We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed, breakfast and bonhomie!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garth Dderwen Guest House
Ranked #23 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This visit started off as a business trip, but we came away as if we had been on holiday! Frances runs a great guest house - the welcome is friendly, the rooms are very comfortable, and the breakfasts are second to none (and served at times to suit us!!). On top of that, we were kept supplied with tea/coffee/cakes/biscuits at all hours - very welcome after a cold day out in the mountains around Betws, Llanrwst and beyond. Garth Dderwen is in an ideal location - right in the middle of Betws, but off the main road, so nice and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - and I think you will too!!

Room Tip: We had a variety of rooms - all were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n10tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

A lovely, nicely furnished house. With nice bedrooms. The house is situated in an site road so that it is quite. You can either go for a hike directly from the house or take the bus to the different hikes of the Snowdon from around the corner. The breakfast is very tasty and very caring landlord and landlady. I enjoyed my stay and I will go there again next year.

Anselm

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank AnsF186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We loved the Guest House both from the outside and from the inside. It is very cosy, quiet and clean and the owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and they also provided gluten free bread for my girlfriend who is coeliac. They tried to help us with the places to visit and we enjoyed their company. The room was very nice and we cannot find something which we did not like. The location if perfect, just two mins walk from the train station and bus station especially for those who will make us of public transport. The price was really reasonable compared to other guest houses/hotels in the area. Many thanks for providing us a perfect stay in North Wales :)

Room Tip: Room 2 was very nice and even though not an ensuite, having a private bathroom just accross the land...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMicallef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Stayed here with my dad for a walking weekend in Snowdonia. Arrived at 9pm after a long drive, and were greeted with a huge smile, and a much needed cup of tea and plate of biscuits.

Had a twin room at the top of the B&B. Very comfy beds, enough space to hang up wet walking gear (there's a boot room somewhere as well I believe but we didn't need it), and tea-making facilities and biscuits in the room. No en-suite, but shared a bathroom with one other room, which was kept clean and tidy throughout our stay.

Breakfast was a normal B&B affair with offers of a full English, toast, yoghurts, cereal and lots of fresh fruit that I tucked into hungrily. Previous B&Bs I've stayed in have fruit that seems to have been sitting out on the side for a number of weeks, and is more for show, than eating. Not here! Had the option of apples, pears, bananas, melon, grapes and strawberries- very happy.

Hosts were lovely- very friendly and always on hand to fill up water bottles, or to offer advice on what to do when the weather turned.

The B&B is in the heart of the village, so is in easy walking distance to pubs, shops and bakeries, and only a short drive to Snowdon.

Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Some bathrooms have en suites. If this is important to you, check before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Ive just come back from a weekend break in Bets-y-coed and only have praise for our hosts Frances and Eifion at Garth Dderwen Guest House. The location is on a side street just off the main road and within walking distance of local attractions and ammenities.

My brother and his wife travelled seperatly and when they arrived they had a flat tyre. In the morning, the hosts went out of their way attempting to try and help remove the tyre and replace as well as giving advice on local garages and providing numbers. Nothing was too much trouble for this dynamic duo ;-)

We were provided with all sorts of information on where to visit during the day and even where is good to eat at night - I can recommend the Dragon Chinese restaurant just on the edge of the village - food was supurb ;-)
The rooms are clean and cosy with tv, kettle and refreshments. Our room was a double with en-suite and the bed was soooo comfortable.

Breakfast was plentiful and very well cooked - just what you need to fuel up before a long day hiking.

The service and charm were impeccable and I really can not find any faults with this place - would highly recommend yu stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annarose34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a great weekend in Betys y Coed. Frances who runs the guest house was really friendly and helpful. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfy. The breakfast was great too.

The guest house is in a convenient spot in Betys, great for accessing all that Snowdonia has to offer. It's a 2 minute walk to the Sherpa bus stop to get to Pen Y Pass to walk up Snowdon. It's also close to the pubs/shops in the village.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We spent 3 nights in this delightful B&B over the Jubille weekend. The hosts were lovely and the tray of tea and biscuits when we arrived was a lovely touch.

The house was homely and we were made to feel very welcome. We got soaked one day and our hosts took away all our wet clothes and returned them the next day dry as a bone.

The price was good for the area and the location was perfect, only 2 minutes walk from the station.

Lots of lovely walks from the B&B, we walked up to Lake Ellis and up to Swallow Falls. We also went up Snowdon (the Sherpa bus is a good way to get around locally and I think it is £1 single).

Breakfast was also lovely.

We had a lovely time and would recommend this B&B for anyone visiting Snowdonia.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which is at the very top of the house in the eves. We got the impression that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLady148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
32 reviews
15.0 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Llety Betws
Llety Betws
#26 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garth Dderwen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garth Dderwen Guest House

Address: Vicarage Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £67 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garth Dderwen Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garth Dderwen guesthouse is located in a quiet off road position in the village of Betws y Coed, close to main railway station, restaurants ,shops, mountain bike hire ,mountain bike routes ,forest walks, river walks,lake walks, golf course, bus routes to Snowdon and other areas. Six bedrooms with en suite single ,twin, double bedrooms, free Wi- fi, TV in all rooms, guest lounge, maps and guide books, local knowledge for information, Full breakfast, cycle storage ,cycle wash area, drying facilities, Car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Garth Dderwen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garth Dderwen Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing