We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful escape”
Review of Waterloo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterloo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my wife and nine year old daughter in November/December 2013. It was our second visit to the hotel, and we were certainly not disappointed. We stayed in a lodge which had a comfortable double sofa bed for my daughter as well as a huge double for me and my wife. The lodge was well-furnished and comfortable, and we felt at home. We made use of the leisure facilities, which were well-maintained and inviting. The hotel restaurant was wonderful, and catered to all our tastes. The hotel is really well-located, just on the edge of the beautiful little town of Betws-y-Coed. We have recommended it to friends and family and will certainly be going back ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosalindsDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel as a Valentines weekend surprise.

I looked at the hotel on the property and did think it looked nice but when we arrived at the hotel I think it looked much nicer than it did on the internet so was pleasantly surprised.

He had booked one of the lodges at the back of the hotel and they were lovely, a really good size and the view from the back are really nice. He had arranged for a rose and my favourite bottle of Asti to be there for when we arrived. Was really impressed as the hotel didn't stock the particular brand of Asti I like and as my boyfriends specifically requested it the staff went out of their way and arranged it.

We had lunch in the bar - which was really tasty and good value and dinner in the hotel restaurant which was also very nice and I would highly recommend both.

There are a few nice pubs and amenities just 10 minutes walk away from the hotel and if you haven't been Swallow falls is one to see - make sure you have enough change as its £150 at the automatic turn stile.

All in all we had a wonderful time and will definitely stay again soon.

Big thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the lodge rooms - worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The location of the hotel is very good the scenary around Betws -y-Coed is fantastic. We booked
the hotel on a Goupon deal, we were in the rear annex,the rooms are clean but the railway line was at the back of the rooms very close,and eventhough the line is not busy it is noticable when the trains go past, also on each of the days we stayed I was woken very early by the bleeping of the delivery wagons delivering to the kitchens.
The spa is good but it was not busy it is quite small,the pool is ok but the other facilities are not really big enough if a lot of people wanted to use them at the same time.
The breakfast was buffet style and had a good choice it was possible to order other things if you wanted. We did not eat in the restraunt at the hotel in the evenings but used the bar which was very good with friendly staff.
I would stay at the Hotel again with a Groupon deal.

Room Tip: There are rooms over in the main building as well as in an annex at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilbertNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2night break at The Waterloo hotel which we booked via Groupon. We were put in the lodges and the rear of the hotel, they were very spacious and parking right outside.
Had a great nights sleep and great breakfast the next day. Decided to use the gym and pool which were both impressive. Hotel is only a short walk from the shops. Restaurants seemed to be very quiet in Betws, so we decided to eat at the hotels restaurant The Bridge. We were not disappointed! Menu catered for everyone and portions were fantastic value for money! We will be returning soon.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank teamjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Perfect location and the hotel and leisure facilities were great. It was such a shame that the beds in the lodges are zipped singles and not a proper double and so hard we ended up with little sleep !
Room was reasonably clean but sofa was dirty and some dust/dirt visible on doors and woodwork.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend of 25th-26th January on a Groupon two night deal as we wanted somewhere with a pool.
We were put in a room in an annex type building behind the main hotel. The room was nice and clean, quiet and comfortable.
Each morning we used the pool for a swim before breakfast. The pool and facilities again were were really clean and located right at the side of the hotel.
Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of both hot and cold options.

All in all a very nice hotel, all the staff were very pleasant and in a good location for exploring the Snowdonia area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just come back from staying for a weekend in the Waterloo lovely hotel very clean and comfortable breakfast was really good nice choices even cook to order food that's not already available leisure facilities excellent staff very helpfull location spot on only negativity was the wifi too slow would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eileen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
42 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AR, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £93 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERLOO HOTEL and STATIONS leisure complex is the ideal base for discovering the endless array of what beautiful North Wales and its coast has to offer..... mountain biking on the famous Marin trail, summiting the heights of mount Snowdon, sitting still and taking in the breath-taking scenery, adventure days caving or cannyoning, building sandcastles on one of the many golden beaches or leisurely strolls around lakes and woodland....there is something for everyone... and at the WATERLOO HOTEL our aim is to help you bring your holiday to life.............. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Betws y Coed
Betws-y-Coed Best Western
Waterloo Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing