We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I stayed here again at the weekend, and the food and srvice was better than most 5 star hotels! a true welsh gem, highly recommended! I have stayed many times at this place, and it just gets better all the time. The menu is really creative and the quality of the fish is great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RecardoPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and to be honest I will not be rushing back. The room was very clean and tidy and while the jacuzzi bath made a change the bed was far too small. i am over 6' 6 tall and had to sleep diagonal across it which left very little room for my wife. The bed also creaked everytime one of us moved. Now I appreciate that the hotel can't be held responsible for the other guests but we had to endure a family in the room opposite to ours who were extremely inconsiderate amd started banging the door to the room and 6.45 am and continued to do so for the next hour of so despite being asked to refrain.
The breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The jewel in the crown of this hotel is the kitchen and food service so lets get the rest of it out of the way.

There has been a property at this location since the 15th century and, fronting the A5, it blends into its surroundings despite the white washed walls and makes, to my eye anyway, little visual impact. It'd be easy to drive by and not give it a second thought - mistake!!!.

The Ty Gwyn is a tardis and has multiple rooms on the ground floor each nicely furnished and decorated and with a proliferation of well cared for brass and copper. Plenty of nooks and crannies to enjoy a quiet coffee served by very helpful and obliging staff. We were touring in Wales with eight classic cars and the hotel reserved all of their limited off road parking for us and in my book thats very obliging.

Bedrooms are on the first floor and approached by negotiating a slightly tricky set of stairs and rather narrow corridor (remember it's 15th C). This might not be great for infirm or disabled guests but we were offered help with bags/luggage.

Now the downside. Our room (I think #9) had the smallest en-suite I've ever known which made the usual post-shower routine (drying!!!!) a challenge. Coupled to this the light over the basin was not working and neither was the second ceiling light so ablutions were not a good experience. Nicely clean the room had a comfy bed but was airless. Neither the main window (overlooking a noisy A5) nor that in the bathroom could be opened and so we slowly roasted.

So what about the dining? Superb. If you couldn't be tempted by something from an extensive choice of local and asian cuisine I'd be very surprised. The service was impecable (without being stuffy at all) and with attention to detail and great timing. The vegetables provided were in abundance and elsewhere would have incurred a major extra charge. So not only was the food prepered and served well I thought it was also amazing value. All of this carried over to a lovely and varied breakfast so well done Ty Gwyn.

I shan't be driving past so easily to and from Holyhead in future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogeradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We were a large group and all the rooms were different including the prices. All our party were happy with their rooms and really pleased with the restaurant.
We were able to sit together for dinner in a group of 18 and the meals were served together despite the varied menu.
There was also a lounge off the bar where we sat after dinner without disturbing the other customers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldcarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We have eaten at this hotel but never stayed there.
It was a lovely experience with a quaint room, and lovely antique furniture.
A lovely experience for the night.
A perfect treat for a romantic night away.
The lamb dishes served in the restaurant are a must to try.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We only stayed one night and wished it had been longer. We were warmly welcomed on arrival at this historic coaching inn. The decor and surroundings were comfortable and our en suite bedroom contained a four poster bed, along with a modern bathroom, tv and tea/coffee making facilities. We booked a table for dinner (which was required because meals at this hotel are very popular). The menu was large and very varied, the food and service were excellent and could not be faulted. After a comfortable night's sleep the breakfast menu was again large and varied, and the food superb.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Having failed to get a table several times over many months on enquiry (that alone speaks for itself - it's ALWAYS full) managed to get a mid week booking for supper.

The building is about 400 years old, low beamed, candle-lit, tastefully decorated in accordance with its history with a wonderful view of Snowdonia's forests - but there is nothing fusty about it.

The menu is fresh, varied, and servings so plentiful that we didn't have room for pudding, which looked delicious. We had potted brown shrimps and salmon served on a Welsh slate followed by half a lobster with a crayfish sauce, sinfully rich and served with vegetables which tasted as if they'd just come from the garden. Really lovely.

Service is very professional and you are allowed time to enjoy your meal. I half expected to see James Mason and Margaret Lockwood appear from an alcove somewhere - this place looks like the Inn from the film The Wicked Lady and is located on the historic A5, a previous haunt for highwaymen hoping to loot carriages en route to and from London. Even though it was a summer's evening, the silver candlesticks were full of lit candles - it makes all the difference in terms of atmosphere.

What impressed me particularly was the way management dealt with one tiresome diner (why is there always one??) who made a shoal of inappropriate remarks towards a young waitress before the first course; he could have been her grandfather, sporting a mullet and chain. He was served by male waiters after - it was the best way to deal with a neanderthal customer while avoiding harassment for a member of staff. Well done. Will be coming back and recommending it to others .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiettraveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
42 reviews
14.5 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £86 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing