We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beauty, tranquillity and homely warmth”
other travellers have booked this property
Our house in the garden overlooking Snowdonia
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our house in the garden overlooking Snowdonia
The Snowdon Range from Capel Curig Our house, front approach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Our house in the garden overlooking Snowdonia
The Snowdon Range from Capel Curig
Our house, front approach
The Garden House - terrace view
The Garden House - double door entrance, covered area on the sunny side.
The Garden House - kitchen entrance
The Lounge - garden and mountains view
The Dining Room - gardens view
The Twin Bedroom - garden view
9. Picture window - from the Lounge
The Lounge
The en-suite bathroom
Lounge easily converts to bedroom in 10 secs
Shower room - difficult to photograph!
Part of the Kitchen
11. Lilies
12. Irises
13. Garden steps
14. Magnolia beside the pond
15. Cherry
16. Azaleas
17. More garden steps
18. Fuschia
19. Garden - arched entrance
20. The top garden
21. Rose
23. Summer residence
25. The Willow
26. Rhodo bush
27. The front lawn - mountain view
35. Climbing in  Snowdonia
Monty and Pamela Martin - The Ascent of Snowdon
Nick Martin at the Standing Stone, Miners' / PyG Track, Snowdon
Daniel Martin - Navigator, Snowdon
31. Betws-y-Coed - Pont-y-Pair (Bridge of the Cauldron)
34. Caernarfon Castle
32. Blubell Wood
37. Conwy harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mariusz J
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beauty, tranquillity and homely warmth”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Together with my wife and a couple of Friends we came here for just a few nights. First impression was very positive - nice approach. Farther was only better and better. The property, surrounded by alpine gardens, just 'sunk' in flowers. Situated on the hill with a stunning view from windows and terrace. We've got there everything we needed. Add the outstanding hospitality and knowledge about local attractions and mountains routes. And the willingness for help in any aspects, just makes a perfect service. We'll be back soon!

Marius & Margaret

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
Dear Mariusz & Margaret and Mariusz & Magdalene,

Thank you for submitting a very nice Review.

We are happy that you all enjoyed your stay here but, it must be said, it was clear from the start that you were all going to have a terrific time together. Such a cheerful party.

It was great that you managed to do so much in such a short time: the summit of Snowdon (the highest peak in England and Wales); Glyder Fach via Tryfan Bach (an exciting route) - the huge Cantilever Stone; and (for your Rest Day) Portmeirion Village.

After all that, none of you seemed in the least bit tired!

Thank you for coming - and many thanks for leaving the house so clean.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Sincerely,

Geoff and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonel_R...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I, plus parents in law, recently visited Betws-y-Coed and stayed at Geoffrey and Wendy's Country Garden House.

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The cottage itself is in an incredible location, surrounded by beautiful gardens and amazing views. The Welsh weather is always guaranteed to surprise, but be it rain or shine, the cottage is a lovely retreat and ideal for relaxation as well as recreation.

On-site facilities are excellent. The kitchen is well appointed with just about everything you're likely to need, the bath and shower rooms are very well kept, and with the bedrooms/living area there's ample space for four adults.

There's plenty to do in Betws-y-Coed, with good amenities and numerous walks to discover, yet the location of the Country Garden House is such that exploring the whole of North Wales is easily achievable. The location is excellent and, though the accommodation is a hidden gem, it is easily found using the directions supplied by Geoffrey and Wendy.

And that brings us to the real highlight of our stay - the wonderful hosts. Geoffrey and Wendy couldn't do enough to ensure our visit was comfortable. We had frequent weather updates, walking maps, suggestions on things to see and, of course, excellent conversation.

The temperamental weather kept us from the top of Snowdon this time around, but we're already looking forward to returning to what is now our favourite holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Welsh Weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Dear Sian and Parm,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, and thank you for coming.

Thank you very much for such a comprehensive review - we shall have to live up to it!

An especial thank you for sorting out our Broadband and Internet connection. Everything is fine now and the signal strength is better than ever. Thanks to you, our future Guests will not have to suffer the intermittent reception of previous years. Suffer? Some guests like to browse the Internet as soon as they arrive, whereas others, who are more relaxed like us, are quite happy to switch it off for the duration of their stay and soak up the ambience of Snowdonia. So, now our guests have the best of both worlds: good internet and a very pleasant place in which to take a holiday.

We look forward to seeing you again one day.

Again, thank you very much,

Sincerely,

Wendy and Geoffrey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liddy K
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful short stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A wonderful short break. The accommodation was just right, everything we needed and more. The views were breath taking. The gardens, a tribute to Wendy and Geoffrey. Wendy and Geoffrey were most helpful, and gave us some great ideas for walks etc. We will have to return, if only to investigate the walks around Golygfa'r Llywelyn. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: No problems at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thank you, Liddy and John, for coming to stay and thank you for your nice Review. We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your stay here, despite the poor weather (it has been lovely since your departure!).

Well done: you walked right around Llyn Elsi, our local lake up in the Gwydyr Forest. We also very much like it up there as it is a very beautiful and quiet place to be.

Next time you come, we shall have some more lovely walking routes ready for you.

Sincerely,

Wendy and Geoffrey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sehartari...
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful garden - clean and very pleasant”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here for a short stay with my family. Was pleasantly surprised with the surrounding land and gardens. They are even more beautiful than the pictures. The rooms were clean and tidy, absolutely immaculate. Geoffrey and Wendy were extremely helpful with providing guidance for nearby areas to visit and also any equipment we may have needed. Only downfall would be that the wi-fi was down and getting signal in the area was a problem. Spent most of the time phone-less! If this had not been a problem I would definitely rate this 5 stars. Geoffrey and Wendy did however let us borrow the landline and gave an open invitation to use the wi-fi within the office, but we made do without. Would definitely recommend to anyone thinking of staying.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Dear Sehar, and Tariq, Shahida and Hassan,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here.

We are sorry that you had problems with your Smart Phones and we do understand that you rely so much on them.

Yes, the Wi-Fi was particularly troublesome the weekend that you were here, in fact we lost the Internet connection for a while but, fortunately, it's now in working order again. We are presently upgrading the British Telecom Wi-Fi system - watch this space!

As for mobile telephones, well, it's better to use the landline. However, mobile O2 is the best, and pretty good if you stand on the "X-marks this spot". Alternatively, the best mobile telephone signal and the best Internet signal is in the office. We are happy for guests to pop in at any time to use our landline telephone and get the best Internet signal, but yes, we do understand that guests prefer their own signal 24/7 !

The poor signals are due to the wonderful environment in which we live: the surrounding hillsides, forests and mountains and, of course, the clean air. We very much like that environment and are quite happy to trade off some technology for it. Some guests actually prefer the enforced peace and quiet! We do as well.

BT has promised us better service in the future, so watch this space......

Thank you for staying here; we enjoyed your company and we look forward to meeting you again sometime.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez347
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely garden view attached to this annex”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We were guests of Geoffrey and Wendy last week and had a lovely stay.
I traveled with my mother, wife and 2 year old daughter and our hosts were very helpful during our stay.
We especially enjoyed the views from our lounge and the excellent garden even though our daughter spent most of her time with the pet cat or on the swings.
We will definitely explore more of Snowdonia next time we visit to make more use of their excellent knowledge. However we did get to see Abersoch and Portmeiron which were excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: Mobile phone and Wifi were intermittent but it is in the middle of nowhere so was to be expected.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Dear Gerald, Louise, Noilette and Family,

Thank you for posting a nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to your coming again sometime.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ash79rebe...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage and lovely owners”
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a fantastic stay at the country garden house. The cottage is cozy and very well equipped. Geoffrey and Wendy are a lovely couple and very helpful with everything from giving us cycling tips and making sure we were comfortable. We had coffee with them on one evening and exchanged cycling stories. I would highly recommend this cottage for anyone wanting to explore the area on foot or bikes. Betws y Coed is very child friendly and has lovely places to eat. The location of the cottage is excellent with amazing views. Also directions to the cottage couldn't have been more precise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location and owners were very sweet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Dear Ashwin and Biking Mates,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor; we appreciate that very much and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here.

I am afraid that our input was quite minimal compared to yourselves; it was obvious from the moment you arrived that you were going to enjoy yourselves - whatever the weather. Despite coming on one of the wettest weekends of the year (how did you manage that?) you completed the Marin Trail in double-quick time. Well done! I shall always remember you all hosing down your bikes and also hosing yourselves.

We loved hearing about your biking exploits as it is some time now since we last had bikes. The next best thing to doing it is swapping stories about it!

We very much look forward to seeing you again. Would you like us to book some fine weather for you? - or would that spoil your fun!

Sincerely,

Geoffrey and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandhyaMo...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must stay if visiting Snowdonia”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Extremely lovely cottage with all necessary amenities. Stayed there with my family and we completely enjoyed the place along with its lovely gardens and great views. The owners Wendy and Geoffrey are such lovely people: extremely helpful, gave us tips on walking routes, places to see and even gave us a lift back home when we got lost during one of our walks. We had dinner in the garden gazing at beautiful mountain views. Close drive to the various trekking routes for Snowdon. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and location
Liked least: not very good wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Dear Sandhya, Vivek, Krishna Kumari and Moise,

Thank you very much for your review.

Well! You certainly got a lot done in the short time that you were here, climbing Snowdon the highest mountain in Wales, and braving the Zip Wires at Blaenau Ffestiniog. Not forgetting your getting lost on one of our lovely local walks. It was a pleasure to "rescue" you in the LandRover. Happy to help, any time, and looking forward to seeing you all again sometime.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing