We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip to Snowdonia”
Review of Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short trip to Snowdonia”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent hotel for anybody wishing to visit Snowdonia. Room was comfortable, staff friendly and welcoming, breakfast fab, and only a small walk into the town. Leisure facilities were good, although we did only use the pool and sauna. Would certainly use this hotel again if I were to visit the area again in future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    252
    84
    24
    9
See reviews for
145
378
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

A wonderful place to have a christamas party, the staff were friendly and attentive nothing was to much trouble. Tha manager arranged everything and when we asked for extras she wa more than happy to accomadate us. The food was amazing and i must say plenty to go around, the waitresses and waiter were so good with us, and to be offered more gravy was a treat! wonderful evening and great great place. We will be back next year, thanks for a wondeful evening to all te staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This was our second visit this year and we were not disappointed.
The welcome from staff is sincere, warm and welcoming. The hotel reception area had been revamped and provides a great entrance to the hotel.
We stayed in one of the rooms at the rear of the hotel and when we walked in we found a bright, clean and well laid out room with a super king bed, sofa and all necessaries.
We used the pool 9 with steam room & sauna) as well as the gym.
Breakfast was 7-30 till 1000 and was just perfect.
On our second night, we ate in the bar ( as there was a Christmas party on in the restaurant) and enjoyed our meals, served up by a troupe of staff (so it all arrived hot !).
The service is exceptionally friendly, in a very genuine way and the staff make a really nice hotel extra special.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 60 at the rear, closest to the entrance. Very handy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fat-Tony1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Comfortable room, great restaurant, reasonably priced. Spa access is a real bonus. Highly recommended if planning a trip to the National Park. Full marks to Eva who really understands what hospitality is all about.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom57LiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here recently for a night , wish it had been longer. The hotel is in a beautiful setting. Our room was very clean & comfortable & very spacious. We made use of the leisure facilities, the pool area & changing rooms were spotlessly clean. Our evening meal at the hotel was very good. Overall I couldn't fault the hotel & had a lovely Birthday weekend, would definitely go back for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fae5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

we booked into the hotel for a wedding function. The reception staff were very friendly, and helpful. The room was £80 a night - a little dear. but huge room with a lot of space, very clean, tea making facilities. The function room was lovely and very modern. The views are fantastic, we stayed in room 20 no view from the window.but amazing room.
The breakfast on the first morning was good, hot and plenty, they didnt ask if we wanted tea we had to ask.
the second morning, after being woken by the builders at 7:55 putting sticky covering on the carpets down the hallway outside our room (very noisy), there was no bacon, eggs or mushrooms, we did ask but had to wait 15 mins. again we had to ask for a pot of tea.
The leisure facilities were great and free, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jaccuzi only negative was the jacuzzi had no time limit on it and 2 men sat in it for 1hour 45mins, we did go in, and they were swearing the whole time. It turned out they were the builders.

Room Tip: room 20, good size no view but not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
13.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Hotel

Property: Waterloo Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AR, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERLOO HOTEL and STATIONS leisure complex is the ideal base for discovering the endless array of what beautiful North Wales and its coast has to offer..... mountain biking on the famous Marin trail, summiting the heights of mount Snowdon, sitting still and taking in the breath-taking scenery, adventure days caving or cannyoning, building sandcastles on one of the many golden beaches or leisurely strolls around lakes and woodland....there is something for everyone... and at the WATERLOO HOTEL our aim is to help you bring your holiday to life.............. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Betws y Coed
Betws-y-Coed Best Western
Waterloo Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing