We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value in the heart of Snowdonia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value in the heart of Snowdonia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the bunkhouse attached to the hotel for a long weekend cycling/walking/climbing in Snowdonia.

Rooms and showers/toilets were clean, staff were always friendly and, most importantly, the bar fully stocked! The included breakfast was a steal and an excellent start to a long day in the hills!

Parking and secure bike storage was available.

Ignore previous bad reviews. Highly recommended, especially at 24 quid a night!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    141
    87
    57
    33
See reviews for
60
233
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped for a meal in this presentable place. Staff very nice. We ordered sandwiches, ciabbattas and fries. Overpriced rubbish, had better in a greasy spoon. Minute steak and onion ciabbatta was not minute(as in time) it was minute(as in size) the ciabbatta was 3 times larger than the steak!!!!!! the chicken ciabbatta, chicken was brown !!!!!!! awful food !! to top it all we waited for nearly an hour for the food. What a shambles, terrible food, my advice dont bother!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Betws-y-Coed hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We went there with my partner and the dog (dogs friendly place, even giant dogs) for my bithday. Very nice and clean room. Friendly service. Resonable price. Good buffet and food, great location close to the town centre, car park. I must say I did enjoy my special weekend there and I am thinking to visit that place again this year. Highly recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kretka3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel with 3 friends on 9th June, as we were in the area mountain biking. Safe car ark at the rear of the hotel with secure room provided to keep bikes in overnight
We arrived late but staff were very helpful and we were able to order food whilst we went and showered.
Evening meal was very good plenty of food which was great after a hard days biking.
The bar and restaurants are very well presented again nice and clean.
Rooms were adequate we had rooms 25 and 26. They were at the side of the hotel so we're quiet.
Breakfast was excellent, self service with plenty of choice. The fry up set us up nicely and included local produce rather than cheap meat.
All round an ideal hotel for what we needed, ideally positioned near to the centre of the village with everything we needed. I was pleasantly surprised following some of the reviews I had read from others that had stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich5722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Guest Relations Manager at Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you and thank you again, we seem to have attracted more than our fair share of poor reviews of late and it sometimes makes you wonder why? Glad you enjoyed the breakfast - I always do. Self service for the drinks and toast lets you get started as soon as you're ready whilst the cooked to order breakfast means everything thing is at its best. We are fortunate in so much as there are a number of reputable butchers close by and we have our own village bakery - no factory bread here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently stayed 4 nights at the Bunkhouse at the rear of hotel.Paid £20 a night bed and breakfast. Situated in heart of Betws y coed near to Snowdonia. The bunkhouse was very disappointing, very small rooms with a bunk bed in and that's about it. No room for luggage ect. Mold on windows, threadbare carpets. There was a small drying room and showers always had hot water, however, wash area very unclean as was the whole bunkhouse area. Hotel did not open until 7:30 am so early risers had to wait in small bedroom or car park area outside. Good cooked breakfast, cereal , toast, drinks ect. Hotel situated next to church and the clock goes off on the hour, every hour, throughout the night!! If it's hot and windows open, then you will need plenty of beers to keep you asleep. Bar area ok, however, limited beers. Pool table and sky tv. All in all, good location near to National Park, however I would only recommend 1 night passing through

Room Tip: 1 night only !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Guest Relations Manager at Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the honest review Christopher, the bunkhouse is, just as you say, what it is and great value - £20 including a full cooked breakfast. Its always been popular with cyclists and walkers just wanting a bed at minimal cost so we have resisted the urge to change it (always full).

Communal showers are difficult to keep clean all the time, once the first person has been in there is no opportunity to clean until the last person has used it.

If you are staying again remember to let staff know if you need an early start - not much fun twiddling your thumbs in a small room, especially when you are hungry!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went to the hotel for a drink in the bar, my husband bought a pint of lager (Carlsberg) and a large glass of dry white wine. He was charged £9.05p. The quality of the wine was dreadful, my husband suggested that we should bottle the wine and keep to wash his paint brushes in.
We don't mind paying for good quality drinks but this was a rip off.I could not drink the wine and we left as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel/bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Guest Relations Manager at Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Its always disappointing to receive information like this after the event, we would have liked to put things right at the time with a fresh glass of wine.

Its unfortunate that that the rise in costs over the recent years have been directed at alcohol and £9 for a large glass of wine and a pint of beer is pretty much the norm these days. I remember sipping a small espresso in a holiday resort in France six years ago - cost me £4.50 (theyb were very small sips!!)

Next time you are in Betws y Coed please call in and we will stand you a drink on the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were passing through Betws and wanted to grab a quick coffee. After having a look around and having passed the couple of interesting looking coffee shops / cafes near the station, we ended up down this end of town and this was the nearest place selling coffee. It is part of the Glan Aber Hotel.

First impressions are that it's pleasant and simply decorated - you order from the counter at the back.

When we went in, there were two other tables of people eating light meals.

We ordered two coffees, a tea, and a hot chocolate.

It took over thirty minutes for all four drinks to arrive which they did in dribs and drabs, the first being a pot of tea fifteen minutes in and the last a scalding hot chocolate about fifteen minutes after that.

By this point, we'd been there for thirty minutes and needed to go so I went up to pay.

The bill came to less than £10 and when I tried to pay by card, the lady said "we only take cards for £10 or more" - which is unusual for a coffee shop.

This meant that I had to spend cash which I needed for something else, which meant trying to find an ATM - a real hassle in North Wales when you're in a hurry.

So basically,

1) the staff need to be trained on how to fulfil a simple order quickly; over thirty minutes to deliver four drinks is not acceptable. No apology, no explanation...

2) If they are prepared to sell drinks, they need to make it clear that they only take cards for more than £10 - maybe they are more restaurant than coffee shop - fine, just communicate with your customers

We finally got out forty minutes later and won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Murad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Guest Relations Manager at Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Poor communication, no excuse and we do apologise - you could at least have been told there was an ATM right next door.

Staff shortages that day meant somebody multi-tasking, all resolved now so do come back and have another coffee on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel

Property: Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run three-star hotel, cafe, bar and bunkhouse in Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia. Selected dog-friendly rooms available. All rooms en-suit with tea and coffee making facilities. Food served till late seven days a week. Drying room and mountain bike lock-up available. Walkers, bikers, climbers welcome, suitable for activity holidays. Welsh speaking staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing