We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Park Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
98
44
17
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
44
17
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and saunaguest houselady ownerpublic footpathswing bridgeb bpicturesque walktop floorfull english breakfastrooms were very cleancouple of nightslovely placefriendly place to staylovely hostsmini breaknorth waleslovely couple
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for a few days in June 2014, we thoroughly enjoyed it, Jaap and Ghislaine and their staff were friendly and helpful. We loved the pool and sauna, we had it to ourselves when we used it, but that was in the evening, after dinner. Breakfast was lovely and the room was clean with a great view. We would recommend The Park Hill.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have the best views!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here with my mom for a long weekend, when we arrived, they welcomed us with open arms! The house felt very homy, the room was lovely, everything was very clean. There was wifi available at all times, and the staff were very kind and considerate. The indoor swimming pool was great, a good way, to freshen up! The location of the house was very useful, close to the village, and of course a wonder green surrounding, great for hiking! Breakfast was also very nice with a wide variety of options to choose from. We will defiantly come back and have another lovely stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Remember The Bates Motel? Well, maybe this wasn't quite as bad as that but it does rate as one of the worst hotel experiences we've had in many years of travel. This is also the first time hotels.com disappointed us, and greatly, because prior reviews on the site were so far from reality. Advertised as a hotel with an indoor swimming pool, we expected a large modern accommodation. Instead, this is an old, ill-kept home with worn and dirty carpets, cheaply altered bathrooms, and a general air of dreary sadness and decline, where we questioned whether or not the sheets had been laundered. The owner seems to have an obsession with stuffed teddy bears, which were everywhere. The "indoor pool" was accessible through a dark, decrepit hallway. It was, indeed, a pool but apparently made largely of plastic and covered to preserve heat; we were instructed to remove the cover if we wanted to swim. The room smelled strange and, needless to say, we chose not to take advantage of the option. The tiny sauna looked even more dank and frightening. We didn't stay for the complimentary breakfast but ran out as early as possible the following morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TobyP871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaGhis, Owner at The Park Hill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We know who are writing the reviews here and elsewhere: people who take the trouble to check the websites of our place and see what it is like and check what they see with their expectations.

We not even advertise ourselves as a hotel, we are a guest house with only eight rooms and the building is an 1869 built Victorian House. This is immediately clear as soon as one checks our website. And have a look at the pictures: it shows you e.g. the presence of teddy bears.

How our swimming pool looks is immediately visible at our website too, as it is the large picture at the top. What is wrong with covering the pool itself? Keeping the heat in is an energy saving measure, but some people seem not to be interested in energy saving. We are, and we are proud of it. And on request we are very happy to take the cover off and put it back for you as well.

The swimming pool area is housed in a Scandinavian type log building, and we prefer to have fall proof floors in stead of tiles. Obviously there are people who prefer to break limbs in stead of assessing the why of what they are seeing. What you smelled in the swimming pool is called chlorine – I am afraid you prefer to swim in non-chlorinated water. Whether you like to take that risk is your decision, we don’t expose our guests to that, even apart of the legal obligation of chlorinating the water.

We differ regarding the state of our recently upgraded bathrooms and we don’t understand your opinion of the service offered, as you haven’t taken the opportunity to be served breakfast – but I assume that our award winning sausages and bacon wouldn’t have been to your taste anyway.

May we also point out that our guest house is our home too. We find it offending that you think you are allowed to declare our home “in decline”, as that is simply untrue. We live here and by far the best part of our guests are enjoying our place and our company.
A pity that you didn’t.
But that’s life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends for one night, the owners were very friendly and accommodating- they made us feel so welcome. The location is great for walking round betwsycoed, the rooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped, with ensuite bathrooms and we found it great value for money. The views from all the rooms were beautiful - we had a party in the pool/sauna room later on which was lots of fun.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslucky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Me and a group of friends spent one night at The Park Hill Guest house and enjoyed every second of it. The owners and staff are very friendly and made us feel welcome. The sauna and pool area is amazing and we had lots of fun in there. The bedrooms where clean and homey with beautiful views out of the windows. We all had a blast. Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews