We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May14 Bank Holiday accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oakfield House B & B
Ranked #4 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“May14 Bank Holiday accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

One of few places in Snowdonia that offered two nights stay knowing it was a Bank Holiday weekend. Ultra clean, extremely friendly, high-class B&B. Have stayed at others before...by far the class-leader (4 true stars!)

Room Tip: Book in good time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vpasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    23
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
170
30
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great value, wonderful setting, scrumtious breakfast with lots of choice to suit all tastes and charming hosts! So much to say about this lovely little B&B and all of it good!!!
As we arrived, a warm Welsh welcome met us with filtered coffee and fresh welshcakes were brought to our room. The room was small and cosy, but lots of storage room with a spacious shower room attached.
A small TV, hairdryer, ample tea and coffee with biscuits and lots of fluffy towels, practical elements that made our afternoon easy and pleasurable. Our host was full of local knowledge and was happy to recommend local places to eat. We had a short walk along the river to the small town centre to eat, before our pleasant stroll back to our comfortable bed.
Breakfast was delightful, with lots of choice and every part of the dishes being made to exceptional standard. Lots of very fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, toast, followed by a choice of 4 hot dishes.
Overall a delightful establishment where management show great attention to detail in every aspect of their work, and always with a smile on their face. Highly reommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Quite simply the best B&B I have stayed in, comparing very favorably with 4* hotels. Friendly and welcoming hosts, faultless rooms and and excellent breakfast, at half the cost of the nearby chain hotel. The attention to detail was amazing, particularly given that the owners have been running it for 4 years - clearly no let up in standards. Almost reluctant to rate it for fear of not getting a vacancy next time. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandcei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned home after spending three days over Easter at Oakfield house. This was our 4th stay and Jen and Eddie made us welcome as always. The room was lovely again and a portable room heater has been added which was invaluable to my husband who feels the cold,( not that the room was cold but the added warmth was a bonus for him)The Welsh breakfast was glorious as always and Jen and Eddie couldn't do enough to make us welcome, it's like a home from home, can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Once the weather forecast had been confirmed as fine for two specific days over Easter I spent an age finding accommodation at short notice with requirements of a) near Snowdon which four of us intended walking up, b) breakfast included and c) free wifi. Eventually I came across the Oakfield and booked immediately once it had two rooms available and met the requirements. Normally I would look up the TripAdvisor reviews before booking but in this case I booked without looking as it had taken so long to find somewhere available. Once booked I noticed the Expedia reviews were good and then looked at TripAdvisor and the reviews were even better.

The reviews do not lie.

Warm greeting on arrival from the owners and the offer of tea/coffee before being shown to our rooms. First impression of the room was how immaculate everything was set out, good quality furnishings and fantastic bathroom with what turned out to be a superb shower.

Bed was comfortable, breakfast was superb. First day I had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, second day the Full Welsh breakfast. Quality could not be faulted, well presented and the food was excellent.

At one time there were three basics that needed to be met - decent bed to get a decent sleep, good shower with hot water and decent breakfast. All were excellent. Nowadays decent wifi is also needed and again this was excellent, able to what sky go etc with no problems.

Would definitely return and hope to do so in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank drc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our second stay at Oakfield House. It is the best b&b we have ever stayed in. Everything was excellent from the generous breakfast to the standard of all rooms. There were so many 'little extras' included. I would thoroughly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Spent a night at Oakfield in the single accommodation and was very happy with the stay. It is nicely located overlooking the Llugwy River and near some good hikes. The Sherpa Bus stop is just a few feet away for those wanting to climb Snowdon or other longer walks.

The bed was very comfortable, breakfast was your normal Welsh fare, hosts friendly, showers nice and high powered. It was also great to have high-speed internet. A couple small (and picky) things could have improved the visit: the bathroom towels were quite small and thin and the breakfast could have included muesli.

All in all, very highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakfield House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfield House B & B

Property: Oakfield House B & B
Address: Oakfield House Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfield House B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakfield House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfield House B & B Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing