We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Park Hill Guest House
Ranked #27 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Just spent 3 lovely days at this B&B. Our hosts and staff were very welcoming. Lovely atmosphere. The rooms were very clean with a comfortable bed and outstanding views as we had a front bedroom on the 3rd floor. The breakfast was excellent with very tasty produce and a very varied choice. It was lovely to walk the 5-10 mins through the side of the farm opposite and walk across the suspension bridge to the village. We didn't use the swimming pool but it would be a very nice treat not usually included in a B&B. We would definitely recommend the Park Hill and hope to return again one day. Keep up the good work Jaap and Ghislaine.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 304irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were made to feel very welcome by the hosts and even Connie the cat! The room was fine (although bathroom a little damp smelling) and the pool was lovely after a walk - we had it all to ourselves too, this is an 'extra' that is unusual in a B and B. It was a shame we weren't told on the arrival that if we wanted fish for breakfast we should say the night before, we found out in the morning as its written in the breakfast menu, but was a bit late to find this out. When we did have the fish, the second day, it was beautifully cooked with lovely poached eggs and brown toast, this is after cereal, fruit and yoghurt - so ample, tasty breakfasts are available. All staff very nice and the owners go out of their way to assist you in any way they can, they seem to genuinely enjoy having guests, which is lovely, we'll certainly return if in that area again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed at the Park Hill Guest House for one night as part of a quick trip to Betws-y-Coed. The owners and staff were so friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed the pool and sauna, and the room was homey and comfy. AND they made me a vegetarian sausage for breakfast - so nice to have this option!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dss321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Very warm welcome and plenty of information regarding the local area supplied. Good size, clean, comfortable room. Had a problem with the television, which was quickly resolved by the hosts. Good breakfast with plenty of choices. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights because we planned to climb Snowdon. Betws y Coed is beautiful, we spent the first afternoon wandering round the lovely village. The B&B room was fine, decor a little dated but the room was comfortable and clean.

We tried to use the pool on the first day and were disappointed, the pool was cold (warm enough to swim lengths but this wasn't our plan) and the sauna is very old, a third of the floor panels were missing exposing dirty floor and the wood sap has leaked all over the seating area. You have to turn the sauna on and it takes 40 mins to heat up, fine if you know this. No timer, thermostat or alarm. My advice would be don't book this place based on the pool.

What really really let this place down was the breakfast. I would bet my house that it's prepared the night before and warmed up. Everything was cold, the hash brown grey and hard, bacon limp and mushrooms tepid. I don't think it's locally produced products, the sausage was very processed. This was the worst breakfast I've ever had. The second day I asked for my bacon & sausages well done, which actually redeemed it a little as they were hot when served, until I found a hair in my egg.

Will not be visiting again. I've stayed at B&B's half the price and twice as good. Wifi doesn't work at all either.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tashwa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaGhis, Owner at The Park Hill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you and we hoped you would.

First a general point: if you encounter a problem, don’t hesitate to ask the staff or owner.

The sauna a point in case: there is a thermostat/ temperature setting left of the door. In the highest position it takes between 7 and 10 minutes to heat. The pool is for swimming, it isn’t an extended bath tub. It is 29C. A temperature of 30C or more would mean less comfortable swimming, but also a legally compulsory doubling of the chlorine contents. That would affect comfort too.

The WiFi another point: Apple devices are sometimes temperamental with our WiFi, due to the thick walls partly still covered with the original 1869 lead containing plaster. In most cases an iPhone picks up the signal after we reset the booster. Were we asked? No.

Could you send me your house keys please?
The food is prepared in the morning just before the breakfast orders are taken, in conformity with the Health and Hygiene rules.
We serve exclusively award winning sausages and bacon from Metcalfe’s in Llanrwst.
The hash browns are put into the oven, not baked gold brown.
Though something like a hair in your egg most likely was a natural occurrence following the frying of the egg itself: in case of any doubt, why haven’t you sent back, as I would have done?

Short: if you’ve got a complaint, don’t wait until you are home to tell. Then it’s too late to rectify or explain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was the perfect palce for our mid wek break A clean and friendly hotel with the added luxory of a pool,jacuzzi and sauna. Superb breakfast and tastefully decorated rooms.Plus some wonderful teddies!!! We will be back :)

Room Tip: A sauna at 3am is a wonderful thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Park Hill Guest House is a very short walk from the train station but feels like you're way out in the country. The owners and staff are very friendly and make you feel at home from the minute you step through the door. Pool and Sauna are a fantastic bonus (especially after a trip up Snowdon) and you can expect a hearty breakfast in the morning. We also had an extremely comfy bed! Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Bring a device with wifi if you need to contact anyone while you're away as some rooms have limi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
798 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#4 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
608 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Hill Guest House

Address: Llanrwst Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales (Formerly Park Hill Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £74 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home is YOUR castle. We like to offer the service we like to receive ourselves. 8 rooms all en-suite and with an indoor heated swimming pool (4 * 11 m, 1m40 deep) + sauna/jacuzzi free and exclusively for our guests, open 24h/day. Free WiFi. Housed in victorian 1869 built private house with some pittoresque features. Breath taking views on Snowdon foothills. Renowned for its informal, friendly service and its teddybear and music collections. Secluded carpark. Safe storage of mountain bikes. Ideally situated. Golf course, train station and village within 6 minutes walking distance. Free shuttle from train station. Snowdon and seaside 30 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Park Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Hill Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing