We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Park Hill Guest House
Ranked #27 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very warm welcome and plenty of information regarding the local area supplied. Good size, clean, comfortable room. Had a problem with the television, which was quickly resolved by the hosts. Good breakfast with plenty of choices. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights because we planned to climb Snowdon. Betws y Coed is beautiful, we spent the first afternoon wandering round the lovely village. The B&B room was fine, decor a little dated but the room was comfortable and clean.

We tried to use the pool on the first day and were disappointed, the pool was cold (warm enough to swim lengths but this wasn't our plan) and the sauna is very old, a third of the floor panels were missing exposing dirty floor and the wood sap has leaked all over the seating area. You have to turn the sauna on and it takes 40 mins to heat up, fine if you know this. No timer, thermostat or alarm. My advice would be don't book this place based on the pool.

What really really let this place down was the breakfast. I would bet my house that it's prepared the night before and warmed up. Everything was cold, the hash brown grey and hard, bacon limp and mushrooms tepid. I don't think it's locally produced products, the sausage was very processed. This was the worst breakfast I've ever had. The second day I asked for my bacon & sausages well done, which actually redeemed it a little as they were hot when served, until I found a hair in my egg.

Will not be visiting again. I've stayed at B&B's half the price and twice as good. Wifi doesn't work at all either.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tashwa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaGhis, Owner at The Park Hill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you and we hoped you would.

First a general point: if you encounter a problem, don’t hesitate to ask the staff or owner.

The sauna a point in case: there is a thermostat/ temperature setting left of the door. In the highest position it takes between 7 and 10 minutes to heat. The pool is for swimming, it isn’t an extended bath tub. It is 29C. A temperature of 30C or more would mean less comfortable swimming, but also a legally compulsory doubling of the chlorine contents. That would affect comfort too.

The WiFi another point: Apple devices are sometimes temperamental with our WiFi, due to the thick walls partly still covered with the original 1869 lead containing plaster. In most cases an iPhone picks up the signal after we reset the booster. Were we asked? No.

Could you send me your house keys please?
The food is prepared in the morning just before the breakfast orders are taken, in conformity with the Health and Hygiene rules.
We serve exclusively award winning sausages and bacon from Metcalfe’s in Llanrwst.
The hash browns are put into the oven, not baked gold brown.
Though something like a hair in your egg most likely was a natural occurrence following the frying of the egg itself: in case of any doubt, why haven’t you sent back, as I would have done?

Short: if you’ve got a complaint, don’t wait until you are home to tell. Then it’s too late to rectify or explain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was the perfect palce for our mid wek break A clean and friendly hotel with the added luxory of a pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Superb breakfast and tastefully decorated rooms.Plus some wonderful teddies!!! We will be back :)

Room Tip: A sauna at 3am is a wonderful thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Park Hill Guest House is a very short walk from the train station but feels like you're way out in the country. The owners and staff are very friendly and make you feel at home from the minute you step through the door. Pool and Sauna are a fantastic bonus (especially after a trip up Snowdon) and you can expect a hearty breakfast in the morning. We also had an extremely comfy bed! Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Bring a device with wifi if you need to contact anyone while you're away as some rooms have limi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here on a last minute get away. Friendly owners who made us feel very welcome. Rooms were very clean, tidy and had all of the normal facilities you would expect at a BandB plus a small indoor pool and sauna.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Martyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely hosts and comfortable stay. We had to leave early for the Snowdon trek and Guislane was easily accomodating. Jacob was also very helpful with his chats.Rooms were clean and comfortable.Twin beds may have been to soft but hopefully you wont spend too much time indoors.Would book again on the next adventure in beautiful Wales.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fino4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

After attending the 2014 Dragon Rally it was blowing a gale and costantly raining we arrived at Park Hill cold and wet .We received a kindly welcome and our room was warm all afternoon and evening enabling us to dry our gear. Our motorbikes were safely parked and sheltered from the strong winds. After a hearty breakfast we departed on our 200 mile ride home. Park Hill is well situated with stunning views

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank kasiap1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
2.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
Dolweunydd Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summer Hill House
Summer Hill House
#9 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hill Guest House

Address: Llanrwst Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales (Formerly Park Hill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £76 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is YOUR castle. We like to offer the service we like to receive ourselves. 8 rooms all en-suite and with an indoor heated swimming pool (4 * 11 m, 1m40 deep) + sauna/jacuzzi free and exclusively for our guests, open 24h/day. Free WiFi. Housed in victorian 1869 built private house with some pittoresque features. Breath taking views on Snowdon foothills. Renowned for its informal, friendly service and its teddybear and music collections. Secluded carpark. Safe storage of mountain bikes. Ideally situated. Golf course, train station and village within 6 minutes walking distance. Free shuttle from train station. Snowdon and seaside 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Park Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hill Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing