We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well maintained traditional cottage”

Review of Y Neuadd Lwyd

Grade II Listed Welsh stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Grade II Listed Welsh stone cottage
Living area with beamed ceiling & inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Grade II Listed Welsh stone cottage
Living area with beamed ceiling & inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
Perfect for cosy nights in front of the fire.
Living area with beamed ceiling & inglenook fireplace with wood burning stove.
'Slouchy leather sofa's to relax in.
Open plan living - view from living area to kitchen/diner
Modern fitted kitchen with ceramic hob, electric cooker and dishwasher.
Modern fitted kitchen with granite worktops.
Individually designed Bedroom 1
Views over the Snowdonia countryside from bedroom1
Bedroom 1 with modern en-suite shower room
Bedroom 1 en-suite shower room
Bedroom 1 en-suite shower room
Individually designed Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 with modern en-suite shower room
Bedroom 2 en-suite shower room
Bedroom 2 en-suite shower room
External utility room also doubles up a secure lockable storage for bikes.
Patio doors from living area onto timber decking and private courtyard garden.
Relax and appreciate the peace, quiet and stunning scenery.
Dolwyddelan village at the foot of Moel Siabod and Snowdon in the background.
View of Lledr Valley with Dolwyddelan in the distance.
Dolwyddelan Castle - 15 minute walk from the doorstep.
Grade I Listed 15th Century St. Gwyddelan's Church - 2 minute walk from the doorstep
Well situated for walking and mountain biking.
Zip World Velocity is the fastest zip line in the world - 45 minute drive.
Snowdon Mountain Railway - 40 minute drive.
Bounce below is set in a disused slate cavern - 10 minute drive.
Bodnant Gardens - 20 minute drive.
The coastline of North West Wales with it's safe sandy beaches are easily accessible by car
Stunning local scenery within walking distance from the doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mahesteph...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well maintained traditional cottage”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I can see why guests return to the cottage. Well equipped and amidst some wonderful forest and mountains. Most important for us was the peace and quiet – it is down a lane by a church and there is no disturbance. This was our main criteria and the cottage delivered.
The cottage itself is laid out on two floors – good size rooms each with en suite electric shower, comfortable beds and homely feel. Downstairs a good size kitchen with most things you need. Lounge is comfortable with TV, wood burning stove and an electric heater. The various books and small artwork a nice touch. There is also a utility area: great for storing bikes.

Less positively for us was the cold which was a touch dispiriting on occasion. Yes, you could stock the stove with wood and feed the meter to keep the electric heater on which we did for the evenings. With both the lounge was warm. But we must be going ‘soft’ with our central heating at home as it was just not practical to heat all of the cottage all the time you are in it. It is nonetheless a good discipline to wear more clothes and to think about using less energy. There was also adequate bedding to keep warm overnight. And the owner may rightly say that you could have the electric heater in the lounge on a timer - we never did master this and we could have asked for more advice.

And while we did not come to the cottage to 'surf the net' there was no wi-fi signal or connection available anywhere within the confines of the cottage. This was not - as pointed out by the owner - related to the rural location - there was a perfectly good speed for most reasonable internet tasks if you sat in the patio area outside where a signal was available. While this would be fine for summer it was not practical in mid October.
Overall though neither of these points detracted from this being good accommodation - very peaceful, as advertised (wi-fi aside) and ideal for exploring a beautiful part of the country where the locals were very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Charm of the cottage
Liked least: Cold outside the main room and no inside access to wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your week with us and found the cottage well maintained and comfortable. Given the time of year the weather was perfect for your chosen activities of walking and cycling, crisp mornings followed by typically sunny Autumn days.
We are really sorry you didn't ask for a second demonstration about how to set the electric heater timer as we would have been more than happy to have shown you.

We would like to remind guests that our rates are set very reasonably compared to similar properties in the area to allow for the additional cost of electricity, our Autumn/Winter rates are £280 - £252 per week (excluding holiday periods) where as similar properties are £320 + therefore as advertised please be prepared to spend on average £3/£4 per day during Autumn/Winter months on electricity.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hair108
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved it”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We were very lucky with the weather that week which made our stay even more special. Comfortable, welcoming and clean.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49trees
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Spent a week in this lovely converted cottage near Betws-y-Coed. Cottage was clean and very comfortable. Two generous sized double bedrooms with on suite. Z bed available for additional guest. The owners had thought of everything to make our stay stress free and were available if needed. Ideally situated for the attractions in the area with something for everyone, you don't need to be walkers. Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend. We stayed with 4 adults and a teenager.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ange102
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This is a lovely cottage with everything we required for our stay. The cottage is beautifully maintained and well equipped. Dolwyddelan is an excellent location to explore North Wales and is a pretty village with some lovely walks. The children (8 and 7) particularly enjoyed "Bounce Below" in neighbouring Blenau Ffestiniog.
The owners Helen and Ian were very welcoming.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah E
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to relax”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We found the cottage to be the perfect place to relax and unwind. It's well-placed for exploring Snowdonia, Llanberis is a half hour drive through amazing scenery; we managed to climb Snowdon on the one good weather day we had. The cottage is ideal as a base for holiday activities or as a peaceful place to get away from the world and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Rain!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevewlr
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely well equipped cottage off a quiet road in the village. Local well stocked Spar shop just up the road. Elen's Castle Hotel on the main road serves excellent evening meals. Superb bird watching from garden to mountain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Self-catering at its best”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from our third consecutive annual stay at Y Neuadd L Wyd and have already booked for next year, which speaks for itself. We have been holidaying in the village of Dolwyddelan for over twenty years. It is a beautiful, quiet and restful place to chill out, but geographically it is excellent for exploring North Wales, whether you use train, car or your feet. The accommodation is a very old building tastefully modernized to provide all that you could possibly want.in the way of personal comfort. A well stocked and reasonably priced Spar shop is 100 yards away, as is the pub. The railway station is 5 minutes walk away. Your host lives in the adjacent property with her husband and young family incase you have any queries which are not answered by the very full information folder in the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing in front of the real log fire
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing