We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garth Dderwen Guest House
Ranked #28 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great location”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The room was very comfortable and everything was very clean. Breakfast was excellent. Francis was very friendly and very helpful suggesting things to do in the area. This property is right in the heart of town and it is easy to get to shops and restaurants. Right near the small falls and the pedestrian suspension bridge. You have to eat at point y pair. Their food is excellent. Try the chicken wrapped in bacon. Outstanding. Only draw back was parking was a little tight but still great and it was free. The house has cable and good tv reception but could do with wifi access.

Room Tip: Loved room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labutlercpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
28
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My family and I spent three days at Garth Dderwen during Easter. This B&B Guest House is just five minute walk from the train station. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable equipped with TV and free Wi-Fi internet access. Breakfast was abundant and delicious and our hosts, Eifion and Frances, are also very friendly and gave us tons of good tips. Betws-Y-Coed is such an amazing place to visit; if you like nature, this is it!
We will surely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canallon40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here over the Easter break with a group of friends. Our hosts were full of good ideas and advice. Rooms were immaculate, beds very comfortable and breakfasts really something to look forward to in the morning!
I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tidykiwi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here over Easter weekend. We were welcomed by the lovely hosts and a pot of hot tea. The b&b is clean, tidy, homely and comfortable. We didn't want to leave. The breakfasts are complete with bacon, eggs, sausages, baked beans, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast etc. There wasn't anything missing.

Location is perfect, a short walk to great restaurants. We visited 3 different ones and all were great. Top pick was Pont-y-Pair pub. Fantastic food in a local atmosphere.

Would highly recommend staying at Garth Dderwen Guest house. Fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

stayed at the Garth Dderwen B&B last weekend (9th to 11th Feb 2012). great weekend in a nice, clean & friendly B&B. the friendly & warm welcome is what meets you, your sure of good food & advice on thing to do on your visit We would have no problem in recommending a visit what ever time of year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed here for the New Year break, as friends were staying at a rented house opposite. Frances could not have been more welcoming, and really made us feel at home. We stayed in Room 1 which allowed us to view the house where our friends were staying and it was a very cosy room. The ensuite was adequate, although the wash basin was rather tiny. Kettle with plenty of tea, coffee, drinking chocolate etc to make a drink after returning on a cold day was a welcome asset as was the hot shower with plenty of hot water. The room also had an extra electrical radiator besides the normal radiators just in case you felt cold. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty and also proper coffee was served. We would certainly recommend Garth Dderwen Guest House to people who want to stay in a quieter area of Betws y Coed as it is convenient for the main road but with no traffic noise. Frances also sells a few pieces of costume jewellery so an added bonus.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lymmbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

The best advantage of this B&B is off from the main road, so safe to park your car and if u have naughty kids, then its safe as there is no traffic on the road.. you are cut off from the noise of cars ramming around the highway. Beds comfartable, rooms crampy but cozy.. For 35 quid, its worth a stay and Betws-y-coed being the starting point/ the base camp to explore snowdonia, this is the best place to stay. Breakfast is amazing, the complete house is mindblowing.. Frances has maintained the house very clean and decorated very wisely. You will get a homely feeling. I urge everyone to stay here if you visiting snowdonia...

Room Tip: Do not take the room on second floor. You will not get wifi signal in that room.. Hence, am on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.0 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Courthouse (Henllys)
The Courthouse (Henllys)
#18 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mary's Court Guest House
Mary's Court Guest House
#19 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coed-y-Fron Guest House
Coed-y-Fron Guest House
#27 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Dderwen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Dderwen Guest House

Property: Garth Dderwen Guest House
Address: Vicarage Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Garth Dderwen Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garth Dderwen guesthouse is located in a quiet off road position in the village of Betws y Coed, close to main railway station, restaurants ,shops, mountain bike hire ,mountain bike routes ,forest walks, river walks,lake walks, golf course, bus routes to Snowdon and other areas. Six bedrooms with en suite single ,twin, double bedrooms, free Wi- fi, TV in all rooms, guest lounge, maps and guide books, local knowledge for information, Full breakfast, cycle storage ,cycle wash area, drying facilities, Car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Garth Dderwen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garth Dderwen Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing