a happy kitchen. It was clear that everyone was waiting approximately 45 minutes and the place wasn't that busy. A shame because the place looks nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livvvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel

Property: Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run three-star hotel, cafe, bar and bunkhouse in Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia. Selected dog-friendly rooms available. All rooms en-suit with tea and coffee making facilities. Food served till late seven days a week. Drying room and mountain bike lock-up available. Walkers, bikers, climbers welcome, suitable for activity holidays. Welsh speaking staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing