We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

after reading some of the reviews on this hotel we were a bit apprehensive about where we had booked. in fact the staff were pleasant, the room was clean and ok for what we paid, breakfast was ample. we eat in the hotel both evenings and the standard of food was good. if we saw another offer we would have no quarms about going back.

Room Tip: we were in room 11 only noise we heard was from other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieann988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    141
    89
    57
    34
See reviews for
60
237
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just returned from a 1 night stay using a Groupon deal. Lovely hotel, very clean and friendly staff. Car park at the back with plenty of room and a sunny beer garden. We chose to have the continental breakfast, fresh coffee, tea, fruit juices, croissants, cereals, jams, yoghurts, very nice indeed, which was included in the deal, you could of had a cooked breakfast for an extra £5 each but there really wasn't any need as the goodies provided was more than enough. All in all a lovely hotel....would I return? Without a doubt :) :) :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiHammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

£50 per room with breakfast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The beds were the most basic mattresses - lumpy and uncomfortable. I had to sleep on top of the quilt.
I slept on the bottom bunk - all I could smell was urine - it appeared to be the threadbare holey carpet - rank.
Tiny claustrophobic room - don't take luggage!!!!
Too hot - window open but so noisy.
I could hear the conversations of the couple in the next room - paper thin walls.
Mould on the walls and windows = a health hazard.
Seriously camp in a tent in a field. NEVER again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindylc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, Public Relations Manager at Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Wow, something did smell in the bunkhouse - we tracked it down to a pair of wet walking shoes outside someones door and had them escorted out into the yard - locked the door in case they tried to get back in on their own!!!

Its the nature of the bunkhouse - always full of walkers and cyclists who have been in their shoes all day. No problem 99% of the time but then there is always one....

All fresh again now but the hotel would be better for people not into the great outdoors :-) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Betws-y-Coed hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

just returned from a 3 day stay, initial receptionist was very pleasant and helpful (same cant be said for another one of the receptionists who appeared rather frosty)room at the front of the hotel was lovely and clean, not perfect as there were a few things that could easily have been rectified ( a bit of last occupants rubbish in a draw, no bulb on fitting above dressing table mirror and the bathroom door didn't shut) apart from that it was lovely, spacious, clean and well stacked tea tray(after reading that someone complained about not having enough tea bags, we certainly did).rooms were cleaned every morning, towels replaced and tea tray stocked.
Breakfast was lovely, well presented and arrived very quickly, however once the coffee pot was empty was only offered instant as was told they had run out of filter coffee and as this was still an hour before breakfast ended i thought maybe that could have been rectified for the people coming later.Other than breakfast we didn't eat in the hotel but was still asked for a £30 payment when we checked out for a meal that was apparently charged to our room,but we were given a card to hand in when we wanted to charge anything to our bill and we still had that card so dont know how someone had managed to obtain a meal using our room number.
Apart from a few minor things, i would recommend this hotel and would certainly use it again.

Room Tip: front rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I had a meal in the hotel restaurant on Saturday night. The restaurant was reasonably busy but there were sufficient staff on hand to make service slick. The menu was reasonable and I was attracted by the 'Homemade Pie' (which was steak and ale that night).

My wife had scampi and complimented the chips. My pie was made up of good quality meat but would benefit from more seasoning and a thicker gravy (it was very runny).

The wine on offer was good but the real ale's are limited and a more varied choice would have been nice.

Overall a nice venue that visitors would enjoy at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Didn't stay over - visited restaurant only.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pete081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived, very friendly welcome, given a room on the top floor, en suite recently refurbished, looked great, although bath needs support underneath, to prevent creaking and movement.
Room was different era, my university flat many years ago springs to mind, but clean, and was twin beds not double as booked and stated on the Invoice, and also the invoice showed the dog was included but an extra £10 was demanded, apparently a system fault.
The total of £129 for one night without Breakfast was excessive for a room of that standard, the following night we stayed at a place that was £30 cheaper, included breakfast and the room was considerably nicer.
Disappointed after waiting to be served at the bar, when people clearly known by bar staff got served first.
Nice building, great location, very nice young lady that greeted us on arrival,, but overall disappointing

Room Tip: There may be better rooms, I hope so considering the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveinEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

stayed here with my husband & our 2 dogs. room was big and clean and modern, which was suprising as rooms that allow dogs are usually dirty/naff & in need of updating, certainly wasnt the case here so that was good. the shower was powerful - i have long hair and hate piddly showers! had a big screen in the bar for sports, this is where we had dinner as dogs are welcome in there too which was fab! not a massive choice on the menu but decent portions. perfect location right in the centre, 2 mins walk from railway station. enjoyed our stay, will go back. ideal for people with pets!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank be-jay32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel

Property: Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AB, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run three-star hotel, cafe, bar and bunkhouse in Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia. Selected dog-friendly rooms available. All rooms en-suit with tea and coffee making facilities. Food served till late seven days a week. Drying room and mountain bike lock-up available. Walkers, bikers, climbers welcome, suitable for activity holidays. Welsh speaking staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing